We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini-Break at the Heritage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mini-Break at the Heritage”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Both my wife margaret and I stayed at the Heritage Hotel, Portlaoise on 28th & 29th March and we thoroughly had a brilliant mini-break. The staff are very friendly , the food in the Restaurant was very well cooked, well presented and the service was first class. The drink in the bar was very reasonable, the barman was very efficient and friendly. The breakfast is excellent, the room is very spacious, very clean and the bed was comfortable.
The Duty Manager Mr Aidan Moore(no relation) was extremely helpful, nothing was a problem, and he was always in good humour. The Receptionist was extremely helpful and both of them went to great lengths to get tickets for us for the Keith Barry Show which we both enjoyed.
I would recommend a stay in The Heritage Hotel for anyone looking to recharge their batteries
or just chill out.
we did not use the Leisure Center or the Spa this time but we will go back again.
The Security to the bedroom area is also first class, you can't access the lift without your room card.
Pat Moore

Room Tip: Look for a non-smoking and a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Pat Moore
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It gave me great pleasure to read you had an enjoyable stay here at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.
We strive to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction with all our guests so I am delighted to read you witnessed this throughout your stay. Your kind comments have been passed along to Aidan our Duty Manager who was delighted to receive such positive feedback.
It is wonderful to see you found our accommodation comfortable and to your liking and that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.
Thank you once again for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    279
    185
    108
    80
See reviews for
255
346
14
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night in bridal suite!! Surprise from partner :) Amazing is all I can say.. it was beautiful and spotless. And the jazuii was heavenly.. from the moment we arrived we loved it.. from the friendly receptionist to all the staff we dealt with.. highly professional and friendly.. we ate in spago restaurant. . It was gorgeous highly recommend it.. 4 course meal was included in price of room which was €139.. great deal! Few drinks in bar afterwards very cosy..Breakfast was lovely next morning the usual buffet style of cerals fruit ect or else a full irish breakfast which I had.. enjoyed it.. staff again in good form and chatty.. cant wait to stay again :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maryh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our Bridal Suite is truly special for marking a special occasion.

We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service therefore it gives me great pleasure to read this was your experience with us and your kind words have been passed on to all members of our team.
I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight.
Very comfortable bed. Lush room.
Gorgeous foods.
Food and drinks are dear.
Didn't use a pool or spa as it was closed in Leary evening when we got there. Was gutted!
Wonderful and helpful staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you found your room comfortable and you enjoyed your meal here at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.
We would like to think our prices are competitive and reflective of the current climate.
Once again Thank you for your review. I do hope to welcome you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

stayed in mar 14.this is no way a 4star hotel.
One resturant , italian, in hotel.
No shampoo / soap in bathrooms only the dove hand wash. Even the "inns and b&b" are better equiped.
Płace badly needs a good.clean and redecor.
Breakfast was nice but they stóp at 10.30, last seating, and at 10.50 we where asked to leave so they could set up for lunch.
Leisure centre was dirty, jaqussi filthy.again asked to vacate at 6.30 on a saturday.
This is a basic 3 star.Id compare it to a.holiday inn or worse.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing many areas of the hotel.
I am most concerning with the issues regarding cleanliness. I have spoken with our Leisure Centre Manager and Accommodation Management concerning the issues raised.
I can assure you it is not a true reflection of the high standards of the hotel.
Once again I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your experience on this occasion.
Should you decide to revisit The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel please do not hesitate to contact me personally.


Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portlaoise hotels

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

after a long weary drive from Belfast we arrived at a fab hotel. From the first moments we knew we really were at a 5 star resort. It was stunning even in the rain! Room was beautiful and bathroom was excellent. Breakfast was first class and the tea was up to my high standards. We will return soon!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slemishbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor Review. Your kind comments have been passed along to the team at our sister property The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, Killenard.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan

Gemeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

loved staying there and the comfort was beautiful we went for valentines and the people are vry friendly and try to look after us and make sure we wanted for nothing food is top notch and the rooms are massive and worth paying for

Room Tip: i will be staying again loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your Valentines Break with us.
We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff, and strive to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction beach and every time.
Once again Thank you for your kind review. I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very impressive frontage and easy car parking, the hotel is right in the town and easy walking to bars and restaurants. Very nice room, very clean and everything you need for a comfortable night's stay. Staff very helpful and breakfast was buffet-style and adequate.

Didn't understand the necessity for a cap to be worn when in the pool, so didnt use those facilities, which was a shame.

If you need to be in Portlaoise, this is the place to stay...... would recommend this, no probs

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay at The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.
We are very fortunate to be in walking distance of the many shops, bars and restaurants Portlaoise has to offer.
I am delighted to hear you found your room comfortable and our staff helpful throughout your stay
Unfortunately Irish regulation stipulates compulsory wearing of swimming hats at swimming facilities.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post this review. I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Kind regards

Gemma Jordan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portlaoise Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Property: Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Radiance Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing