We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed in this hotel on a ladies weekend, totalled relaxed, the staff are very friendly and helpful, food in both restaurants was excellent, spa treatments were just what i needed, would recommend this hotel to friends, wanted to book for my fifty, but to my disappointment it was unavailable, that tells you how popular it is.

Connie, Dublin

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinlass10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed in the Heritage in Portlaoise for a conference this year. The bedrooms were clean and had everything you would ever need. The hotel has 3 restuarant and it's a hard call to choose between the Steakhouse and the Italian bistro, Spago's. We ate in Spagos that nightabs I've eaten in this restaurant many times. The staff are excellent with the restaurant manager, Joseph being hugely attentive, professional and warm. The minute you sit down, a warm selection of italian breads, olives and dipping oils are left on your table- we were not chargedfor this.
The dinner was excellent too with the potatoe wedges and pizza being extremely tasty and hearty! I love their garlic mayodip!
Dessert has to be tried-snickers cake, which the managertold us was glutenfree too!
I will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlisalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoy your experience in Spagos so much and that the service and food served were to your liking. Joseph and his team will be delighted to read your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerest Regards
Jerry Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

On making the reservation via a website search, we inadvertently booked the wrong hotel. We were looking to book the Heritage in Killenard! However, having made the reservation for The Heritage in Portlaoise town we decided to proceed with the booking.

We booked 2 double rooms for a 3 night stay. On arrival the receptionist advised that she only had one room for our booking. I showed her our email confirmation of bookings and the matter was rectified without too much delay.

The rooms were fine, nothing special.

The manageress barely acknowledged us has we waited to be seated for breakfast. The breakfast served was average. Again somebody arrived with the tea/coffee we had finished eating. The 2 pop up toasters took 20 mins to simply toast plain bread. They really should invest in a new appropriate toaster.

We had dinner in their Kelly's Foundary Restaurant. Again the food was average and a bit limited in terms of what was served with the main course. The staff & manager seemed to be rushing about alot but not actually providing the basic customer service, i.e checking to see if everything was ok and if more drinks were needed etc. We had tried to eat their the previous night but the manager seemed to be in a bit of a flap and sent us down the road to O'Loughlins Hotel. O'Loughlins Hotel was also very busy but the owner welcomed us and found us a seat and advised what food/specials were still available. Kelly's Foundary could learn alot about customer service from the family run O'Loughlins Hotel.

The bar was quiet at night with no entertainment. Maybe this is standard for midweek.

It appeared to be very busy with conferences with attendees smoking in numbers outside the front door. The sight of numerous cigarette butts strewn on the ground was unsightly, especially given that they were left unswept from lunchtime right through until the evening.

On the plus side the leisure facilties were excellent with friendly staff and we enjoyed the use of the swimming pool.

Overall, not bad but there is a lot better out there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have never stayed in the Heritage Hotel but am a frequent diner in both Spagos Restaurant and Kellys Foundry. I would HIGHLY recommend both. The food is excellent quality and presented very well on the plate and on top of that its great value! The staff couldnt be more helpful or nice, they are so friendly, especially in Spagos where I dine more frequently. The atmosphere in both restaurants is great, Spagos is like being transported to Italy with the fabulous decor and murals on the walls, you can have an imtimate evening with your partner or a great nite out with friends in there. Theres a great wine selection and in all the times I've dined there I've never had a problem or had any reason to complain. I've recommended both restaurants to friends and family alike and will continue to do so. I've attended weddings in the Heritage Hotel which definitly lives up to its great reputation, everything has been flawless and both Mollys Bar and Dan Keanes are great pubs, with Mollys regularly having great live music.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pobgrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryRussell, General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear customer

Thank you for all your compliments about Kellys Foundry Steakhouse and Spagos Italian Restaurant along with our Bars. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your experiences of dining in both restaurants and drinking in our bars. The service teams and managers will be delighted to read your comments and we will endeavour to keep changing and improving our product going forward.

Sincerest Regards
Jerry Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Hi just back today from a 3 day break at this hotel and i have to say we had such a great time .From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were soooooo lovely ,its very hard now a day's to find friendly and helpful staff that would stand on there head's for you .The hotel its self is huge and very well planed out ,You are right in the center of the town too ,we had our car with us but we didn't need to use it once. I would go back here again,oh forgot to sat we ate in the hotel's steakhouse and the food was very nice too :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenkearney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering excellent standards in quality and service to all our guests and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future to experience more of what Portlaoise has to offer.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Booked this hotel through an external website and got a cheap rate. We arrived at the reception and were 'greeted' by a not so friendly reception staff member who couldn't be bother to say hello or welcome. She just asked for my name and we felt like we were just another passing customer who she couldn't care less about.
We asked about making a reservation in the hotels steak house, she called and we were advised we had to be over there in 10mins to get a table. The entire time we had dinner, there were tables free so im not sure why there was such an urgency to rush us to check in and get ready. The Restaurant was over priced and our steaks were over cooked for what we asked for. when we said this to the waitress, her reply was simply 'OH' and she walked off and didn't return to our table.
The room was very grubby and outdated. It did not reflect on the lobby and the front of the building. TV in the room didn't work at all. Overall i will not recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys comfort and good service and food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hidamoc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and for your remarks. I was disappointed to read of your unsatisfactory stay and I would like to apologise for the shortcomings in service you experienced.

I can assure you we have addressed the service issues you have raised and would like to thank you for your feedback.

If you would like to speak with me directly regarding your experience please do not hesitate to contact me.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Myself and a group of friends booked a spa treatments at Ealu, followed by the early bird dinner at Spago Italian Bistro. The spa is well run - great staff and spotless. The offer a great range of treatments and are reasonibly priced. The early bird dinner offered a good range of choices for each course. It was tasty and you didn't go home hungry.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageHotel, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in both Spago's Italian Bistro and Ealu Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O'Brien
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
189 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
197 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Address: 20 Jessop Street, Portlaoise R32 DT04, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £63 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing