We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Pub with Decent Food”
Review of O'Gormans

O'Gormans
Ranked #15 of 52 Restaurants in Portlaoise
Cuisines: Irish, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub with Decent Food”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Ate with friends. Staff could not have been better. Food was decent pub grub, not fancy, but all well done and good portion sizes. Enjoyed the After Eight ice cream dessert as well. Racing on the TV, good atmosphere and a decent mix of people, families, a group of ladies enjoying dinner, a couple of locals propping up the bar, all seemed welcome and all looked to be enjoying themselves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    8
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Ordered the sea bass and my mother ordered the cod. To say we were both bitterly disappointed would be the understatement of the year. My fish was over cooked, tasteless and of a rubber texture; the potatoes were uneatable and the side of veg was mush. The cod was served on a plate that seemed to have a pool of water on it. Both plates of food were untouched as the food could only be described as "disgusting". The staff however are very friendly and the atmosphere is lovely. I really think they need a new chef as the standard of food was a lot higher before. That's the last time ill eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent Thai food can't reccommend the Thai menu more. The staff are always lovely and very helpful. Excellent athmosphere. My favourite restaurant in Laois

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sashafierce87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value Pub Grub”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

O'Gormans is always a reliable place to go to if you are looking for a tasty pub meal and you want to have a good variety of choice from the menu.
You will always get good bang for your buck and good service here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Playactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“poor quality of food”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

recently myself and my husband had an evening meal at o gormans.While it was busy on the night the service was good.I ordered a sizzling beef. When it arrived it didnt sizzle on the hot plate as it should. The flavour was not good and the meat in it tasted like boiled beef. I was very dissapointed with it and was trying to get the attention of the waitress but they were very busy.So i resorted to leaving it there and paying. I mentioned it while paying and was told the manager would ring me about it.Much to my disappoinment he didnt, I havent been in there since and dont think i will be either. We did have some nice meals their before but its not consistant there and the fact i never even got a phone call about the conplaint annoys me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Gormans also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to O'Gormans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing