We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My Husband and I held our wedding reception at the Heritage Hotel Portlaoise last month. We cannot praise the Hotel enough. From our very first meeting with the Heritage right up to our wedding day the hotel was fantastic – particularly Victor. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful day. It went so smoothly we couldn't believe it. The whole day was faultless. Nothing was ever too much trouble and anytime we contacted the hotel they always rang us back or replied to emails promptly.
The reception room looked amazing, the food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Our wedding was all we hoped for and more, and we will definitely recommend the Heritage Hotel to friends and family in the future. Holding our wedding at the Heritage Hotel was definitely one of the best decisions we made.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your stay was dissappointing overall. Your comments have been taken on board and we will certainly review what happened that morning with regard to your breakfast. Please accept my apologies. If you would like to talk to me further about your stay I would be delighted to take your call. My contact details are 057 8671912.

Yours sincerely
Jerry Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We mistakingly booked this hotel instead of the Heritage hotel. Once we realised our mistake we decided to continue with our booking regardless. we were very dissapointed with what we experienced.

The rooms are musty smelling and old fashioned. not in keeping with the contemporary feel of the lobby and restaurants. they are badly in need of updating. the lobby almost lulls you into a false sense of security with its contemporary feel before you are hurtled back to reality once you step foot inside the bedroom door.

The gym and the pool however are fantastic, the gym equipment in particular is excellent. this aspect of the hotel is highly commendable.

Breakfast was ridiculous and infuriating. We arrived down at 9.40 and met a long queue waiting to go in. there were tables free but uncleaned inside, there was simply not enough staff on to meet the demand. we waited 15 mintues to be seated and were very empathetic to those who arrived after us! food was not being replenished, there was no fruit salad left and very little of the fry buffet was stocked. we ate a limited breafast. naturally people become frustrated which resulted in people waiting outside the soor tothe kitchen to catch a waiter/waitress (who were doing their best not to be caught!) to ask them to fill different food items. Needlessto say it took a while for us to be able to catch someone for a cup of tea. then the most ridiculous aspect of all, once it hit 10 o clock on the head they began to rapidly pack away all the food. despite the fact people hadnt been seated due to lack of staffing, they wer now not able to get any food. it was farcical!

please dont make the same mistake in booking the heritage portloise instead of the heritage as we did, and if you do please dont err on the side of optomism and proceed with your booking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tippitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your stay was dissappointing overall. Your comments have been taken on board and we will certainly review what happened that morning with regard to your breakfast. Please accept my apologies. If you would like to talk to me further about your stay I would be delighted to take your call. My contact details are 057 8671912.

Yours sincerely
Jerry Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

we stayed here on bank holiday weekend for ireland karaoke finals. great hotel, friendly staff, centre of town@ would highly recomend it. also the food was very nice.... definetly book here if your staying in portlaois...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay over the Bank Holiday Weekend and enjoyed the terrific buzz of The All Ireland Karoke Finals. Thank you for complimenting us on our location, our food and the friendliness of the staff. It is great to recieve such positive feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel and experience more of what Co Laois has to offer.
Sincerest Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Ive stayed here a number of times and ive always enjoyed every visit. We recommend this Hotel to alot of our friends and I've never heard a bad word about their stay. We have Family living in Portlaois and they come and have meals with us when were staying and they've always enjoyed it. Were going back next week for a few days and I cant wait for it. My Son and his girlfriend love this Hotel because the Staff are so friendly. Spago's resturant is our favourite, the food is fab and the staff are always smiling ang joking with the customers. The Hotel in right in the center of the town with plenty of shops and pubs all in walking distance. All my family stayed here for New Years Eve 09 and we had a fantastic time, the youngest was 3 years old and he loved it. I would recommend this Hotel to any age. Beatrice Hyland, Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Mrs Hyland thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The team at the Portlaoise Heritage are so happy to read your kind words. I hope you continue to enjoy our Hotel. Thank you for all the business that you give us we are very grateful for your terrific loyalty to our Hotel. We look forward to seeing you and your family in September for your next family celebration.
Kind Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

my sisters wedding was in jun of tis year have to say the staff were great couldnt do enough for us,hotel is very clean and modern and was a pleasure to say in would recommend it to any one

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed stay and that your sisters wedding reception was a success and everyone enjoyed it. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage in the near future.
Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Stayed last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the the break way. The hotel was busy but the staff had time for us. We ate in Kellys Grillhouse the first night and enjoyed an excellent meal. Our bedroom was large and looked over the church opposite. There was a excellent shower and good standard of toiletries. On the Saturday we ate in the Italian restaurant which was also very good. After our meal we went to a bar beside the restaurant which is also owned by the hotel and enjoyed the band that were playing there. Breakfast the following morning was very busy but the standard of food was good. We checked out late on the Sunday morning after having a swim in the leisure centre and relaxing reading the Sunday newspapers. -Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Hotel stylish with good facilities. We are always glad to hear feedback whether positive or negative as it is an indicator whether we are getting it right or not.
Thank you for your kind comments on our three restaurants, Kellys Foundry Grillhouse, Spagos Italian Restaurant and the Fitzmaurice Restaurant and also Mollys Irish bar where you enjoyed the music.
I am glad you used our White Flag Leisure Club and relaxed in the Pool.
The Management and staff will be delighted to recieve your comments.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.
Sincerest Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stayed here for a May weekend along with my husband. The hotel is located just off the Main Street in Portlaoise but is much quieter than you would expect for such a central location. It seems to have been recently renovated and is clean and smart, if a little bland, in its archtecture and design. The multi-storey car park attached to the hotel is truly hideous. Our room was spacious and reasonably well appointed, though it didn't have a fridge/mini bar. The swimming pool is large and well staffed though again, a little ordinary in design and quite difficult to find in the bowels of the building. The staff were friendly and helpful and on the whole, we enjoyed our stay. However, I was very disappointed by the restaurants. Breakfast is a canteen type affair: nothing special, but adequate. Our first night, we ate in the hotel's grill, located across the road in a large, poorly laid out and designed barn of a room. The menu is limited: burgers, steaks and fries, with a few other options, and the quality was poor: greasy onions, undercooked chips. Though the maitre d' was friendly and accommodating (we were under time pressure), the waiting staff were gruff and brusque, even though the restaurant wasn't busy. Our second night, we booked Spago, the Italian Bistro. It was a busy evening, and very, very noisy. We were seated and brought menus, which were then taken away again as our meal was included in our hotel package. Instead we were given a grubby sheet of paper with very limited options, none of which sounded appetising. We elected to leave and eat somewhere else. We spoke to the hotel's duty manager who immediately agreed to refund the meal allocation from the cost of the package and took our criticisms seriously. On the whole, this is an average hotel which lacks stand-out features or services to distinguish it from other average Midlands hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nl2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted that you noticed our recent upgrades that we have made to The Portlaoise Heritage and that you enjoyed your stay. I am very concerned you thought our restaurants were poor but and I do apologise that you did not get a chance to experience Spagos Italian Restaurant. Our Kelly Foundry Grillhouse is well known in Co Laois for its Hot Rock Dishes and is very popular locally. I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience and I will certainly take your comments on board.
Once again thank you for your honesty and we do appreciate your comments so we can continue to strive for excellence.
I do hope we can welcome you back to in the near future to the midlands and especially to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

Warmest Regards

Jerry Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,893 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
18.1 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Address: 20 Jessop Street, Portlaoise R32 DT04, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing