We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
laois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Very clean, I liked the style & layout.
The bar is cozy, with tv to see matches.
Food is very good- great menu.
Good location, 5mins walk form train,
Main St., 3 mins walk, to shops & nightclubs.
Steakhouse is fab across the road.
No gardens- but its in middle of town.
Parking is next door in multistory
Staff were great.
Going again at end of year for a wedding- cant wait

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moyadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    268
    181
    106
    79
See reviews for
234
334
13
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

I use the Heritage on a regular basis for lunch, client meeting and have attended a couple of conferences there. I have to say that the staff are always very friendly, professional and happy to help. The food here is quite nice and reasonably priced. I have never stayed overnight but I have heard good things. This Hotel is on the short list of hotels we are considering for our wedding.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenICC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Director of Sales at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for continuing to support the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, we very much appreciate it.

Congratulations on your engagement, if you would like to speak with someone in our Sales Office regarding your upcoming wedding please do not hesitate to contact us on 057 867 1919.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

i attended the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in July this year for a christening. I found the room that the christening was in to to be quite spacious yet intimate for the christening party. We had our own bar which was great .The food was gorgous and was plentyful as my husband went for seconds !! My friend how had the christening party is getting married there next year and i am really excited about going to the hotel again i will be staying there this time. The service was so good for the christening i am in no doubt that the wedding will be brillant in this hotel

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kryan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Director of Sales at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Christening Party that you recently attended in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your friends wedding in 2011.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

I didn’t stay in the hotel but have eaten in Spagos restaurant on two or three occasion and I must say I was well impressed with the food and the service we received there.
I have also eaten in the steak house as I'm not a steak eater the Pork chops are to die for and have recommend you to a few people who have also travelled down to Portlaoise as a half way meeting point and have eat in the Steak House and were very satisfied with there meal.

Neither Restaurant was expensive and well worth the value for money 

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank june_delaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

My Husband and I held our wedding reception at the Heritage Hotel Portlaoise last month. We cannot praise the Hotel enough. From our very first meeting with the Heritage right up to our wedding day the hotel was fantastic – particularly Victor. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful day. It went so smoothly we couldn't believe it. The whole day was faultless. Nothing was ever too much trouble and anytime we contacted the hotel they always rang us back or replied to emails promptly.
The reception room looked amazing, the food was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Our wedding was all we hoped for and more, and we will definitely recommend the Heritage Hotel to friends and family in the future. Holding our wedding at the Heritage Hotel was definitely one of the best decisions we made.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your stay was dissappointing overall. Your comments have been taken on board and we will certainly review what happened that morning with regard to your breakfast. Please accept my apologies. If you would like to talk to me further about your stay I would be delighted to take your call. My contact details are 057 8671912.

Yours sincerely
Jerry Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

We mistakingly booked this hotel instead of the Heritage hotel. Once we realised our mistake we decided to continue with our booking regardless. we were very dissapointed with what we experienced.

The rooms are musty smelling and old fashioned. not in keeping with the contemporary feel of the lobby and restaurants. they are badly in need of updating. the lobby almost lulls you into a false sense of security with its contemporary feel before you are hurtled back to reality once you step foot inside the bedroom door.

The gym and the pool however are fantastic, the gym equipment in particular is excellent. this aspect of the hotel is highly commendable.

Breakfast was ridiculous and infuriating. We arrived down at 9.40 and met a long queue waiting to go in. there were tables free but uncleaned inside, there was simply not enough staff on to meet the demand. we waited 15 mintues to be seated and were very empathetic to those who arrived after us! food was not being replenished, there was no fruit salad left and very little of the fry buffet was stocked. we ate a limited breafast. naturally people become frustrated which resulted in people waiting outside the soor tothe kitchen to catch a waiter/waitress (who were doing their best not to be caught!) to ask them to fill different food items. Needlessto say it took a while for us to be able to catch someone for a cup of tea. then the most ridiculous aspect of all, once it hit 10 o clock on the head they began to rapidly pack away all the food. despite the fact people hadnt been seated due to lack of staffing, they wer now not able to get any food. it was farcical!

please dont make the same mistake in booking the heritage portloise instead of the heritage as we did, and if you do please dont err on the side of optomism and proceed with your booking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tippitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your stay was dissappointing overall. Your comments have been taken on board and we will certainly review what happened that morning with regard to your breakfast. Please accept my apologies. If you would like to talk to me further about your stay I would be delighted to take your call. My contact details are 057 8671912.

Yours sincerely
Jerry Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork city
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

we stayed here on bank holiday weekend for ireland karaoke finals. great hotel, friendly staff, centre of town@ would highly recomend it. also the food was very nice.... definetly book here if your staying in portlaois...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nefretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay over the Bank Holiday Weekend and enjoyed the terrific buzz of The All Ireland Karoke Finals. Thank you for complimenting us on our location, our food and the friendliness of the staff. It is great to recieve such positive feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel and experience more of what Co Laois has to offer.
Sincerest Regards
Jerry Russell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portlaoise Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Property: Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Radiance Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing