We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for whatever you want, whoever you are with!!!”
Review of Rafters Cafe

Rafters Cafe
Ranked #16 of 52 Restaurants in Portlaoise
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 124 seater day time restaurant, with outdoor seating and scenic view. Rafters has a modern, chic, and cosmopolitan feel to it and serves everything from Breakfast, sandiches, panini's, wraps, ciabatta's, wide selection of carvery items, kids menu, coffee's, tea's, lattee's etc...
Laois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for whatever you want, whoever you are with!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Since Rafters opened we have returned time and time again for a number of reasons. Being able to choose between hot and cold freshly made food is such a refreshing change. Having dined there with kids and alone it offers the perfect facilities for both. The portion sizes are very generous and the price matches the quality of the food! Its bright and airy with a very relaxed feeling. We will be returning customers for a very long time!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rafters: A delightful visit!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have threatened to visit Rafters restaurant since it opened many months ago. I finally got the chance to enter the premises today and I can honestly say it greatly exceeded my expectations. There was a great selection of food and the only trouble I had was deciding on which delecious dessert to choose from! I ended up purchasing a cadburys golden crisp cheesecake served with a dollop of cream. The delightful chef Sarah reccomended it. The rich creamy cheesecake just mealted in my mouth. It was filled with chunks of honeycomb, in one word: delicious! I was tempted to ask the chef what her secret was. After my dessert I enjoyed an americano. I would be a fussy coffee drinker but this was delightful. I noticed the coffee beans were freshly grounded and the coffee was steaming hot. Just the way I like it! Overall the visit was a great success and I would most certainly pop in again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exceptional cafe”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

i would visit this cafe at least once a week. the food is fantastic. the seats ect in the cafe are very comfortable. lovely friendly staff esp katie whom nearly always serves me. i would recommend this cafe to anyone its just simply fantastic

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portlaoise992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Laois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT WORK!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This cafe is a great place to eat or just to have a coffee, I had a great experience here as I went in with my husband and children. The staff (Denise, Karen, Jennifer) were amazing a credit to the business, a lady helped me with the children and helped with the tray she was really nice as were all the people there. The food was amazing, hot and very tasty, the deserts were great too as all of us tried something different and I couldn't fault one of them. I will be a regular customer and I will be seen you soon, once again GREAT WORK!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe in Laois Shopping Centre”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Cafes in shopping centres can be hit or miss but Rafters Cafe in Laois Shopping Centre , Portlaoise is definitely a hit in my book. We had lunch there last Friday and the food was absolutely delicious, very generous portions, and great value. It's counter service but the queue moved very quickly and then we relaxed into wonderfully comfortable armchairs and tucked in. The staff were lovely. The waitress who took our order at the counter took particular care to let the cashier know that we were only to be charged for a child's burger and chips while another quickly cleared a table for us - these might sound like small things but it's these small gestures that can make a big impression. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank claire026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rafters Cafe also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Rafters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing