We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Cafe & Restaurant”
Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A taste of real home cooking and premium coffee (3fe) is on offer at The Pantry where every single menu item is prepared in our own kitchen by a small team of enthusiastic foodies. In addition to a wide range of fresh salads, customers enjoy savoury tartlets, frittatas, quiches, roulades, ciabattas, wraps, paninis, open sandwiches as well as hot lunch daily specials. Tasty gluten free preference catered for. Wellknown for outstanding home-baked pastries and cakes, this is a fulltime owner operated neighborhood eaterie where a warm welcome and friendly, efficient customer service is guaranteed. Did I mention that we also serve REALLY great coffee :)
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We Stopped off in Portlaoise for a coffee and some local people recommended this Restaurant.
It is beautifully kept with delicious desserts which the owner informed us were all homemade on the premises.
Portions are generous and an offer to top up our quaint cups was offered on two occasions.
These folks are doing everything correctly, including the price.
Its a little gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Rosfly,

Kind of you to take time to post your review and we're grateful for the lovely recommendation. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for The Pantry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Took a detour off M7 at Portlaoise to refuel myself and found the Pantry on the main street. Got the jammer parked nearby and after a warm welcome sat down to a hearty salad. Took away some baking for the relations and a top coffee for the road. Everything is prepared on the premises from scratch they told me, certainly tasted that way. Beautiful old fireplace out the back. Didnt realise service of this kind was still on the go in Ireland! Definitely making this my journey breaker in future! So much choice.. Perhaps a few menu suggestions for the lazy would be nice?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beastie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Beastie14

Delighted that you appreciated some Pantry style home cooking on a recent visit to Portlaoise. Perhaps by the next time you drop in, you will notice our brand NEW menu boards which are currently in design but will be in place by month end. They feature a range of breakfast / sambo / savoury menu descriptions along with our various specials (which change daily) to make menu selection a little easier... as you rightly suggest. Look forward to serving you again soon and thanks - your kind comments have been duly passed to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Called in for just a cup of coffee and was amazed to find such high quality home made food from probably the friendliest, most helpful people we have met during our week in Ireland. The panini I had was so tasty, my wife's frittata was excellent and were followed by stunning home made cakes. And we only called in for a coffee!!!
After mentioning that our friends were trying to buy a bottle of Celtic Crossing liqueur one of the assistants (maybe the owner) rang both the local off license and supermarket to see if they had any. When they didn't she then looked into it some more and informed where we could buy this in Dublin!
Helping a tourist with no personal gain for themselves is what helps make the people of this country so unique. A great end to a great weeks touring in Ireland.
So if you are anywhere near Portlaoise drop in at the The Pantry you won't be disappointed.

1  Thank GrandOldDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Grand Old Duke,

So pleased you enjoyed your recent trip to Ireland and we were delighted that you had the opportunity to call in to visit us at The Pantry. Hope you had enough time to (sample...) and collect your purchases en route home. Most appreciative of your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good food, dessert menu is so tempting but a bit pricey. Not in a great location and can be difficult to find. Despite this, it has been busy on the two occasions I have been there. Seats very close together and can give an air of being cramped.

Thank Mermaid0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Mermaid0072014

Thank you for your kind review and acknowledgement of good food at the Pantry. Surprised that our location at the very top of main street on market square (with parking directly opposite) proved difficult to find. All desserts are home made and priced from 1.50 to 3.95 which we'd feel offers genuine value and good choice. We hope that with the addition of our brand new extended seating area that you will enjoy added comfort and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Whilst travelling through Portlaoise recently we drove past this place at lunchtime. It looked nice from the outside so I took he next right and found a parking spot. We had a lovely lunch here and their food was really fresh. My work colleague had great soup and I had a great salad. All the food looked great and the staff were really nice and friendly. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank estateagentkildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladonna M, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear EstateAgentKildare

It's great that you were tempted to join us on passing by recently. Each item on the Pantry menu is made on the premises by an enthusiastic team in our kitchen and so we are delighted to have brought you 'A little taste of home' during your visit. Thank you sincerely for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing