We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable Experience!”
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

As we drove up, we were greeted by ducks and geese patrolling the property, very quaint. The house itself is incredible, the rooms are huge and accommodating, the food was exceptional, and the service was well above anything else. The hotel and rooms are very rustic, if you need to see freshly painted walls and new laminate flooring to be happy, don't stay here. The original plank flooring is incredible to look at just from the sheer size of the lumber. The condition of the hotel gives you the feeling of what it might have actually been like to stay there in the day... Tea was served in the study, and dinner in the dining room, both accompanied by huge fireplaces. The smell of the peat burning only takes you back to the day again. The food was exceptional, well prepared and thought out, and yes delicious. The owners and their children were an absolute pleasure to meet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

I held my 40th birthday in Round wood House in August. it was a wonderful and unique place to hold a party with my closest family and friends. Hannah and Paddy were wonderful hosts providing great food at dinner. All our needs were met in a discrete manner such that it felt like home. To quote my brother in law on leaving "I don't think I will ever stay in such a unique place again"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband, parents, and I stayed at Roundwood on the last night of our 10-day journey through Ireland, on our way back to Dublin. It is a beautiful historic country house, a Hidden Ireland property, and one of our favorite stays of our trip.

We were greeted at the door by Les who is the chef and who was also serving as host while the owners were away for a wedding.

We were treated to some delicious afternoon snacks of griddle scones and flapjacks, enjoyed with drinks near a fire in the sitting room. After that we wandered along some trails throughout the property.

Dinner at Roundwood was one of the best meals of our trip. Roundwood was actually recognized as one of the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 which is very cool seeing that only houseguests dine there. Les made a delicious meal of wiener schnitzel - some of the best I've ever tasted. For dessert we enjoyed homemade ice cream - I believe it had brandy and meringue but what I do know for sure is that it was delicious. Our server was a polite, friendly young man who provided outstanding service and conversation.

Breakfast was good and our morning host was so thoughtful to pack up some leftover homemade snacks for us to take on the road.

We stayed in the blue room which is lovely. There is no shower, just a bathtub. It was very enjoyable to stay in such a historic place and the perfect way to end such a fantastic journey. I would highly recommend a stay at Roundwood. Thanks to Les and staff for making our visit so memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarriorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at Roundwood on our honeymoon trip to Ireland and it was one of our highlights that we will remember forever. The house is off the beaten track in natural woodland surroundings and the ambiance comes alive at dinner time where you experience both Hannah's delightful cooking and the couple's extraordinary hosting abilities. Dining with the other guests was a unique joy. The tariff is a genuine bargain so it was a pleasure to pay over the asking price at the end of our stay. Loved it.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Roundwood house is like stepping into a Jane Austin novel and my only disappointment was not to have encountered Darcy on the stairs! The food is excellent, made all the better by the opportunity to meet and dine with the other guests. The owners' Paddy and Hannah were very welcoming and friendly. The grounds and surrounding mountains beautiful. It is a place apart and long may it remain like this! If you are looking for something different to the mundane hotel rooms we all know so well I would definitely recommend Roundwood House!
Niamh, Armagh City, Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our family of four enjoyed a night at this wonderful B & B, thanks to the warm hospitality of owners Hannah and Paddy. The meals were delicious and if you are lucky enough to dine with other guests, the stay is that much more memorable. We highly recommend the Roundwood House for a dose of home, family, and home-cooking. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main room and cottage rooms off the main house were clean and comfortable. Nothing fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOODandTRAVELfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We only spent one night at the Roundwood House. Stayed at the yellow room, which is quite big. Keep in mind that this is an old building so the rooms are. It was nice for what it is. Hannah and Paddy are making the guests feeling home - they are really lovely and take good care of everybody. We had dinner there as well which was simply brilliant (the food was amazing)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
8.9 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
801 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,865 reviews
9.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
708 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
706 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range: £140 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing