We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff and fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic staff and fantastic service”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception here in September 2011. From the first day of booking to the day after the wedding the staff couldn't have been nicer or do enough for us. Sandra in the bookings office was so pleasant and organised, and always had a smile. On the wedding day nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, and the food, the room and the waiting staff were amazing. They really made the day go so smoothly and I can't praise them enough. We returned there for our anniversary this year and the service was just as excellent. The room was beautiful and they had a welcome note and chocolates in the room. We have stayed in the Heritage a few times now and have no hesitation recommending it. Mollys Bar is so much fun if you get there a night when trad music is on, and the italian restaurant serves amazing food. Parking is free over night and the hotel is in a fairly quiet part of town. I can't praise all the staff and this hotel enough, the best hotel experience I have ever had.

Room Tip: If you like bigger rooms then specify, as some of the double rooms can be small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Bobby F,

Thanks for sharing your comments with us.
Thank you for letting us host your weddding reception it was a pleasure.
We look forward to welcoming you back over the coming years.

Thanks again,

Regards and best wishes,

AIleen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    285
    190
    108
    81
See reviews for
256
360
16
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stay away over 100 nights a year throughout Scotland and Ireland and I really appreciate a good hotel.... I have to say this is a GREAT Hotel.. First impressions are everything and the Heritage lived up to this.

With excellent facilites throughout the hotel and a huge choice of on site restaraunts(not forgeting a fabulous coffee shop) within the hotel you will find everything to make your stay special. a personal mention about the service is warranted- the staff are a class above at this establishment- well done to all the team at he hotel. A real GEM nestled close to Slieve Bloom mountains and excellent connections to main motorways, and only 2 hrs from Dublin- this hotel is a must stay .

Room Tip: the suites are huge for the money and are worth the premium- also speial early bird menu offers are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Derek C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel. Having read some of the reviews before our stay, I was a little apprehensive about the hotel, however, our stay was extremely positive. The staff were more than friendly, the room was spotless and the food was delicious. The hotel is so central and for those who don't drive, the train station is only a 3 minute walk from the hotel. Portlaoise is a lovely, large town with 2 shopping centres and a lot of pubs. The Kildare Outlet is only 30 minutes drive away and there are many other attractions in the vicinity. I would highly recommend the Heritage and would visit again, there is also a fab leisure centre in the hotel which is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Dpyne,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed that your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We ( 5 Adults + 2 Babies ) had lunch in the Fitzmaurice Restaurant on Sunday 23rd. May 2012 and were very pleased. One had Chicken wrapped in Bacon and the rest of us had Roast Beef. We received ample portions ( reasonably priced ) and speaking for myself, the Beef with a Red Wine Jus was delicious. We were served by a very friendly Chef and were seated by an equally friendly Lady called Monika. The Restaurant was quite busy, an indication of good standards. One minor little drawback is that you have to pay 1.50 euro per hour for the car-park. We had two cars and were charged 9 euro, having entered the third hour. I only say this, not to be negative but to advise prospective clients, that the longer you " tickle your taste-buds " the greater the charge. Residents, though get a discounted charge when they check-in. Enjoy, we did and will definitely return

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing Portlaoise Heritage Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us and found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to our staff in particular Monika.
I am sorry to see you were dissatisfied with the car parking. Unfortunately, the car park is run independently of the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back to 4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just home from our trip to the hotel and had a really good time. There was a group of 8 of us and not one of us has any complaints. Rooms were clean and warm, welcome lovely, Had dinner in italian rest and it was gorgeous and service good. Breakfast was good also and staff friendly. The only thing i would say is that the bar does not open until 5 oclock mon-fri but you can get a drink in the foyer if you want. Didnt bother us but it might some people. Will definate be going again

Room Tip: Its only 25 euro to upgrade to a suite so treat yourself there worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Jenny,
Thank you for reviewing Portlaoise Heritage Hotel. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and services good.
I will pass on your feedback to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to 4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

lovely hotel, reception staff very welcoming and friendly. rooms are huge (bigger than my front room in my house) comfy bed, could do with slight modernisation (an electric shower would be good as it took ages to get warm) bar staff really nice, food nice and drink was priced accordingley. breakfast was nice with plenty of choice. in short would i stay there again, yes of course i would

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Paul,
Thank you for reviewing Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.
I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms exceeded your expectations and our staff to be welcoming and friendly. We are delighted to announce that we are currently in the process of upgrading our and I look forward to welcoming you back to 4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Reception was welcoming but as we made our way to our room the hotel was indeed in need of a little bit of TLC. In our room the curtain hooks for the tie backs that no longer existed were out of the wall leaving holes in the wall which were exposed. In the bathroom there was a wire connected to the towel heater on the wall which was hanging under the sink and exposed and would be a great thing for a very small person to investigate. The location is great and close to the main street. The leisure centre is great with a 22 meter pool.The breakfast was average and the staff seemed to be all over the place not sure if they knew what each other was doing but kept going.No entertainment on either of the nights that we stayed which was dissappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaygirl843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno G, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear galwaygirl843

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor and I am sorry that your experience with us was unsatisfactory.

We have been very keen to take on board our customer comments and as a result we are delighted to announce an upgraded of our bedroom product which will be finalised in October 2012

I would be most grateful if you could call me on my mobile +353 86 854 1101 as I would like an opportunity to discuss this with you further or alternatively you can e-mail me on bgorisch@theheritagehotel.com.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope you will return to the 4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Thank you sincerely once again for taking the time to post your l review.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
4* Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Property: Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing