We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Always good when I visit. Haven't been there in few years though. I noticed now parking is not completely free - used to be. Won't put me off but may effect others with alternative hotels available in Portlaoise with free parking. However very central. I asked for a top level room to leave windown open - don't like stuffy rooms. Was accommodated without fuss. One downside - sausages for breakfast had shrivelled like fingers in bath - left a bit too long on Bon Marie but tasted fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manushamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Manushamrock,


Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted to hear that over all your experience with us was positive.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

I am a regular and would suggest it is rising again after dipping from its opening highs. Fine airy hotel with good leisure club , gents could do with some repairs !. Fine choice of foods but could offer a better priced bar menu.
Drawback single TV with poor sound.
Rooms spacious , clean and very high standard.
Pity car parking is extra now for 10am-6pm.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor away from kitchen extractors !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJMTJM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Margaret s,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks again for your kind comments.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Reakky enjoyed my stay here. Breakfast was lovely ( yummy scrambled eggs)! If you are statying in a dinner B&B package you need to book your meal before your trip! We booked on the Friday for Saturday and the only times were 5 or 9.30! Rubbish times but fab food!!! Rooms were nice . The steam room was broken which meant the sauna was packed! Staff were great!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Scarie,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food your overall hotel experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a family vacation for the first time. Had booked a family room but the room was more like a twin room with a fold out couch. It was a bit disappointing, our daughter noted that the room looked very different to the one in the picture when we were booking. I have to say the room was very clean but very very hot at night. Breakfast was ok, staff were not very efficent in keeping the flow of brown bread, pasteries and fruit stocked up. Hotel was very understaffed and it could be seen in the breakfast room and in the bar in the evening. We had a complentary dinner on one of the nights and the food in the restaurant was lovely. Wine menu is expensive, i think cheapest bottle was 25e. Pool temperature could defintely be turned up, it was a bit on the cool side for this time of year.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was nice, but it was just missing some spark. I dont know if i would return.

Room Tip: Ensure maybe that a family room is more than a fold out couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We did a dinner B&B package to celebrate a birthday. It was a very enjoyable experience, the dining staff were wonderful and when our waiter overheard that there was a birthday he made a big fuss of the birthday boy! Bedrooms & bathrooms are very spacious and comfortable, great choice of food. Hotel overall is very appealing and comfortable and in a great location beside train station and town centre. Best value for money I have enjoyed for a while

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor overlooking train tracks was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Don't get me wrong I had a great weekend but I just found €175 for 2 nights was a little expensive when we didn't even get breakfast. Great hotel other than that, food lovely n great location. Room was nice and cool too, just right temperature!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Fiona N,


Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your comments with us.

I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your experience with us, that you liked our town centre location and enjoyed our food.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Sales and Marketing Manager
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Went to a wedding in this hotel in the last month, it wasn`t the first time I had visited the hotel so I was expecting great things. The room for the wedding reception was eye-catching and the tables were well presented. The staff who I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. However, there was simply too little staff on for the function size and I just felt very sorry for them. The food was very nice throughout the meal and the wine was always topped up. "The perfect place for your perfect wedding" this would be true but the lack of staff was a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Pauline M,



Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, regarding the wedding reception.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us.

We are very popular wedding venue and alway recieve positive feedback, however I will take your feedback to the team.

It is only by recieving constructive feeback that we continue to improve our service and facilities.

Once again thanks for your comments,

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
706 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
708 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
183 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
18.1 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £55 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing