We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with very friendly and efficient staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very friendly and efficient staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Held a 2 day conference for 280 delegates here and it was handled extremely efficiently by the hotel and all it's staff. The facilities, food, accommodation was excellent and I would recommend the Heritage as a superb conference venue.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEOLCEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    268
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
234
334
13
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had a great 2 night stay in the Heritage Hotel.. Warmly welcomed by all staff from reception to housekeeping! We ate in both restaurants - the first night was Spagos where we were looked after so well and enjoyed a great Italian meal.. Afterwards we enjoyed a few drinks in the bar - great buzz and the bar staff were really friendly and chatty!! The second night we got a great deal in the steak house - food was lovely and we even got free coffees as we had to wait a little while - we didn't mind as the restaurant is fab!! Plenty to do and see around portlaoise and tullamore - from shopping to site seeing - highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The rooms are a let down. Dark, uncomfortable and low standard of bedding and decor.
Worst of all, the noise from the trains passing immediately across from room with loud hooting as they speed through the station.

The public areas are lovely and the Italian Restaurant, Spagos, is brilliant. It is not open every night though so we had eat in the Foundry as well which is not quite as good but still nice. The staff are fabulous throughout the hotel and everything is very efficient.

It is great value for money for over 55s so I don't think you can expect too much if you are not paying full price.

Room Tip: ask for room away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennymasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here on saturday night with my boyfriend. From start to finish, it was disappointing..
Maybe my expectations were too high, but having stayed in many 3 and 4 star hotels, I expected an awful lot more than what the heritage hotel had to offer. We had a quick bite to eat in the cafe in the hotel, my bagel came out and was burnt to a crisp on the bottom.. By the time I got to complain my boyfriend had finished eating and we were in a hurry so I did not get another, however the girl was nice about it and did not charge me. The rooms are only basic, not 4 star at all and decor is old. While checking in the receptionists did not tell us anything about the hotel (leisure centre, restaurants.bars, even where the lifts were) only what time breakfast was at. We found the leisure centre in the hotel and having spoken to the receptionist there, he said it was possible for us to use the facilities there the following day even after we had checked out..(as we have done in many other top class hotels) so we returned to the room to get ready for a night out. That night we went down for dinner to find the restaurants all booked up and we waited in one for up to an hour, and still no table. Yes it was our fault not booking a table on a saturday night, but I think the staff could have made us aware of the situation. We had drinks in Mollys bar, band was good. Breakfast was nice, however breakfast staff were extremely rude. We had late checkout, handed in key and was told at reception when I asked that we were not allowed use leisure centre after checkout...I was not impressed at all as we made sure to book somewhere with a leisure centre and was looking forward to it and had I have known, we would have went the previous day. I never had this problem before having stayed in many hotels. The receptionist was by no means apologetic about this even when I explained I had been told by another member of staff that I could use it after checking out. The car park is not part of the hotel and after returning to the car, we realised that the receptionist never gave us the voucher ticket courtesy of the hotel, so had to trek back and get this, and still had a €9 charge for the car park as the hotel only covers 6pm-10am. Overall we did not have a pleasant stay to say the least and if you are

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portlaoise hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed @ the hotel for one night (Saturday). Paid €78.00 for B&B. We were given a Smoking Room even though we don't smoke and we were never asked when checking in! As we were only staying the one night and the window opened in the room, I didn't want to make a fuss and asked to be moved to a different room and left the window open during the day to allow the room to be ventilated. The room was very tired and old looking and the bathroom was also very grubby and I would not class the hotel as a four star. The curtain / curtain pole fell down twice when going to open the window and unfortunately our view was the back of the Hotel looking onto the train tracks... When we were checking in @ 3pm the receptionist asked if we were eating for dinner and we mentioned that we were hoping to eat at Kelly's Foundry Grillhouse (restuarant attached to the Hotel). She asked if we had already booked it and I said no as I didn't think this was required until I arrived at the Hotel, she said that they only time they had free was 10pm and understand from other residents of the Hotel that as they had checked in later that day, that the Grillhouse was booked out! The Manager of the restaurant (can't remember the ladies name) was really nice and friendly and when asked, she provided us with information as to what pubs / nightclubs would be suitable for our age, etc... and that are around the local area. The food in the Grillhouse was really nice and enjoyed our night. The breakfast wasn't up to the standard of a four star hotel and was poor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leela27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I brought my friend here as a birthday treat recently for her birthday. I never book anything less than a four star hotel (having had bad experiences before with 3 star) as I feel a certain standard is guaranteed. Not in this case. While the reception area, leisure centre and bars were lovely I regretted my choice when I saw the bedroom. A very drab room that doesn't seem to have been redecorated in the recent past. Holes in the bed throw and the bed throws folded back to reveal old style (itchy) blankets! The double bed was fine and firm to sit on but the single bed was a different story. When you sat on the bed there was no support and you could feel the bars from the base of the bed. Having a bad back I asked at reception was there any chance of another mattress. One was provided but this was just as bad and had no support at all! I wasn't looking for anything special, just one that didn't hit the springs below when you lie on it. While I might have had problems in the past in hotels re noise or poor food the one thing I always assumed would be present was a given was a decent mattress. I expressed my feelings to the receptionist who said they couldn't do anything about it.
I didn't sleep well and had back ache for two days after. A good hotel overall but not sure how they achieved 4 stars when it comes to the bed rooms and especially the mattresses.
We were supposed to be on a late checkout but our room keys were de activated at 3 minutes to 12 !Our deal was "€79 instead of €158 for 1 nights luxury B&B for two plus late checkout"
Our room looked out on the back of the hotel and the boiler, the TV had no reception and the room wasn't luxury! Disappointed and a bit embarrassed for my friend who's birthday it was!
H
Athlone

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I want to say thank you to the staff at the Heritage Portlaoise for a lovely time. We had a class reunion. Everybody enjoyed their stay at the hotel. Lovely room. Enjoyable breakfast. great night in Spagos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portlaoise Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Property: Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Radiance Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing