We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, secluded and well equipped cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mountrath, County Laois

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HertfordE...
Hertford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secluded and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hawthorn Cottage provided the perfect place for three of us stay when we were visiting the area for the Punchestown Horse Racing Festival (about 70km North of the Mountrath) .

The cottage is very pretty and is in a wonderfully secluded location with a beautiful garden. Internally it's well laid out with plenty of space and a superbly well equipped kitchen and utility room. It's nicely furnished and the owners have retained lots of the original features. There was plenty of storage space in all three of the bedrooms and the bathroom is immaculate with galleons of hot water.

Finding the cottage is a little challenging but it's not to hard to match the location shown on here to the location on your GPS.

Communication with the owner was easy and effective and we experienced no problems with check in or check out.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you Emma for the review. We are delighted you all had a great stay at the cottage. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnOB51
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A brilliant cottage not to be missed!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect place to get away from it all yet still be close to Mountrath and only an hour from Dublin.

The cottage was clean, spacious and cosy


I can't wait to stay there again I am so glad to have found it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look and feel of the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you John, we enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabeanie7
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this cottage as a base for my Dad to visit relatives in Maganey and Kilkenny with my Aunt, Sister and husband.

I had expected a beautiful cottage, but was a little cynical as often places are advertised well and are never quite as you'd expect. This cottage however surpassed my expectation! It is set in such beautiful surroundings and you can see how well loved and kept the place is. It was very homely and had everything you could need for all seasons. My husband wants to now return in winter so that he can experience the lit fire.

We will be booking again in the future, and I have forwarded on to all my friends and family as a real gem of a place to book and stay.

Thanks Deirdre for sharing this lovely place with us so we can all experience a cosy historic and idyllic cottage :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Wifi password was a little hard to decipher - but not the end of the world!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eb8158
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
7
people found this review helpful

One of the things that make returning home from vacation tolerable, is that I get the chance to review this fabulous cottage! We arrived for a week long stay after a week in Munich. The cottage is just as it is pictured, and we were greeted warmly by the hostess' mum, who even left milk, tea, and biscuits for us. After a busy week in a very warm Germany, the quiet of the cottage and the mild Irish weather was perfect. It is quite rural (much of Ireland is) and the property itself was a haven. Comfortably sized home with a large, beautiful yard complete with pond. Many mornings, I'd take my tea outside and sit by the pond to watch for the fish and frogs that live there... Complete quiet except for the birds.

Beds are comfortable, kitchen is complete and there is also a washer provided.

The cottage is central to the lower part of the country, and we took day trips to all the areas we wanted to see. Longest distance was Galway, and that is only about 1.5 hours away on the Motorway (driving quickly :) )

Dee also leaves a fantastic "tips" book with information on the local village, as well as local activities and sightseeing. I have to say that MY favorite tip was for the local butcher, who besides being an absolutely lovely man, gave us freshly cut lamb chops that were out of this world.

...for TripAdvisor, I'll also make a note that while Dee doesn't appear to have many comments on this site, don't interpret that as being a new hostess. She's let the cottage for quite awhile and has garnered rave (well-deserved) reviews for this perfect holiday cottage!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALLERAY...
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Merci beaucoup! Enchanté que vous avez apprécié le chalet, j'espère vous revoir tous.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curzaccia
Ajaccio, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you Monique for your lovely review! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing