We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel 10/10 ...bedrooms 4/10” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“hotel 10/10 ...bedrooms 4/10”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

myself my husband and 2 kids stayed here for a long weekend in may for my birthday, once we walked in the lobby was lovely could not fault it, the greeting was friendly and quick, we couldnt wait to see the bedrooms as the front of hotel and lobby was so grand, the bedroom was a huge disapointment!
i did not complain as although the bedroom were outdated and looked to be more like a 2/3 star hotel the rooms were clean. There was holes in the carpet, the walls had dirty marks.
on the plus side the swimming pool was brilliant , the kids loved it! very clean..
breakfast was brilliant loads of choice, again staff were very friendly ..
food in the grillhouse was again brillant could not fault it..

Room Tip: the front rooms are noisy at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmac2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am so glad you were impressed by our foyer and the food and staff in Kellys Foundry GrillHouse and at Breakfast in our Fitmaurice Restaurant.
I am sorry you were disappointed by the bedroom you were allocated. I would be delighted to upgrade you to one of our suites on your next visit and you could try our Spagos Italian Restaurant which has a great reputation locally.
I am so glad your children enjoyed the Leisure Club we are so lucky to have such a large swimming pool.
Thank you for your constructive review and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the future.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    268
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
234
333
13
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

On arrival its a lovely hotel and staff are nice, rooms are nice and leisure centre is excellent but we had a spa package which was by far the worst i have ever visited.. very unprofessional, having arrived there to a sign on the door (entrance from the hotel) not to disturb as there was a treatment in progress !!! which turned out to be the fish treatment literally inside the door, the reception seemed to be the relaxation room. our package with both a half hour facial and half hour massage both turned out to be less than 20mins then the salt bath was nice but my friend was told just to get in and had no idea how to use the emergency stop or if or when it would stop (mayb the use of the Pennys dressing gowns made up for it dont get me wrong nothing wrong with Pennys when spas cost enough they could at least remove the labels to show we were getting value for money) no relaxation room.. definately would not recommend and dont order dinner in the hotel at the bar very very expensive. But overall they do offer some good packages but only eat here if the meal is included and dont go for the spa package, mayb the shopping package is a better option

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriammcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel . I am delighted that you liked our hotel but sorry to hear you did not like your Spa experience. I have forwarded your comments to our Spa operator Ealu Spa as I know they will value your feedback.
Thank you for your comments about our 5 Star Health and Fitness Centre we are delighted you found it excellent.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Very family friendly and Staff go way over and above to assist in any way possible. Coeliac diet is more than catered for in all the restaurants and their are specific menus available for this. The restaurants front onto the street and attract a passing trade which is good for variety. Food, accommodation and service is excellent here and we have returned many times for these reasons. This hotel is to be recommended. The hotel is nicely positioned to break the journey from Dublin to the south and is in close proximity also to the outlet mall at Kildare Village and the shopping centre in Newbridge.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEandJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on trip advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Hotel to be family friendly. Thank you for your comments on our accommodation, our restaurants and I am delighted you mentioned that you found us good on Coeliac Friendly food. We host the Annual Coeliac Conference and we pride ourselves on catering for Special Diets. Most of all I am delighted that you found our staff friendly and professional.
Once again thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

On arrival we were so excited the lobby is just gorgeous but thats where it ended!! As we checked in the recepionist was very standoffish and plain rude. We booked a double room it was very out dated a brown blanket on the bed!!!! An old television that the remote would not work half the time!! The room was very cold at night also. There was a shower curtain in the bathroom and it had old hairs stuck to it just disgusting!!! The leisure centre is just gorgeous and really clean. But would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caddy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. I would be delighted if you would forward me your contact details to jerryrussell@theheritagehotel.com.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portlaoise hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great Swimming facilities, largest kids pool I have seen in Ireland.
Food of great quality, good value also in the evening bar menu, very accomodating to childrens likes.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBlake_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your family stay. Thank you for your comments on our Health and Fitness Club. We are most proud of our swimming pool and are childrens pool. Thank you for your comments on our choice of food outlets we are so fortunate to have two restaurants for our guests to choose from and also to have the our barfood offering in our Charter Bar.
Do come back and stay with us again we are always adding to our offers on our website and will continue to strive to be the best Hotel in Portlaoise.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

This hotel is one of the finest I have been to. Service very good, it is a clean and comfortable hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. The rooms are nice and spacious, with a good level of sleep quality available. The location is good, in the town centre and railway station is close by. The food was excellent, they catered to a wide range of dietary needs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel comfortable and spacious. The team will be delighted to read your review .
Thank you for all your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel is very nice with a friendly staff. Our room was very clean and quiet. Great restaurant with a friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustGallivanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments about our bedrooms, our staff and our restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage in the near future.
Best Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portlaoise Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Property: Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Radiance Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing