We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated decor and scary lady on reception”

Monaghans Harbour Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monaghans Harbour Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Naas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Booked into the the harbour hotel because it was central and many other places were booked out on this weekend. I found the lady on reception to be cold and unfriendly. Reception area has a lot of knick-knacks and religious relics. Faintly damp smell when we arrived. I enquired about a number for a taxi company and the woman said a number very quickly and when i asked her to repeat, repeated it at the exact same high speed. Eventually, she asked did we want her to book one. I thanked her and she did. Told us to leave our key in at reception when we went out. Room was clean but very dated and cold. Breakfast was tasty but no variety, no fruit etc. My boyfriend suggested we have 1 drink in the residents bar when we came back from our night out. Night porter told us 'no because he didnt know where the key was! Overall, it felt a bit like fawlty towers. should have opted for a Bed and Breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Am probably being a bit generous with the 3. The general feel of the place is a bit dated. Room was basic and felt a bit on the cold side. At EURO 70 I thought it was expensive for what is basically a B&B. No issues with cleanliness. TV in the bedroom was tiny. The slightly scary woman on reception eyed us suspiciously on arrival and departure! Omnipresent is right! On arrival we were asked if we wanted a cup of tea, I thought to myself, "that's a nice touch, a compliementary cup of tea on arrival", so said "yes", and was told "the coffee shop is over there!" Full Irish breakfast was good. Loads of parking on-site.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkLanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent two nights in this friendly hotel. All the staff are remarkable for their professionalism, starting with the omnipresence of Mrs Monaghan herself. The chef (her daughter, Josephine) is highly skilled, and prepares everything on the menu, including an array of breads, and wonderful cakes for afternoon tea! This a model of a dedicated family business, and a monument to the fine quality of Irish hospitality. Bravo indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

To day was a hard day.... I'd taken the 3 kids under 4 to Dublin to visit there G gran whoes terminal ill.... I was stressed when I arrived to get something to eat with very cross kids...I was worried about disturbing other diners too.....when the "lady" in the resturtant took my kids in hand so "motherly" ... they eat all there food with a promise of a treat "free Jelly", got all 3 to colour a picture for their mom.... She knew I was facing into a 2 hour journey home and got a changing table ready for me in the toilets.... This was nearly the most enjoyable meal I've had in a Year or Two. Thank you so much!!! this review still dose not put it good enough words!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stay regularly in Monaghans Holel and I find it very homely. The food is tasty and the staff are so friendly. At E40 per night it is good value. The location is also great as it's so near the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philomena83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My friend and I stayed here on a Saturday night when we were in Naas for a hen night. The staff were friendly and courteous. The room (which had a double and single bed) was clean, especially the bathroom. It was unseasonably warm weather though and we had to have the window open, with accompanying traffic noise (it is on a main road). Aside from that the hotel was quiet .There was a good choice of options for breakfast, e.g. a continental plate of cheese, ham and yoghurt in addition to the usual fry, cereals etc. The rate was very reasonable and included breakfast. We got a phone call from reception at 9:55 to remind us that breakfast would be finishing at 10:30, which was good. Although the front door was locked when we got back at 4am, there was a night porter on duty at the front desk to let us in without any fuss. The car park was also locked overnight. The canal comes in near the back of the hotel, and it looked like a pleasant spot. There was also a restaurant (unrelated to the hotel I think) at the canal, that looked good. Location is quite central - about a 5 minute walk from the main street.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paffle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naas
0.4 mi away
Town House Hotel
Town House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Naas
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Maudlins House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.1 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaghans Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaghans Harbour Hotel

Address: Limerick Road, Naas, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Naas
Price Range: £78 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monaghans Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are more hotel choices in Naas and Ireland, today than ever before. Many of the amenities that used to set a hotel apart, have now become the standard. So what makes a hotel truly unique? At Harbour Hotel, we believe it's our people. Exceptional customer service with a family touch coupled with warm and inviting accommodations in great location make Harbour Hotel the premier choice in hotels in Naas. We look forward to showing you that there truly is a difference when you stay with fami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Monaghans Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing