We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”
Review of Ivyleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivyleigh House
Ranked #2 of 6 Portlaoise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is hidden gem. The hosts are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was comfortable and very clean. We slept very soundly in the comfortable bed. Finding it is easy, and there is parking at the rear of the hotel.
Breakfast was the best we have ever had! In particular, the Cashel Blue Cheese Cakes were just fantastic.
We were sorry to leave. Very good value for money and so superior to formulaic anonymous chain hotels. A great find for us!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
27
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Dinah & Gerry are the most congenial hosts. They both take pride in their beautifully appointed residence. They pay attention to the quality of service they provide. If you want an exceptional place to stay in hidden Ireland this is it. It is worth going there alone for the peace. The standard of breakfast is first class. I had to ask for the recipe for their poached plums.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyIssac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottosblotto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Fantastic, great stay, beautiful luxurious bedrooms. I can see why they won the Georgina Campbell guesthouse of the year 2011. From the moment we arrived we felt calm and relaxed knowing we were in a professionally run establishment. The attention to detail was amazing, the service was super – efficient yet kind and understanding. The breakfast was to die for (incidentally they were also the national winners for Best Breakfast 2011). The proprietors are very attentive & chatty yet respect your privacy & not overbearing.

It’s not by accident they won 3 awards this year – takes a lot of hard work, attention to detail & dedication to deliver such a great service.

Ideally situated if you are travelling down the country from the airport - helps break the journey. Also conveniently located to the train station (about 3 mins walk). Don;t worry you cannot hear any trains from the house.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottosblotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gos90, Owner at Ivyleigh House, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Dear Ottosblotto

Thank you for your kind comments. We were thrilled to win these three prestegious awards. It makes it all worthwhile when our guests can appreciate the effort and attention that we have put into our business in order that they can relax and appreciate the service we have to offer.
We hope you will both return again in the future with some friends. Once again thank you for your kind compliments and we do appreciate that you took the time to relay your experience in our Guesthouse.

Kind Regards
Dinah & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The owners made us feel very welcome when we arrived. They offered tips on local restaurants for dinner. Since it was a Monday evening & Portlaoise is a small town, there weren't many choices, however. Our breakfast was the nicest we had in Ireland & served in a beautiful dining room. The owner gave us directions to the ancient castle ruin outside of town (Dunamare), which was very interesting. She also gave us a great tip of where to have lunch at Cashel, When we left she gave my granddaughter a few rose buds from the 200-year-old rose bush by the front door, which Sophie cherished.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

This place is a Gem and very reasonably priced for what you get. What really impressed me about our nights stay was the comfort of the bed and the homemade breads and freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast! The house itself is also very beautifully decorated. Two minutes from train station and town centre it was very handy for us without a car. Definetly recommend this place for anyone wanting a taste of the best Ireland has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
422 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I have been staying at the Ivyleigh at least 12 times a year for the last seven years. I find the welcome always warm, the bedding and bed top quality and comfortable, ample hot water and thick towels, everything sparkling clean and the breakfast freshly cooked with the very best of ingredients.
I travel a lot internationally and would rate the Ivyleigh one of the most comfortable and quiet places stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We landed in Dublin and didn't want to drive too far on our first day. Portlaoise was the perfect town (located an hour from the airport). We found the Ivyleigh House without any problems and were simply delighted. The accommodations were very clean and the place is beautifully appointed. Jerry and his wife are wonderful hosts. Breakfast was wonderful in the beautifully decorated dining room. The day we arrived, Jerry gave us a terrific recommendation for lunch -- Jim's Country Kitchen (if my memory serves me) and the food and portions were great. We highly recommend the Ivyleigh House. The town is small, but wonderful for a walk to the pub or for lunch/dinner. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShebaM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
0.1 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivyleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivyleigh House

Property: Ivyleigh House
Address: Bank Place, Church Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ivyleigh House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ivyleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing