We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one nite stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The rooms were very clean and spaceious . The bed was comfortable. everything we needed was at hand . We had a lovely breakfast next morning and the staff very helpful and friendly .We did not use the spa so i did not rate it . We had a a lovely stay .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizrothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Liz,

We are delighted to read your review of your recent stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise in the near future.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just back from the Maldron (4th time this year) and what can I say? It's got even better!
Even though Tom and Mary weren't there this weekend to look after us (aaahhh) we still had the incredible Linda (take a bow girl you are wonderful) and the delightful Renate to ensure our stay went perfectly. It might not seem like rocket science to get the basics right (rooms cleaned promptly, everyone's meals served together, leisure club and pool area spotless,food and drinks served as you ordered them (thanks again Linda) but if it is that easy, why can''t everyone do it?
Add in a few extras like breakfast served until 11.00 am, one hour free bowling and free movies at night for the kids and you have a great weekend break- only a hour from Dublin! Can't wait to get back again.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need. The staff are generally excellent. quiet room no smoking -ok. room near eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulo365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Paulo365,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us and for your excellent comments about our restaurant team.

Our aim is always to provide 4 star service at a 3 star cost to our guest.

Paulo365, we look forward to your next visit in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

this was our 2nd trip with an 8 year old child. Portlaoise is a busy spot and the Car Show was on in the town. We stayed 2 nights and the staff make this hotel. The bar could be bigger or atleast be interchangable with the dinner/breakfast area. It would make the night time more pleasurable. The leisure facilties are excellent and a welcome start to the day. Overall very good value for money food wise and accomodate and the location. Many thanks to Donna and Tara on reception for the local knowledge and information on what to do and where to go. Beds were of high quality and plenty of wardrobe/storage space. Just one issue with the TV, only a portable size and didn't fit the room, found myself squinted at one stage. Please update the TV's from portable when in a family room. Will be back. There is also a very good kennel/cattery in Ballybrittas where we left our cat. Brockhill Boarding kennels in Ballybrittas and Sinead will look after your pets while you have a rest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanMarLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear SanMarLar,

Thank you for your reviewing our hotel and indeed commenting on the kind efforts of our receptionists Tara & Donna.
We have a lovely local team here in the hotel and they are always willing to share their wide knowledge of local areas and amenities to enchance the stay of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Professional friendly staff. We really enjoyed our experience here.
However, the rooms a little bit dated but very clean.
The hotel is right in the heart of the town.
It was a really cold weekend and the room were warm and cosy.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monkfish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Monkfish33,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team.

I am concerned regarding your comments on our bedrooms, as the hotel is only open for a short number of years, and our guests generally feel they are quite contemporary in style.
We are indeed only a few minutes drive from Portlaoise town centre, and have an excellent taxi service available to facilitate our guests who wish to travel into town.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Bedroom was spacious and spotless with a very comfortable bed. Lots of space and hangers in the wardrobe to tidy-away our clothes. Lots of Towels , soap etc in Bathroom and a good working shower.
A very generous nicely cooked Irish breakfast which was very tasty.(Splendid cooked rashers without that awful white froth which destroys the flavour) Plenty of fruit available and various cereals, and juices. Brown bread, toast etc with Tea and Coffee. Great value and would definitely go back again. It's also convenient to Abbeyleix and Durrow by car...close to the lovely countryside

Room Tip: We had room 302 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret0548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Margaret0548,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I am delighted with your comments reflecting how professional our team is. They work very hard to ensure all of our guests are extremely well looked after. Our breakfast runs until at 11am during the weekends and we try to ensure that we provide as much variety as possible.

Indeed our excellent location allows easy access to all amenieties in Laois and surrounding areas.

Margaret0548, I hope you will return to us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just back from weekend in your lovely hotel. I thought it was a very modern hotel with very warm and cosy rooms. Everywhere was spotless and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and served up to 11am which is very reasonable. The only issue was the bar area which was very small and was in the same place as the dining area where you had your meals. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and thought it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor for convenience to pool and reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank maria o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Maria O,

Thank you for reviewing your bank holiday stay with us here in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Our hotel is only 6 years old and we maintain it to very high standards. We do feel our rooms are very modern, cosy, clean & spacious and I thank you for reflecting this in your review.

Maria O, I hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Kids delighted with pool and play room and option of a dvd night.
Room spacious and clean , spa facilities excellent.
Only issue was that a special dietary request was made on reservation however this was not facilitated at any meal requiring me to leave the hotel to purchase suitable food.

Room Tip: Would suggest avoiding an adjoining room when you have older children and strangers in next room hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WicklowMor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Wicklowmor69,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to read how your children enjoyed our playroom & other activities during the weekend.

I am disappointed & sorry to read that your special dietary requirements were not facilitated. We have done extensive work on our menus practically & on print as well training our team to ensure we cater for all requirements. I will certainly convey your comments to our F & B team to review this further.

Wicklowmor69, I hope you will return to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise again soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
196 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,959 reviews
18.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing