We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitterly disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Fico

Il Fico
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tipperary
1 review
“Bitterly disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend and I went in to have a nice meal while passing through naas
We ordered two goats cheese starters and two main courses
The goats cheese starter came out with a moving slug across the plate
When we called over the manager he was not very apologetic and just said he would give us another one
We decided to leave and he said fine no prob
Again no apology
Bitterly disappointing
Will not eat here again !!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    52
    19
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value Early Bird”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Food is always great, really good value. Myself & my husband were in last week and had 2 starters, 2 mains and a bottle of wine €55, very reasonable. Menu choices are good more that just pizza & pasta.
Staff are always friendly and efficient. The restaurant does have a odd layout because its 3 little cottages broken into one. Nice and intimate for couples.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ek65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful italian food &venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had pizza and pasta which were excellent value for money. This is a beautifully decorated restaurant. The staff were friendly & efficient.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

They had a great set menu for New Year's Eve 2013, €27.50 for cocktail/non alcoholic cocktail on arrival, starter, main (including fillet beef with no surcharge) and desert. Thought the layout was very strange but nice, and we had a nice table even though one side was against a wall so half of us were a bit trapped.. anyway, starters were lovely and 5 out of 6 mains were ok, however we were appalled when one member of our party's chicken was RAW.

The worst part though was the fact that they were not even very apologetic!

The service was very basic, in that they wrote down orders and carried food to our table.
His raw chicken was exchanged for a different dish - medium beef which took nearly 20 minutes to arrive!?, by then we had well finished eating. They brought our desert menu but 'forgot' to take our desert order for ages.

We expected not to be charged for the raw meal, however we were charged for everything and they had even added on a service charge which was only supposed to be included for parties over 6.

In the end we agreed to pay for the food we had eaten but refused to pay the service charge because of our experience. Their reply was 'oh, we were going to offer you free jell-o shots'

As we were not in an episode of Ibiza Uncovered, we declined.

A restaurant that serves raw chicken in error, does not really apologise properly and then offers free shots to make up for it, AFTER charging you for everything as if there was nothing wrong...

And although it was New Year's Eve, they were not full, and not too busy to cope, just not very well trained maybe?

There are so many restaurants to choose from in Naas, there is no need to eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank loula76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice restaurant was thinking twice of going in reading the bad comments. Ok the seating can be a bit closely together but other than that everything was excellent . Really cozy restaurant with great tasting food . Really cheap food could easily pay double if not more in a so called fancy restaurant for the same quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simpley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fico also viewed

Naas, County Kildare
 
Naas, County Kildare
 

Been to Il Fico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing