We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous mediaeval ruin”
Review of Rock of Dunamase

Rock of Dunamase
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fabulous mediaeval ruin”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Not for those with mobility difficulty, but is a beautiful site, worth visiting. There is a quaint Church of Ireland at the foot of the hill worth a look also. Kids will love climbing here, so will need supervision. Entry free..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aolbfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    91
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Glad I finally ticked this site off the list.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I'd always wanted to go here and it was worth it when I did. The site is free, easy to get to and easy to climb the trail. I wish there were tour guides available on site. From the top you get wonderful views and a glimpse at just how magnificent the site was when it was in use. I went on a breezy day which I would not recommend as you can be knocked about a bit up there when the wind picks up. The Rock is not suitable for small kids. Great place for photos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tiptopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltinglass, Ireland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Well worth to stop”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ruins with atmosphere. Beautiful view, very quiet, almost mysterious. It must have looked magnificent long time ago, in its glory. Exit 16 from M7 then follow the signs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I don't know why this isn't bigger on the tourist map its well worth a visit and even on a bad day the view is spectacular... Exit 16 . Don't miss it. Great photos!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkOval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The rock of dunamese is a quiet, out of the way stop without any frills. The area is very nice and we enjoyed walking around it. The climb is very short and the views are well worth it. I wouldn't go out of my way to see it but if it's on your way to another attraction I would give it some time. The most you need is 30 mins.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank looseendsmakeknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock of Dunamase also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
County Laois, Province of Leinster
 
Abbeyleix, County Laois
 

Been to Rock of Dunamase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing