We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of The Brown Bear

The Brown Bear
Ranked #15 of 77 Restaurants in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
woodbridge
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

On a recent trip to Ireland we had dinner at the Trocodero Restaurant in Dublin. It is a well known destination for tourists and has photo's of famous people around all the walls. The place was lively even for an early sitting. The food is traditional, we had the Chateaubriand between 3 of us which was lovely. Interestingly my daughter asked for a Peach Iced Tea and was presented with a pot of hot breakfast tea with a glass of ice cubes.
A couple of days later we were taken by the family to the Brown Bear in Naas, for Sunday lunch. This is a modern style gastro pub, quite big, with a separate bar. The menu is nice and simple, two courses for Euro 22 or three courses for 28. I had scallops with beans and mint to start which was superb, followed by lamb with some sort of lentil type beans with a sweet jus. Side dishes of new potatos and cauliflower cheese. My daughters has Chicken wings to start with crispy fried haddock, chips and pea puree. They loved it. So did I. In fact all of us (party of seven) thought it was outstanding. It was by far the best food I have eaten in Ireland and fantastically good value. The service was friendly and efficient. We were given an extra dish of zuccini because the chef made too much. Really cant think of anything negative to say about it. Culinary highlight of our trip to Ireland.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    28
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely restaurant. Nice ambience. Food and service excellent. Beautiful assorted artisan bread basket! Great for special occasions. Good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I was never so glad to have taken a wrong turn in my life! Happened upon this place a couple of months ago and only got to sample it's delicious delights tonite. Amazing - probably if not the best, definitely in the top 2 of the nicest places to eat in Naas Co Kildare - I ordered the Caesar salad to start, I went safe and it was delicious, so appealing to the eye and a very generous portion. My husband nibbled mine and was very impressed. Main my husband had the duck, pink and with a plum and roast parsnip, I opted for fish n chips, lightly battered, so fresh and light in the skin, lovely fresh chips, peas, homemade horseradish. To finish we went with the recommendation of the peaches dessert, light and sweet, perfect. 3 glasses of wine and 2 beer came to 95, tip included. I will definitely be taking the wrong road again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Valhalla7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwazulu Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant, creative, tasteful, affordable. A family favourite for all occasions.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Brown Bear never ceases to impress us with their fantastic cuisine and impeccable service. It's always a pleasure to have a family gathering there. The food taste and presentation are beautiful and can definitely compete with Michelin starred restaurants. We're very lucky to have them on our doorstep. I can't wait for the next family birthday to be celebrated there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen_Leost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way - strongly recommended!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Desperate for something OTHER than pub food after 2+ weeks in Ireland, we happened onto the Brown Bear in the (Naas) village of Two Mile House. We started with a summer salad of peaches, jamon Iberico, radish and elderflower over mixed young greens and asparagus with poached egg and watercress - splendid. Then we had the Lamb Ravioli with sundried tomato, courgette and goat cheese, and the Pork Belly, beetroot, cauliflower and black pudding (the best I've had outside of Spain) - [ I have to admit here that it was hard to pass up the starter of scallops with broad bean gazpacho and purple potato and the duck breast, smoked parsnip and plum main... ] but we did go the additional mile and have a side of courgettes and basil aioli that was just perfect!

And then, if that wasn't enough, we got the macaroons (toffee, oh my!), an Irish coffee and cappuccino for dessert... The location was lovely, the ambiance just right, and the service was kind and attentive... The menu was very reasonably priced, in fact... and funny, even the bread basket was exceptional (mini baguettes, tomato bread, a pesto bread, a simple but delicious rye). Honestly, it was one the best meals we had in Ireland. What a hidden gem!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Bear also viewed

Naas, County Kildare
 
Naas, County Kildare
 

Been to The Brown Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing