We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super place to stay.....”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We just came home from Ireland and spent 8 days at the Maldron Hotel off the M7. we traveled for horse biz ie Goffs sales. We loved our stay and were impressed with the kind and courteous help of Marie and the rest of her staff. It was clean big warm and a fabulous breakfast to boot. Driving on the other side of the road can be stressful so when you can get off the highway and be right at the hotel it sure is nice. Also for those who do not want to miss a gym workout they have that covered as well. So go enjoy and be warm.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevator and other side of freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMRKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear PMRKM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
I was deighted to read how you enjoyed your stay. We do indeed have excellent leisure facilities which are White Flag awarded & fully available to our guests.

PMRKM, thank you again & I look forward to return to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    195
    86
    51
    31
See reviews for
227
153
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We arrived lateish and was quickly booked in by a very lovely girl (sorry do not know her name, but is was late p.m. 25th September) and made to feel very welcome. This lass was also very honest, as my husband dropped money and she noticed and ran after us. The room was clean and comfortable. We went to the restaurant and was served by Mary, who did a good job being friendly while serving both tables and the bar. My husband later found that he could not open his case, again the girl on reception managed to contact a chap who cut the lock off. The breakfast was more than enough and again as in most restaurants in Ireland catered for my sister who is celiac. We have stayed in more salubrious hotels, and felt less welcome, the staff DEFINATELY help make this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated near motorway so can be a bit noisey, but I always carry earplugs and a mask no ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdm1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear KDM1946,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stop over with us.
I am very grateful for your kind acknowledgement of my colleagues here in the hotel. They work very hard to meet the individual needs of all of our guests in a friendly and professional manner.
I was also glad to read your comments on our menu. Our menus are designed to accommodate all special dietary requirements.

KDM 1946, I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise in the near future.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I echo all the other positive comments on the hotel, the staff, taxi organisation relating to our stay for Electric Picnic 2012 - the staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. hope to make it back again next year ! Thanks !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiverz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Shiverz_12

It was lovely to read your review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. Glad to read that you enjoyed the Electric picnic weekend.
We look forward to welcome you back for the festival in 2013!

Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My wife and I decided this year to spoil ourselves for the Electric Picnic , and to stay in a hotel rather than camp on site . We chose the Maldron in Portlaoise on the advice of a work colleague who had stayed there for a previous EP , and we weren't disappointed . We stayed for 4 nights , from Thursday to Monday . On the Thursday night , we dined in the hotel restaurant . Their Thai curry is to die for , best we've both had in ages . Room was really comfortable , was worried about potential noise from fellow festival goers arriving back late , but we heard nothing and both slept like babes for the 4 nights . The taxi service organised by the hotel to transfer us to and from Stradbally was excellent and reasonable . Staff throughout the hotel were pleasant and friendly all during our stay .
We will definitely be booking The Maldron again for EP2013 !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noellysull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Noellysull,

Im delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay over Electric Picnic and I look forward to your return in 2013!

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed here in a Monday night to meet up with some friends. The room we had was spacious and clean. The pool area and changing rooms were very clean. Also the waitress we had for our dinner was very friendly and gad great knowledge of the menu. The food court next door was also very convenient. Overall a very pleasant stay which was excellent value (€57 between three of us!!)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear ClaireMarie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
The excellent facilities we have in our hotel including STIR Restaurant and our location make us an ideal meeting point for both business & leisure!

ClaireMarie, I hope you will return to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise again some day soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

three of us girls enjoyed a triple room in the maldron while attending electric picnic. the staff were very obliging and the local taxi service which hotel provided worked a treat each day and night avoiding traffic jams and giving us a comfy bed each night.the leisure centre was spotless and the staff were constantly checking temperature and cleanliness.all the staff seems to enjoy their working envirnoment and we would defintely return in the future,we did not do breakfast there but the food court located next door has fantastic selection of food and beverages.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Anneoregan,

I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay with us over the Electric Picnic weekend. Our shuttle bus service has been operating for a number of years now and is very succesful. It is operated by a local taxi company and they always ensure that they extend the guest care levels we aim to provide in our hotel, when our guests travel with them.

Anne, I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise for Electric picnic 2013!

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Myself, my husband and two other couples stayed here for Electric Picnic 2012. Hotel was in great location for this. Very well organised for EP goers too; management had arranged for a local taxi company to ferry people to and fro to Stradbally (for a fee of course), and provided welly covers at the entrance for tthe return from the muddy field. Would definitely stay there again for EP. Very clean and nice big rooms. Good hearty breaksfast too that set us up for another day at the Picnic! Wasnt good value since it was EP weekend but the normal prices seem like good value.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the motorway, very noisy but on a hot night we had to have the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_K100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear C_K100,

Thank you for reviewing your stay during the Electric Picnic weekend and indeed for your compliments regarding our hotel, Guest Care & Cleanliness are extremely important to us and our team in the hotel aim to maintain & exceed the very high standards we have achieved.

I hope to welcome back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise for Electric Picnic in 2013.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing