We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way - strongly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brown Bear

The Brown Bear
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way - strongly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Desperate for something OTHER than pub food after 2+ weeks in Ireland, we happened onto the Brown Bear in the (Naas) village of Two Mile House. We started with a summer salad of peaches, jamon Iberico, radish and elderflower over mixed young greens and asparagus with poached egg and watercress - splendid. Then we had the Lamb Ravioli with sundried tomato, courgette and goat cheese, and the Pork Belly, beetroot, cauliflower and black pudding (the best I've had outside of Spain) - [ I have to admit here that it was hard to pass up the starter of scallops with broad bean gazpacho and purple potato and the duck breast, smoked parsnip and plum main... ] but we did go the additional mile and have a side of courgettes and basil aioli that was just perfect!

And then, if that wasn't enough, we got the macaroons (toffee, oh my!), an Irish coffee and cappuccino for dessert... The location was lovely, the ambiance just right, and the service was kind and attentive... The menu was very reasonably priced, in fact... and funny, even the bread basket was exceptional (mini baguettes, tomato bread, a pesto bread, a simple but delicious rye). Honestly, it was one the best meals we had in Ireland. What a hidden gem!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    28
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch menu in ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Booked in at the last minute and was surprised to get a table. Considering the food and service that we recieved I am ever so glad. This hidden gem in Two Mile House delivers well thought out food with seasonality, multiple textures and value for money. The service is efficient and friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the food. Such rare treats as home made black pudding and the house bread make this a must visit restaurant and all offered for so cheap.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but at a price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were here for a birthday celebration, combined with Father's Day meal. Everything about this place is exceptional, food is beautiful, service top notch, decor is very easy on the eye, they serve children's portions, toilets have always impressed me here. I love this place, but the one thing I thought was that their prices were a bit expensive. Will we be back? Most certainly, but this will sadly always be a once a year treat as the prices were a wee bit prohibitive - I would give The Brown Bear full marks but for the cost.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ComfortablyNumb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will come here more often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very comfortable Bar & Restaurant with Decor of the highest standard. Food v tasty and beautifully served with very friendly & accommodating staff. Will definitely be revisiting soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 846PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely & Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My favorite restaurant in Kildare. Great food with more than a hint of French influence.
As others have said, the bread basket is one of the biggest and nicest I ve ever had ! Food was very very nice, as were the staff. Have never been disappointed...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Bear also viewed

Naas, County Kildare
 
Naas, County Kildare
 

Been to The Brown Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing