We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rented the Forge for a walking weekend...Loved it.”
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Myself and my Girlfriend wanted to do some walking in Slieve Bloom, so we required a base in the area, as we didn't fancy the drive up and back from Dublin for both days.
I had looked at Roundwood house on trip advisor before and thought it would do the Job. On checking out their website, I descovered they have a couple of self-catering options, as well as the main house B&B, so we booked the Old forge, as they allowed us to bring our dog, which was great.

We arrived down on friday evening at around 7pm. The forge was set up and Paddy brought us out and lit the fire. The building itself was beautiful. They have made a studio type apartment out of the old building, and everything was there that we needed for a self catering experience.
On saturday morning, Hannah drove with us to Glenbarrow car park, where we parked our car and then dropped us to the start of our walk, so we could walk across the mountain, back to our car. We had an amazing day, as the weather was lovely and we had the mountain pretty much to ourselves.
On return to the forge, we lit the turf fire again and sellted down to a lovely relaxing evening, before another day of walking on the sunday.

All in all a lovely trip. We might stay in the main house next time and leave the dog at home, but it will be hard to out do the experience of the forge.

Room Tip: Old forge, self catering...super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stew_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We arrived on Friday evening in late January and Hannah welcomed us with tea and flap-jacks in front of the drawing-room fire. We were the only residents that night and Paddy cooked a beautiful meal in what was effectively a private dining room for two with a wood fire.

There is no menu and each course was a wonderful surprise - grilled grapefruit, apple & celery soup, exquisite lamb, cheese-board, ice cream, meringue and brandy dessert followed by tea/coffee and accompanied by Verdelho wine from an excellent wine-list. Saturday dinner was just as good with smoked salmon starter, cucumber & cashew soup, roast beef, cheese-board and banana ice cream. As expected, we had dinner on Saturday with two other couples and there followed an evening of good company and fine food. The conversation continued over tea/coffee in front of the fire in the drawing room. Paddy the chef (Hannah's husband) then entertained us with music on guitar and the guests joined in the musical evening - as did Frank, Hannah's father.

Our spacious room in the 300-year-old house was cosy with lots of hot water and soft towels. Wi-fi is available throughout the building. The walls of our room had many old prints - mostly of horses. Our breakfasts were freshly-cooked to order. We had a memorable 2-night stay and we will return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParaDara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I almost don't want to review or rate Roundwood House as I want to keep it all to myself but that's just selfish when it's a business. Paddy and Hannah do everything in their power to make you feel welcome. Myself and a group of friends stayed around New Year for our own celebration and from the moment we arrived they made us feel at home. The food was gorgeous, the breakfast amazing and our party was memorable! See you next year.
Eileen and friends!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EileenPrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Happened on Roundwood when we were suddenly unable to find a place to stay on our way towards Dublin. Not knowing a bit about it, we requested "no dinner" and expected to find something suitable in the area.

When we arrived, we found the house, grounds and owners to be absolutely lovely. After some discussion about possible places to eat in the area, the owner offered to change his plans and make a meal for us if it suited us. We wholeheartedly agreed with this plan, and had an absolutely fantastic meal in the drawing room.

The rest of our stay was equally magical, highlighted by visiting all of the ducks, geese and the new pig the next morning. I cannot recommend highly enough. These people are doing great work and gave us a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBnAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I spent one night - B&B and dinner - in Roundwood House to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Roundwood House is a great antidote to impersonal sprawling hotels and more like visiting friends in old worldly elegant surroundings. Antiques and curiosities are everywhere but the house is not slick or highly polished, rather it has a charming lived-in feel. This is evident in the array of animals outside the house! I had been worried the house might be cold but it was toasty warm all the time.

Be prepared to eat with and get to know other guests, and your lovely hosts - it's all part of the experience. The food is high quality. Relaxing by the fire with a glass of port was a great finish to the evening.

I would have liked to have stayed longer and enjoy a rambling walk in the area. For visitors to Ireland, this is a really unique way of seeing a side of Irish life and at a great price too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

As we drove up, we were greeted by ducks and geese patrolling the property, very quaint. The house itself is incredible, the rooms are huge and accommodating, the food was exceptional, and the service was well above anything else. The hotel and rooms are very rustic, if you need to see freshly painted walls and new laminate flooring to be happy, don't stay here. The original plank flooring is incredible to look at just from the sheer size of the lumber. The condition of the hotel gives you the feeling of what it might have actually been like to stay there in the day... Tea was served in the study, and dinner in the dining room, both accompanied by huge fireplaces. The smell of the peat burning only takes you back to the day again. The food was exceptional, well prepared and thought out, and yes delicious. The owners and their children were an absolute pleasure to meet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I held my 40th birthday in Round wood House in August. it was a wonderful and unique place to hold a party with my closest family and friends. Hannah and Paddy were wonderful hosts providing great food at dinner. All our needs were met in a discrete manner such that it felt like home. To quote my brother in law on leaving "I don't think I will ever stay in such a unique place again"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
8.9 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
808 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,894 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range: £139 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing