We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterside Inn and Restaurant in Graiguenamangh, Ireland”
Review of Waterside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graiguenamanagh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I spent two nights and three days here. We had a lovely time. The room was perfect for us. The owners Brian and Bridget were both friendly and accommodating.. The dinner was served in a beautiful little dining room. There was soft music and our waitress was so professional. The food was excellent! We enjoyed all our meals here.
We rented bikes and rode around a little bit but as we don't usually ride bikes it proved easier to walk about. I love the area. The people were so interesting and all very friendly. Graiguenamanagh is a small town in Kilkenny, Ireland and of all the places we saw and experienced this was by far the prettiest. I wish I could purchase a little place in Ireland so I could go and stay for months at a time and if I did it would be here. If you get the chance to stay here, take it! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Waterside was a great stopping place in County Kilkenny on the border of County Carlow. Brian and Brigid were excellent hostelers, even allowing us to check in when we arrived very early after a red eye flight from the states. It was definitely Irish hospitality at its best.

The food was spectacular, and I even went back a second night to have the delicious tomato soup for dinner. Breakfast was excellent and they even offered pancakes and fruit in addition to the traditional Irish breakfast.The service was fast and friendly.

The Roberts's were kind enough to also rent us some bicycles and give us directions to St. Mullins, where we spent a pleasant afternoon cycling along the river and having a snack.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room on the top floor. The last night, we could hear the people above us m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was our third time staying at Waterside, and we've been happy every time. The rooms are cheerful and comfortable - they're rather small because the building is a renovated 19th century cornstore, but with a lovely view over the river, plus interesting pictures on the walls, that's not an issue. Another good feature is the bedside lighting - so many hotels and B&Bs forget that guests might like to read in bed and provide a dull glimmer of a light.

'Fear an tí', Brian, is very affable and interesting to chat to, and other staff are also helpful and friendly. The restaurant is tasteful with a good atmosphere, and was doing plenty of business when we were there on a Saturday night. The menu is a mix of interesting and conservative - probably a tricky balance in any small town restaurant drawing on a wide-ranging clientele. We had a tasty tomato soup with pesto, a rather boring black pudding starter that needed a serious rethink, delicious confit duck leg with a fruity sauce, and a rhubarb fool we drooled over. The wine list provides several good choices at affordable prices.

Overall, it's also good value: €75 each for one night's B&B plus dinner in August.

Graiguenamanagh is in a lovely location by the wide and wooded river Barrow, where we'd a great walk along the towpath towards Borris. The town could do with more facilities, though it clearly attracts rowers, boaters, cyclists and walkers like ourselves. Sadly, another good restaurant we'd been in once, the Boats Bistro (I think) has closed down - but the Waterside does daytime food too. THere are plenty of other interesting places in the vicinity, including Inistioge, Thomastown, St. Mullins and Borris, and pastoral rolling countryside on all sides.

Room Tip: All have a river view, but maybe a higher floor for maximum quiet - a lot of cars park along the qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaheussaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

It would be easy to miss Graiguenamanagh in Co. Kilkenny but you should make a point of going there if you can. It's a beautiful and historic village on a lovely river. The Waterside overlooks the river and several dozen boats moored along the shore. On the far side there is a towpath that is great for walking. The hotel is a converted cornstore built of stone. All the rooms have river views. The hosts Brian and Bridget are very friendly and know the area well. They gave us good tips on what to see and also a lot of good conversation during our stay. Dinner and breakfast were superb. Brian and Bridget also organize the town's annual literary weekend every September, and they rent bicyles and provide transportation for cyclers. Graiguenamanach has a thousand-year-old abbey that serves as the parish church. The restored wooden medieval ceiling is a must-see. The town is also the home of one of Ireland's remaining yarn mills -- Cushendale -- that has been in the same family for generations and spins beautiful yarns. When we visited the shop we were invited back to see the huge mills in the work area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had dinner here last night 26/7/12 food was gorgeous, and always is. I had a glass of the house white wine, which was also lovely. couldnt recommend it enough. It was really lovely and the service was great

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Waterside was our first stop on our three-week auto tour of Ireland and we were very happy with our choice. It overlooks the river with great rooms and food. While breakfast was great, dinner was even better. Brian got us off on the right foot with spot-on recommendations and, after looking at what we had planned, advised we do less and enjoy more. That's what we did and it turned out to be a perfect plan. This is the perfect location to just relax for a few days after a long and tiring flight from the US. Nice little pubs within walking distance and friendly people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

stayed for two nights on a stag party . Brian was very welcoming and gave good advice on things to do locally , have to say all local were very welcoming and helpful . The guest house is right on the river Barrow and we had a good view from our room . The room itself was clean and well kitted out , I would be happy to recommend it and would also suggest to book an afternoon canoeing on the river . Thanks again to all involved .

Room Tip: if you're staying on a Saturday night make sure you book breakfast as there was nowhere open in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesc511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graiguenamanagh
25.1 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#9 of 74 in Kilkenny
225 reviews
15.3 mi away
Glendine House
Glendine House
#19 of 74 in Kilkenny
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
14.6 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
7 mi away
Ballyduff House
Ballyduff House
#2 of 4 in Thomastown
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside

Address: The Quay, Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Graiguenamanagh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Graiguenamanag...
Price Range: £50 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing