We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tynan's

Tynan's
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As my pet hate is unsupervised children running around restaurants and ignored screaming babies, I loved the sign on the door welcoming well behaved, properly supervised children and parents. It has a lovely atmosphere, very peaceful and relaxed, the staff are friendly, the food delicious, prices very reasonable and the surroundings lovely and quirky. My toddler loves looking at all the antiques as you walk in, loves the food and has enjoyed every visit there. They have high chairs for young children and are child friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emcannhne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive and not family friendly”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Leave the buggy and baby at home!!!
Though the Store Yard is a fantastic setting for a restaurant/cafe I'm afraid Tynans let's it down. As with it's predecessor in the town the food is good but over priced. The service, as before, is efficient but 'cold'......their toilet facilities are some what chilly too!!! Having gone there for lunch with my 6month old to meet a friend I can safely say I won't be going back. I expected the over priced food but not the lack of baby changing facilities. I was pointed in the direction of the disabled toilet, nothing unusual there. The changing table was actually a marble top old style hall table (I'm sure I've got this description wrong, not too well up on my 'antiques'!!) anyway, it was totally unsuitable, cold, hard and not at all safe.
The staff, though obliging enough to bring coffee etc down to my table, gave the impression that they had far more important things to be doing than assisting a Mum with her hands full, despite the fact it wasn't busy as I had the good sense to get in before 1o'clock.
Though Portlaoise is limited in good places to eat with a good selection of home made food, which is all Tynans has going for it, I'd have to decline any future lunch dates here.
If,however, you're looking for somewhere nice for a coffee, I'd say it's worth a vist purely for the Strore Yard alone (the coffee us ok but again overpriced for what you get!!) You'll be made to feel welcome in the Store Yard even if you're just browsing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DDkildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality food in interesting setting”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

There is a wonderful consistency to the food here. The soups are always delicious the desserts a total treat and the main courses sustaining and so appetising. Many locals eat here frequently which is always a great sign
Its position mid a selection of curios and antiques is just so interesting. Imelda and her staff are very pleasant and the place is cosy .Friends meet here and there is no pressure time wise to move on.There is good parking outside.
It is closed on mondays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philjos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delighted to find a Tynan's restaurant again”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Its difficult to categorise this eating place. Its not really a restaurant, not just a cafe and not a bistro. Its fast becoming a new Portlaoise institution, however. Located in the middle of an amazing antique and architectural salvage warehouse called The Store Yard, this is a deceptively intimate place with hot food 'carvery style' plates at one end of the long counter and a delicious cold food/salad bar at the other, while delicious yummy desserts are waiting for afters. Generous helpings, good quality ingredients, lovely staff and a nice ambience make this a lovely lunch experience. You can eat really well here and it won't break the bank. Perfect for long leisurely lunchtime chats.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, charming location”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

The last place you might expect to find a restaurant, nestled in the middle of an antiques warehouse, but that just adds to its charm! Imelda and her staff produce high quality, home cooked food every day - expect to fight for a table at lunchtimes as locals fill the seats quickly!! Staff and customers greet each other by name. This is one of Portlaoise's hidden gems but once you find it you'll keep coming back for more!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainbow_ladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tynan's also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Tynan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing