We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrive on time”
Review of The Brown Bear

The Brown Bear
Ranked #11 of 72 Restaurants in Naas
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2016

After an evening out with the family we decided to go to this pub for food . Much to our disapointment we arrived at 5,55 pm and when we sat down our waitress told us the chef would not cook for us after 6pm so we had to leave and drive to another establishment who were very pleased to see us. I think this place will not survive if they continue to turn customers away because of a few minutes. We have not returned to this property .

Date of visit: October 2015
3  Thank newbridgeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I were really looking forward to this meal in this restaurant but we were left feeling a little underwhelmed and really can't see what the fuss is about.
I think the resturaunt is a bit confused, is it a pub or is it a gourmet resturaunt. The decor does not match the food type or prices for that matter.
We were seated promptly, and our food and drinks order was taken. Our starter arrived but no drinks. We had to remind the waitress. There seemed to be only 1 person Waiting tables even though it was very busy.
The mains and starter were lovely, but pricey.
The dessert was just plain strange, peach cobbler. It was not what I was expecting.
We went into the bar afterwards and it was lovely.
I wouldn't go back, far nicer places further into Naas.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Ry0bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We had a great meal last weekend at the Brown Bear. Staff are very lovely and every dish we ate was devine. Really relaxed atmosphere and we can't wait to return. The only negative was that someone else's drinks were added to our bill but mistakes happen. Always check the bill! Really gorgeous 'fine' dining experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nall321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We had the sunday lunch menu and it was amazing, we can not wait to come back. We had the mushrooms croquettes and scallop/black pudding starter followed by pork belly and hake, it was delicious, highly recommended, thank you, looking forward to come back soon. Their staff were also very friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laurberto17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Brown bear is our Sunday treat and had been for over a year now.
I would struggle to find a negative comment-
Love the food- you cannot beat the beef as a main. Colcannon is a real treat.
Service is superb. Although they are all fantastic and professional at their job Anca is our firm favourite- always professional and friendly.
Have already reserved for our next visit.

Date of visit: April 2016
3  Thank Splendiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Brown Bear also viewed

Naas, County Kildare
 

Been to The Brown Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.