We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terible”
Review of SHACK CAFE

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
SHACK CAFE
Description: This is a coffee shop within the Midway Foodcourt in Portlaoise Its like a service stop. Very nice stop actually and spotless clean throughout.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a coffee shop within the Midway Foodcourt in Portlaoise Its like a service stop. Very nice stop actually and spotless clean throughout.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“terible”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

really nasty processed food
staff are not friendly and dont care about quality of there produce
i was sick two hours after eating here

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aneka j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a coffee here,had two coffees & and two scones.Served on paper plates with paper cups .Total bill 12€.Will not be back ¡¡¡.Absolutely disgraceful .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fast friendly service”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stopped here for a quick cup of coffee on Sunday. Being a bank holiday, the foodcourt was fairly packed with quite a number of children running around. However, our coffee was quickly brought to our table by a nice friendly waitress and it was very enjoyable. My latte was piping hot with just enough froth on top and my husband’s espresso was just to his liking. Will definitely return but not on a busy weekend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erins-Isle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I am a regular visitor here, staff are extreemly frendly and generally I just get a latte but I think it would be one of the nicest coffees in Portlaoise. Fresh coffee beans are used, creamy milk and its always nice and hot!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Co Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Less water more coffee please”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stopped off here for a coffee with a business colleague and ordered a coffee and a mocha, I was asked if I would like a Small, medium or large and after seeing the sizes I picked a small as it was the equivalent of about 2 normal cups of coffee, very disappointed with the coffee it was watery and tasteless, my mate enjoyed his mocha and I have to say that the lady serving was very pleasant and helpful but as a business you got to get your coffee right, who wants a half pint of awful coffee I would much prefer a smaller cup of tasty coffee

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SHACK CAFE also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to SHACK CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing