We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited Roundwood House in June of 2012 and we just loved it! We wanted to stay in a true Irish home while we were in Ireland and visiting Roundwood House was just the most amazing stay. We had gotten engaged the night before arriving and the Flynn family made us feel so welcome and special. They also spoiled us for being newly engaged. The house is warm and inviting and just kept so lovely. The rooms are very big, the food offered is homely and wonderful and staying here makes you feel like you've come to visit family. We became friends with the Flynn family and still keep in contact. Would DEFINITELY go back to Roundwood House!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Roundwood was top shelf. The casual yet professional service and hospitality allowed us to unwind, relax, and enjoy a snippet of history from a time when people enjoyed a slower pace. We stayed in the main house, although it seems like the other options seemed grand as well. The food was outstanding both in it's preparation, presentation, provenance, and, most importantly, taste. The lamb was succulent and certainly not "gamey." The sweet potatoes were carmelized, fluffy and the best roasted sweet potatoes I have ever had. Beverages were a wonderful complement, especially the excellently curated selection of Irish craft beers. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and recommended Roundwood to our friends and family who thought to mimic our tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBillyWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Had dinner for a special family occasion. Absolutely fabulous food and ambience and wonderfully simple. The food is of a top quality and expertly prepared and served. The fact that the menu is a secret adds to the experience. Top class and can't wait to return again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bodoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a VERY old house - it is NOT for you if you are looking for corporate luxury!! It is NOT a place to bring children! This is a place from a previous era - someplace to unwind and relax and walk and eat good food. There is wifi but no televisions or music centres etc. There is a roaring fire in the lovely drawing room, with tea/coffee and home made cookies when you arrive.

This part of Ireland, is VERY rural and still trapped in a bit of a time warp (i.e. very underdeveloped!) There is lots of forest/hill walking nearby.

The best rooms as the Green Room, Blue Room or Yellow Room. The Garden Room is a family room (3 beds) and is not so nice. Four Couples stayed here for our annual 'reunion'.

We went for a walk around the fields around the house (its muddy, nothing to hear or see except birds in the trees and mud!! - Its been a long wet winter) then back to the house to sit at the fire and have excellent tea in beautiful old china cups/teapots and home made cookies.

We had an EPIC dinner. Five courses (no menus) - the starter was superb, the soup very good, with heavenly home made breads, the main course was heaven - with fabulous broccolli/feta/raisin/butter for veg, a sublime sweet potato dish with pomegranates, succulent pink tender lamb, and potatoes gratin thick with cream! The dessert was beautiful - peanut parfait (yum!) with profiterole and followed bya cheeseboard with home made cheese crackers. Then back to the drawing room again for coffee. So a 5* dinner from start to finsih.
Breakfast next morning was excellent - fruits/yogourt/cereals then all sorts of fried goodies freshly cooked to order, excellent home baked breads & all the tea and coffee and toast on demand. Again the lovely old mixed/matched china.

I think this is a lovely place for older couples who want peace and quiet and relaxation.

Room Tip: The garden room is not so nice. The Blue, Green and Yellow rooms are nice. Specify if you want a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

On a beautiful, sunny day in June 2013 my partner and I were enjoying a weekend away by the sea when to my delight he got down on bended knee and proposed! I said yes and we were engaged!! After much careful consideration we decided on an intimate winter wedding with just immediate family and close friends as our guests. We set the date for Sunday 22nd December 2013 and the excitement began to bubble immediately! One Saturday in early September we set off to find the perfect venue in which to hold our special day. On arrival at Roundwood House it was with great happiness that we realised we need not look any further! We received the warmest welcome from Hannah Flynn as she led us into the drawing room of her beautiful home.

We sat and chatted companionably in front of a cozy log fire. Hannah spoke to us about the type of wedding we were hoping to have. We felt very at ease in our surroundings and we felt that Hannah seemed genuinely interested in all we had to say. Hannah showed us around her fabulous house and we began to feel really confident that Hannah and Roundwood would meet all of our expectations on the big day! We strolled outside and were brought to the Long Room, a fabulous stone building located just off the stable yard. The minute we walked through the door of the Long Room we just knew that it would be the perfect place in which to hold our wedding ceremony, it was gorgeous! As we looked around, I could hardly contain my excitement, everything felt so right! We booked the venue with Hannah there and then and the wedding wheels were well and truly set in motion. Over the next few months we shared lots of phone calls and emails with Hannah and I was truly touched by her friendliness, her efficiency and her attention to detail. Nothing was too much and every query was responded to without delay. The more we communicated the more reassured we felt that we had chosen our venue very well indeed!

One Friday evening in November we arranged to visit Roundwood House for a tasting of the food! We drove up the long, leafy avenue on a crisp, clear, starry night and the house looked bright and welcoming. Hannah and her husband Paddy greeted us warmly at the front door and their friendliness made us instantly feel at home. Seeing the house for the second time was the loveliest experience. We sat in the drawing room and chatted before being led into the dining room to enjoy our meal. An open fire burned brightly in the hearth and the room was softly lit and very comfortable. We had the dining room to ourselves which in itself was a unique experience! The food we ate was without doubt some of the best we have ever had. Paddy and Hannah take great pride in the wonderful food they cook and serve to their guests. Passion and care is evident throughout. After a glorious medley of homemade desserts Hannah sat down with us and together we decided on our wedding menu. Going home from Roundwood House that night, my fiancé and I looked at one another with the very same thought, "Roll on our Wedding Day"!!!

Sunday 22nd December dawned cold and bright. Our wedding ceremony was scheduled to begin at 2.30pm. At about 2.30pm (or thereabouts!!!) I arrived by car at Roundwood House with my Mam and my two sisters. Hannah met us at the Main House and gave me my bridal bouquet. Hannah kindly assured me that all our guests were happy and that they were already seated in the Long Room. Together with our lovely photographer Jean Kenny we made our way across the cobbles to the Long Room. Our celebrant Billy Hutchinson greeted us at the door and my two sisters headed on inside. This was it, the moment I had been waiting for was finally here! Our wonderful musician Doug Sheridan sang Shania Twain's "From This Moment" as my Mam and I walked arm in arm up the rose petalled aisle. The Long Room looked stunningly beautiful. The cream lanterns glowed with golden candlelight and the chairs were adorned with purple lace and wicker hearts. The scent of freshly cut flowers filled the air. I remember seeing warm smiles all around me and I recall thinking that this was the happiest day of my life so far. Our wedding ceremony was conducted beautifully and it was everything we could have hoped for and more. It was thoroughly meaningful, and was filled with love and sincerity.

When the ceremony ended my new husband and I walked down the aisle hand in hand as Doug sang Ray La Montagne's 'You are the best thing (that's ever happened to me) '. The next hour was a fun filled flurry of photographs, chatter, hugs and laughter. After the group photographs finished our guests happily retreated back to the Main House where they enjoyed drinks, teas and coffees and the most delicious homemade scones with fresh cream and jam. They mingled and chatted while Doug sang softly and played his guitar in the background. My husband and I together with Jean Kenny headed upstairs to the Green Room for some special photos of ourselves. I have one very vivid memory of standing there in the lovely Green Room and wishing that our wedding day would last forever! When the photographs were finished, we returned down the lantern lit staircase and met with our guests. The huge fabulous Christmas tree with its twinkling fairy lights took centre stage in the main hallway and the festive atmosphere added something extra special to the sense of occasion we all felt. For the next hour or so we chatted happily with everyone and soaked up the feeling of wonder and joy all around us. There was a warmth about Roundwood House that felt truly magical. At around 6pm we were invited to the dining room to begin our meal. The open fire was ablaze in the grate and the room was decorated with vintage birdcages and bathed in cozy candlelight.
For the next three hours we feasted on the most glorious six course meal accompanied by the most wonderful wine. The meal began with a beautiful starter of warm crepes filled with oak smoked ham, mushroom and parmesan cheese, followed by a very tasty curried butternut squash soup. The main course consisted of mouth watering beef with lemon and rosemary potatoes, creamed carrots and green beans. A wonderful Irish cheese board and a fabulous warm toffee apple cake with homemade vanilla ice cream completed the gorgeous meal. The delicious food was complimented by discreet and very helpful service from staff who really seemed to go out of their way to please and help everybody around them.

With very satisfied and very full tummies we returned to the drawing room for teas and coffees and somehow managed to find a little space to sample the delights of our cake table which included three delicious varieties of cakes and a selection of heavenly cupcakes, courtesy of Kelly Lou Cakes. Our two wonderful musicians, John Davidson and Shane Booth arrived and settled themselves in a corner of the room where they treated us to some really great singing for the next few hours. The sound of joy and laughter, chatter and dancing filled the air and everything felt good in our world. I remember looking around in pleasure at how special everything looked and felt. At around 11.30pm, Hannah and Paddy presented us with the loveliest array of tasty bruschetta followed by slices of gorgeous chocolate biscuit cake. These went down a treat altogether. Afterwards there followed lots more singing and dancing and merriment. Both Hannah and Paddy took such great care to ensure that the day went perfectly for us and they made such a lovely effort mingling with our guests as often as they could. Their relaxed, personable manner was greatly appreciated by everybody. At around 4.30am or so the evening drew to a close. Paddy locked up the door of the Main House and bid us all goodnight. We returned to our comfortable, spacious bedroom ready for a lovely, restful sleep after what had undoubtedly been a truly wonderful day all round!

The next morning dawned calm and bright and it was such a pleasure to wake up in the beautiful peaceful surroundings of Roundwood House and its environs. We all enjoyed a leisurely and very tasty cooked breakfast complete with freshly squeezed orange juice and warm homemade scones right from the oven. Gradually our guests began to leave Roundwood House to go their separate ways and prepare for Christmas. My husband and I sat and chatted with Hannah, Paddy and their two beautiful children. We expressed our heartfelt thanks to them and to all at Roundwood House for helping make our wedding day dream come true. From beginning to end, we loved every minute of our experience in their beautiful home and we would very happily recommend it to anybody! Words some of our guests used to describe their time at Roundwood House included, 'chic' and 'unique', 'special' and 'divine'. Our guests are still speaking about the glorious food, the stunning house and the kind, friendly, personal professionalism of Hannah, Paddy and their staff. My husband and I will remember the happiness we felt on our wedding day for the rest of our lives. Treat yourself to the treasures that Roundwood House beholds, you will be delighted you did, we certainly were!! Roundwood House will always have a very special place in our hearts and we both very much look forward to returning there for a visit sometime very soon!

From Laura and Tony Gorman.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorkabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

A group of us spent a lovely night recently here in Roundwood House. We arrived early & had a relaxing afternoon tea/coffee & scones in the drawingroom. Hannah was very welcoming, informative & eager to help. Dinner that evening was so simple but so delicious. Everyone raved about the lamb.... Breakfast the next morning was a feast - everything freshly home made from the yogurt to the drop scones to the orange juice.... all a delight. The house is very homely, delightful & full of character - it seems to be such a labour of love for both Hannah & Paddy. We wish them well.

Tip - maybe if you are unfamiliar with the area you should print or check out directions to the House as a few people in our party found it hard to find. A signpost turned in a different direction didn't help!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Spent the night in Roundwood Hse recently and had a lovely time. Checked in at 2, were given good advice on a walk in the slieve bloom mountains, back at 5, and spent a few hours in the very social drawing room. There were 14 staying that night and all went it the dining room and had a very nice meal & social evening with others. Reminded of our travelling days.
Breakfast the following morning ended up lasting 2 hours with people chatting
Paddy & Hannah very welcoming to their home, exceptional food and an all round very nice stay
Highly recommended, something very different though

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Padraig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
16.4 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
9.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing