We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff make this hotel a pleasure to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“staff make this hotel a pleasure to stay!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The staff here made my visit an absolute pleasure!! the front desk staff, the bar staff, the breakfast room staff and the cleaning staff, were all exceptionally nice. the room was nice too pretty basic but very nice .. comfy bed!!! great bar and we ate in the grill house and it was Delicious!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Dear lauzD,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We take great pride in the quality of our service in the hotel and take great pleasure in reading comments like this. I have passed your comments to the hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    299
    195
    109
    84
See reviews for
290
374
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed in this Hotel for a concert over the Christmas period, and it was the worst stay I have ever had in a Hotel - it should not be rated as a 4 star hotel. When we arrived the girl at the desk gave us our key whilst she was talking away on the phone, gave us no information on the hotel or even directions to our room. We then found our room, we had booked a suite as it was Christmas, when we walked in we may as well have walked into a Freezer, the room was very shabby and not in any way like advertised on their website, I could not even take my coat off, the bed had fallen down on one side. I rang reception to say that the heating was not on and she said she would see to it, we waited two hours and still had no heat so I rang again, to be told they had a problem with their heating, so I asked to be moved to another room, thinking if we were in maybe a smaller room it would feel warmer, so we were moved to a standard room, which was very basic, however still no heat, I rang down again and they said they were still trying to fix the heating, I asked to speak to the Manager, he said he would try to sort something out, so while we were waiting we ordered room service as we needed to get ready to go out to the concert, this arrived at the same time as the Manager, he brought along a plug in electric heater, he plugged it in and sparks everywhere! I don't think even Basil Fawlty could compete with him!
Our Food was cold by the time we could eat it, the Manager then came back with another heater which worked.
I have to say it ruined our night.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Dear BVKildare,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the problem with the heating system but this has since been rectified.

If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

well i wouldnt call the hotel a four star it just lacked things like the bars not open during the day it was no problem to get a drink in the lobby area but we wanted a pub athmosphere pool was great for the kids we also had my parents with us aged 80 and 72 and the staff couldnt do enough for them us or the kids the coffee bean had only one girl on a really friendly girl but run of her feet went to the spa to inquire about a few treatments by the way it is not a spa as i know it its just a row of rooms a girl finally arrived but said she was in the middle of a treatment and could she contact us later she never did again she was the only staff member on the rooms were very dated and very small for 4 of us spagos and kellys were nice staff amazing so if you dont set your sights too high and want to go away with the kids for a few nights break at bargain prices with friendly smiley staff then i would say go and enjoy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiebabyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed at the hotel the weekend that Keith Barry was in the hotel, what a fantastic show and the hotel and staff are excellent! Breakfast was busy both mornings but the hotel was full so that is to be expected. We ate in the steak house the first night, I highly recommend the steak on the hot rock and on the second night we ate in the hotels Italian restaurant, pizza is just delicious!
The staff at the hotel are all so nice, really helpful and friendly. The bedroom was nice and the leisure centre is definately one of the best in Ireland.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcgarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

went for weekend to heritage for fun and concert.....tommy fleming....he was brilliant....hotel was not...............long queue to book in.....little like ryanair desk......2 or 3 staff members walking around but did not look up......well done lads, if they saw queue forming might have been good idea to offr to help................no heat in room when we got there......silly key pad failed to work 3 times during short stay.............dining area at night across the road in the cold air and restaurant was like a fridge with winds getting in everywhere....food good but soo uncomfortable......sort it out lads...................breakfast a bit crazy....hotel full but not enough staff on......reception area is cold with cold winds racing tro the place.......need to talk to few architects.........found health club area eventually......not enough signs......maybe they want to keep it secret?????......a lot more efffort required and more willing staff.....or i will not be back......room was nice....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2010

On arrival at the hotel first impresion is very good. Looks great outside and reception. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room itself could do with been updated. When entering the room the heat nearly knocked us out. There is no air conditioning so it took hours to cool down the room with the window which only opens about one inch. The bed was uncomfortable, pillows were like pancakes and hard, the bed covers consisted of a old fashioned style blanket and sheet. Rooms badly need to be sound proofed. We could hear the people next door breathing! Everytime they flushed their toilet we heard it as if it was in our room. The bathroom itself was spotless but the shower outdated. The toilet paper was the roughest I have ever used. We ate in Kellys Grill House, I had steak which was alright at best, my wife had cajun blackened chicken. This was a plain roast breast of chicken sprinkled with somthing but was certainly not cajun. The chips that accompained the meal were only half cooked. Overall we were dissappointed with both our stay and especially the restuarant.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

excellent hotel very central highly recommended relaxed atmosphere large rooms

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandbridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
690 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
689 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
179 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
181 reviews
14.5 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Property: Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing