We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best Hotel in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Once again we stayed at the Heritage Hotel and as expected we were not dissapointed. the room was clean, airy and well appointed. the food as usual was excellent and the leisure Facilities were second to none. Can't wait for the next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We have redecorated a number of our bedrooms in recent times and hope to continue the project in the coming weeks. Your compliments have been passed along to our Chef and Restaurant Team. Comments such as yours are fantastic for staff morale.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    268
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
234
333
13
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

pleasantly surprised by this hotel, had a really nice stay here over Christmas. Nice rooms with comfortable bed, great pool area but unfortunately the Spa was closed during my stay which was disappointing. The staff in all areas were so helpful & friendly. Kids entertainment was laid on, may not suit all types as it was very busy with families been Christmas time! Breakfast was fine, we dined in the adjoining Italian restaurant which was just average but again service was prompt & waiting staff helpful & friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel to couples with young kids as they are well catered for here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dub_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you and your family had a pleasant stay with us over the festive season.
Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us here at The Portlaoise Heritage and it gives me great pleasure to read you found all our staff helpful. We try to cater for a broad spectrum of customers and have added different packages to make our hotel more family friendly. Our cinema club has received great feedback providing rest and relaxation for parents while the kids enjoy the movie experience and the company of other children.
I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just back from another fantastic stay in the Heritage Hotel. As always the staff are very pleasent and helpful. The refurbished room was bright, spotless clean and very spacious. The breakfast was delicious and a great selection. The spa is a most as is the swimming pool area and gym. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town and a short stroll to two shopping centres. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It is with great pleasure I read you enjoyed your last visit with us.
Our room refurbishment is an ongoing project and I am delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our newly completed rooms during your recent stay with us.
We are very fortunate to be in such close proximity to the town centre, with many shops bars and restaurants to enjoy.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Te Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We chose this Hotel mainly due to the fact they offered Family rooms and a Leisure center as we had young children with us. Read all the reviews and was unsure as the reviews varied greatly. Well I have to say we were all pleasantly surprised it was ideal for our stay. The Reception staff were efficient and very pleasant on check in. The rooms were decent size, clean, equipped with Trouser Press. Iron and Coffee/ Tea making facilities. Not all are normally available in most Hotels. The TV was the OLD style and the Curtains could be updated. I'd have to say our dining experience at Kelly's Foundry was indeed very very pleasant. Food was excellent and the staff, especially Colleen & Roy ( Manager )who in spite of the number of Diners on the night was extremely pleasant / helpful and very attentive to the Diners. Took the time to go through the Menu and offered to take pics of our Group( excellent people skills) Breakfast was also in abundance and staff again were very pleasant. Should there be any negative point I would have to say the seating in the Bar was scarce and certainly could not accommodate all the Guests. We sat in the Lobby as did many other Guests to have a night cap as there was no room in the bar. Overall it was a very pleasant stay our entire Group enjoyed their stay, even the kiddies . I would certainly recommend it for a weekend break. It is walking distance 5 mins to town with a lovely Shopping Center. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for you wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your commendation has been passed along to our staff Colleen & Roy and greatly appreciated. Here at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel we strive to achieve high levels of customer satisfaction in all areas of the hotel.
We are currently redecorating a number of our rooms and hope to have the project completed further into the New Year.
We are very fortunate top be located in such close proximity to the shops, bars and restaurants Portlaoise has to offer.
Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Another smashing Christmas Party at the Heritage Hotel Portlaoise!! We have gone to the Heritage Hotel for the last 4 years and will certainly be back. The overall night was great and so well organised. As per usual the entertainment was great, we danced the whole night long! The food was delicious, nothing was left on our plates!
Well Done Heritage Portlaoise !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T-bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for you recent review on Tripadvisor. It is with great pleasure I read you enjoyed your Christmas party night experience with us.
Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us here at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, therefore recognition for the organization and planning for these events is very much appreciated. It gives me great pleasure to pass on your excellent comments to the entire team.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued custom and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel. On behalf of myself and all the staff, we would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas, and Best Wishes for New Year.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

146 people attended An Post annual dinner dance in Heritage hotel. As it was a special occasion dress code on the night was black tie. We were spotless and the Heritage didn't let us down either. Room was splendidly laid out. Real Christmas atmosphere. Food was excellent. Brilliant choice of 3 options for main course at a brilliant price - salmon - beef or turkey + ham. Mulled wine reception at front door. Mangers on the ball moving staff with ease and grace to serve + clear tables. Complements to staff and management for making this a truly great night. 146 attended and NOT 1 complaint - unbelievable but true. Cant sign off without mentioning Sandra from the Heritage - has been a excellent organiser and go between and yearly sets up our night without hitches.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank undertaker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. It was with great pleasure The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel hosted your annual dinner dance. I am delighted to read the food and atmosphere on the night exceeded your expectations.
Your praise has been passed along to all our team, and especially Sandra. It is great for staff morale to receive such positive feedback.
Thank you once again for choosing The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. On behalf of myself and all the staff, we would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas, and Best Wishes for New Year.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A group of us stayed here for a conference recently. This is a very comfortable spacious hotel. Rooms were spotless and lovely comfy bed. Grounds are lovely with a golf club and a great spa with swimming pool and gym. Give yourself plenty of time for the spa. My therapist was a lovely girl very friendly and made me feel very relaxed. I loved the relaxation room with the big fire! It reminded me very much of Monart spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deisecailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
On behalf of our partner Hotel, The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort I am delighted to read your positive comments. I am sure the team there will be delighted to hear such positive feedback.

Kind regards,
Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portlaoise Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Property: Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Radiance Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing