We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hospitality and Charming Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hospitality and Charming Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Paddy and Hannah are wonderful hosts. Made us feel like we were the only thing on their minds!
We had corresponded for about a year and finally in late July got to stay at Roundwood House. I found Roundwood House via family history research. It turns out my mother’s 7th Great Grandfather built the house. Hannah was wonderful sending me the history she had conducted. When we finally got there it was just as we had expected. They gave us free reign to explore and were very helpful in pointing out interesting things to do in the area.
Hannah made many phone calls on my behalf to assist in one day trip I wanted to do. Paddy and the two girls were wonderful too. Paddy was an amazing cook with a terrificly wicked sense of humor! Their two girls were as sweet as could be and made the house seem so alive!
The only teeny tiny drawback was that they had an important visitor that took up a great deal of time on the one evening we had planned to have a fireside chat. But no worries, they invited me to join them in the kitchen and share a glass of wine! I would have loved to spend more time with Hannah and Paddy and learn more about Roundwood House and Anthony and Isaac Sharp. It is a wonderful house amazing food and they bent over backwards to make us comfortable and assist us in getting the most out of our two night visit. A great retreat for leisurely walks in the country and day trips around the Midlands. I would come back over and over again! Truly a great stay in "real Ireland".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We arrived at Roundwood House with our twin grand-daughters (just 2) and were greeted by Paddy, who said that his 2 daughters (5 and 3) would be delighted to meet our two little ones. And so it happened. As well as the coincidence of the four names, the four little girls hit it off big-time, they loaned us their toys, let our two play in their play room etc., and generally made our stay feel like a home-from-home (without the prep and washing-up, of course!).
Apart from all that, we really enjoyed the stay, gorgeous ambiance, delicious food, spacious family room, lovely grounds and interesting company at the dinner table...what more could you ask for on a pre-Christmas relaxing trip. Thanks to all the Flynns.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having cut a raving review of this house from the Irish Times many years ago, I was determined to visit Roundwood some day. We had a family retirement and I suggested we have a gathering at this House in August. It was a wonderful, special and relaxing stay. I love the house; it's full of history, interesting things, wonderful grounds and yet not stuffy and fussy, very laid back and welcoming environment which suits me. I look forward to visiting without my three children so I can attack the bookshelves! The food was fantastic which made the weekend really, I am still thinking about the cake they made for my mother on her special weekend. I enjoyed talking to the other guests and hearing their stories. The owners are lovely warm people. My boys loved playing with the two little ladies. I look forward to going back. As Roisin Ingle wrote in another great review in the Irish papers this weekend, this isn't a hotel, it's a 'hometel'...which is a good word to describe Roundwood.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have been to an amazing wedding last summer.

It seemed like if we were travelling back to the past, in the roaring 1920s, in a beautiful house lost into nature. We could hear the music by Django Reinhardt and Sidney Bechet as well as Irish folk. and see people dancing on their notes. We could watch old movies, and drink good wine as well as gourmet vegetarian food. The lights were on, and the show was very entertaining. We think nothing of this it would have been possible without our Roundwood friends. That's why we are deeply grateful to Paddy and Hannah.

Oh, and I forgot to say, that wedding was ours. And we are proud to say, it really was amazing.
Thank you.

Fabio & Erika Rosati

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eFFeRRe1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our 2 yr old and 3 month old twins. Hannah and Paddy were really welcoming and I had no worries about leaving the children in our room while we had the most wonderful dinners. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vichazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed in Round Wood House last week with work coleagues. Paddy and Hannah the owners were very friendly and welcoming. The open fire in the sitting room was just fantastic. At the end of a long day standing at the ploughing championships it was great to relax by the fire. A large trunk of turf and fire wood was available to keep the fire topped up.
The food was excellent and it was no problem to them to prepare gluten free for me. The breakfast at 6 am was a great start to the day.Tables were laid with real china cups and plates.
The rooms were big and comfortable with shutters on the windows. The only little gripe I had was that the hair dryer flex is too short as the socket is far away from the mirror. This problem is common to many hotels in Ireland.
As I was not paying the bill I cannot comment on the value
It was my second time to stay at Round Wood House and I will be back again.




.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

A week in roundwood cottage
It was deep within the woods
Where only the cows were lowing
No tv or other fancy goods

The cottage was welcome and warming
With little room to swing a cat
The peace & solitude overcame you
Better than any city flat.

A week of utter seclusion tucked deep within the wood
My heart and soul replenished
Thanks to the cottage at Roundwood.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
4.4 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing