We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome on a cold night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graiguenamanagh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on a cold night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Staying at the Waterside was a highlight of our recent trip to Ireland - I wish we had stayed longer and really had a good look around the area, unfortunately we were heading North to see family but next time, we'll definitely hang around. It was a dreary evening when we finally got to the Waterside, a bit later than anticipated after getting lost a few times. Despite a slight hiccup with our booking, it wasn't a bother to get sorted and get into a room - we were made to immediately feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble.. A lovely hot dinner followed with a soothing glass of Guinness. An absolute delight and magnificent welcome home to Ireland.

Breakfast was incredible - the porridge was to die for and that combined with the full Irish breakfast filled me till very late afternoon (I could only eat a very light dinner after being such a pig at breakfast!) The look of delight on my sister's face was priceless as she took her first bite and savoured the home-style cooking. I'll be back and bring my family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eatonsof68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Although we only live an hour away this was our first time to stay in Graiguenamanagh.What a great find!The Waterside owners were very welcoming and we had a spacious,clean room overlooking the river.We walked along the riverside to St.Mullin's .Highly recommended for a lovely nature walk with great cafe ( and cake!) at the other end.Back to the guest house for a pleasant evening meal in their relaxing restaurant.All in all a really restful break.Hope to return this summer as I got the impression there was plenty more to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneKerins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our wonderful experience began when at home, still planning the trip. Speaking with Brain the owner, we founbd him to be a wonderful host. My wife can't abiode noise when she sleeps, so when trying to ascertain if the rooms were quiet, Brian assured us they were. Upon our arrival, we found that Brian, to be sure we were not disturbed, had allocated us a room on the top floor, away form any possible distrurbance. The room must have been a family room, as it was huge...and great to spread out our gear.

The rooms are a little bit dated, but very comfortable, and you must remember that they are in an otehwise heritage building.

One of the things you must do though, is to have dinner in the restaurant....it is simply outstanding. The courses are full of flavour and the subtle use of ingredients makes for a special occasion.

All-in-all, I would heartedly recommend Waterside....good old fashioned service, friendly approach, good accommodation, and outstanding food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWJH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently stayed in the lovely Waterside guest house in Graiguenamanagh which has great views over the beautiful River Barrow. There is a Restaurant in the guesthouse which serves some really nice food and has some lovely paintings on its walls .The riverside was alive with activity such as swimming and diving as people were really enjoying the good weather . This is a undiscovered part of the south east and well worth exploring ,You also have some picturesque villages such as Saint Mullins nearby which has a very nice cafe and some stunning scenery. About 20 mins away is the Reptile Zoo attraction in Gowran . You can also hire bikes from the Waterside and enjoy its great Location .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

How disappointing, sixteen years after our first honeymoon visit, to find the Waterside so lacking in business. Not that it in any way interfered with the enjoyment of our one night stay, providing us as it did with sole occupancy and the sought-after quiet and peaceful alternative to an originally booked wedding-hosting venue.
This is a unique, pleasantly located and comfortably appointed venue hosted by an indulgent and welcoming proprietor in Brian Roberts, a well-practised hand at hospitality who had taken over the guesthouse not long after our first visit and had clearly determined to maintain the good standards of his predecessors. It is a business that deserves to flourish and deserving of far better than its apparent dependence on seasonal bookings from the walking and cycling groups attracted to the area. Perhaps suffering from the economic climate as much as its absence from the popular booking sites, this converted granary deserves to find itself firmly on the map in its own right as well as its suitability for visitors to such nearby tourist traps as Kilkenny and not-so-far Waterford. It enjoys a pictureque location with some peaceful and enchanting walks along the River Barrow (serving as border between Counties Kilkenny and Carlow), walks which more than compensated for the number of seemingly unloved and neglected river boats moored disarmingly on both sides of river and bridge. Graiguenamanagh itself is something of a town in flux but is not without character and boasts a truly original pub in Donnelly's which doubles as a hardware store. For those looking to tour the country from Rosslare this is a well-located launching pad and one where you might just get lucky enough to enjoy a true Irish Craich in a local hostlery.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toptrumps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My sister and I fell in love with Graiguenamangh and especially the Waterside Guesthouse and Restaurant. Arriving early afternoon, we were welcomed with pots of tea and scones by Brian and Bridget. From then until we had to move on 2 days later, we felt like part of the family. They were extremely helpful in suggesting local places to tour and the accommodations were delightful. Dinners and breakfasts were creative and delicious. If the weather had cooperated we might still be there, taking advantage of the bicycles and canoes.
Be sure to see and tour the local Cushendale Woolen mill and shop.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I spent two nights and three days here. We had a lovely time. The room was perfect for us. The owners Brian and Bridget were both friendly and accommodating.. The dinner was served in a beautiful little dining room. There was soft music and our waitress was so professional. The food was excellent! We enjoyed all our meals here.
We rented bikes and rode around a little bit but as we don't usually ride bikes it proved easier to walk about. I love the area. The people were so interesting and all very friendly. Graiguenamanagh is a small town in Kilkenny, Ireland and of all the places we saw and experienced this was by far the prettiest. I wish I could purchase a little place in Ireland so I could go and stay for months at a time and if I did it would be here. If you get the chance to stay here, take it! You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graiguenamanagh
14.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
14.6 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
14.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Step House Hotel
Step House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Borris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.8 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
25.1 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside

Property: Waterside
Address: The Quay, Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Graiguenamanagh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Graiguenamanag...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing