We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Got a great deal for this hotel recently and was impressed with it! Large rooms with good facilities. The only think I would knock was that the power in the shower was not much and tv in room old!! The location is great walking distance everywhere and the pool area was nice!! Staff very friendly would recommend

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room and facilities on offer. We are very fortunate to be in walking distance of the many shops, bars and restaurants Portlaoise has to offer.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing a number of our rooms. I take on board your comments regarding the shower and tv.
I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was our first visit to Portlaoise and the Heritage Hotel but I can assure you it will not be our last!! After a very long drive we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who looked after us from the word go! We sat and relaxed with a wee drink in the bar before heading down for dinner. In the bar the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble even when one of my little kids knocked over their drink, it was not a problem ... I've been to places where staff would giving out louds sighs because of this.... not here!!! We moved down to Spago Italian restaurant where we had beautiful food, wine and fantastic service. We then had a relaxing nights sleep in our beautiful room. As a family of 4 the one thing you need is space and we had it! Clean, spacious, comfortable... perfect!!!! Breakfast the next morning was lovely, plenty of choice ...set us up perfectly for the day ahead. We went to the local "roll n bowl" for kids to experience bowling... they loved it... very exciting to knock down all the "blocks" as they put it!... back to hotel for a quick splash in the pool... kiddies loved it... perfect little area for them... temperature was perfect for the little ones to really enjoy the time there! The whole pool are was spotless and well maintained... ! Overall this hotel is perfect! Staff have been well trained (obviously an excellent management team) and are focused on the customers and how they can enhance your stay! Honestly we all had an amazing time!
**** They always children speak the truth........ well what more can be said than............ "mummy this is the best hotel ever" and ever since we got home............ "mummy when are we going back to the best hotel with the best pool"
Thanks to all the staff in The Heritage Hotel Portlaoise... AMAZING! xxxxxx

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxhappyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Here at the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel we strive to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction through our service therefore it gives me great pleasure to read that you witnessed this throughout your stay. Your kind praise will be passed along to all members of our team.
Spago’s our Italian bistro is very popular with our residents. We try to offer a mix of both Italian and European menu to suit most palettes. Our leisure facilities provide a great source of entertainment for all the family. We try to maintain high standards throughout the hotel.
Once again thank you for your kind review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Once again we stayed at the Heritage Hotel and as expected we were not dissapointed. the room was clean, airy and well appointed. the food as usual was excellent and the leisure Facilities were second to none. Can't wait for the next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We have redecorated a number of our bedrooms in recent times and hope to continue the project in the coming weeks. Your compliments have been passed along to our Chef and Restaurant Team. Comments such as yours are fantastic for staff morale.

I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

pleasantly surprised by this hotel, had a really nice stay here over Christmas. Nice rooms with comfortable bed, great pool area but unfortunately the Spa was closed during my stay which was disappointing. The staff in all areas were so helpful & friendly. Kids entertainment was laid on, may not suit all types as it was very busy with families been Christmas time! Breakfast was fine, we dined in the adjoining Italian restaurant which was just average but again service was prompt & waiting staff helpful & friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel to couples with young kids as they are well catered for here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dub_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you and your family had a pleasant stay with us over the festive season.
Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us here at The Portlaoise Heritage and it gives me great pleasure to read you found all our staff helpful. We try to cater for a broad spectrum of customers and have added different packages to make our hotel more family friendly. Our cinema club has received great feedback providing rest and relaxation for parents while the kids enjoy the movie experience and the company of other children.
I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just back from another fantastic stay in the Heritage Hotel. As always the staff are very pleasent and helpful. The refurbished room was bright, spotless clean and very spacious. The breakfast was delicious and a great selection. The spa is a most as is the swimming pool area and gym. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town and a short stroll to two shopping centres. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It is with great pleasure I read you enjoyed your last visit with us.
Our room refurbishment is an ongoing project and I am delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our newly completed rooms during your recent stay with us.
We are very fortunate to be in such close proximity to the town centre, with many shops bars and restaurants to enjoy.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Te Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We chose this Hotel mainly due to the fact they offered Family rooms and a Leisure center as we had young children with us. Read all the reviews and was unsure as the reviews varied greatly. Well I have to say we were all pleasantly surprised it was ideal for our stay. The Reception staff were efficient and very pleasant on check in. The rooms were decent size, clean, equipped with Trouser Press. Iron and Coffee/ Tea making facilities. Not all are normally available in most Hotels. The TV was the OLD style and the Curtains could be updated. I'd have to say our dining experience at Kelly's Foundry was indeed very very pleasant. Food was excellent and the staff, especially Colleen & Roy ( Manager )who in spite of the number of Diners on the night was extremely pleasant / helpful and very attentive to the Diners. Took the time to go through the Menu and offered to take pics of our Group( excellent people skills) Breakfast was also in abundance and staff again were very pleasant. Should there be any negative point I would have to say the seating in the Bar was scarce and certainly could not accommodate all the Guests. We sat in the Lobby as did many other Guests to have a night cap as there was no room in the bar. Overall it was a very pleasant stay our entire Group enjoyed their stay, even the kiddies . I would certainly recommend it for a weekend break. It is walking distance 5 mins to town with a lovely Shopping Center. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for you wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your commendation has been passed along to our staff Colleen & Roy and greatly appreciated. Here at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel we strive to achieve high levels of customer satisfaction in all areas of the hotel.
We are currently redecorating a number of our rooms and hope to have the project completed further into the New Year.
We are very fortunate top be located in such close proximity to the shops, bars and restaurants Portlaoise has to offer.
Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Another smashing Christmas Party at the Heritage Hotel Portlaoise!! We have gone to the Heritage Hotel for the last 4 years and will certainly be back. The overall night was great and so well organised. As per usual the entertainment was great, we danced the whole night long! The food was delicious, nothing was left on our plates!
Well Done Heritage Portlaoise !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T-bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for you recent review on Tripadvisor. It is with great pleasure I read you enjoyed your Christmas party night experience with us.
Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us here at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, therefore recognition for the organization and planning for these events is very much appreciated. It gives me great pleasure to pass on your excellent comments to the entire team.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued custom and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel. On behalf of myself and all the staff, we would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas, and Best Wishes for New Year.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
718 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,911 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
194 reviews
14.5 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Address: 20 Jessop Street, Portlaoise R32 DT04, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing