We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have seen this hotel from a local point of view having a small family birthday and also a girlie weekend away, the facilities are great, the beds comfortable and the food good and all at a very good rate. The staff are lovely and really helpful - I can definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and that all the team here were lovely and very helpful. It is wonderful that you and your guest enjoyed our offering in Stir restaurant. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a great Hotel! The staff are warm and friendly, from Miaread at the desk to Tom and Anna in the restaurant and Bruno the manager... Made the stay an excellent one. Clean fresh rooms, great location and excellent value for money... will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that all the team here were very helpful. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise on your next trip to the Midlands.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a group of other families mid October. Atmosphere is lively yet pleasant with bar and restaurant combined hense the lively atmosphere. The food is lovely , staff very pleasant yet effecient. Rooms are clean and very comfortable . Breakfast in morning is lovely with freshly cooked food always available . Outside appearance is a little bland and hides a lovely hotel inside

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NBOYLE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise
Warm regards,

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed here many times when travelling north to south and vice versa and never had a bad experience. However on my last stay there were a couple of glitches. The important thing was they were sorted out by the very helpful staff with the minimum of fuss. Things can go wrong in the best of places but the sign of great service is how the problem is dealt with.
The hotel is very well located for travellers and has spacious, well-appointed and quiet rooms with free WiFi throughout Breakfast is very good with a free newspaper thrown in. What more could you ask for? No doubt I will be back again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little road noise, ask for a room facing the motorway. The other side is tec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Dash

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Ireland

Warm regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

stayed here on Saturday night and could not rate it highly enough. From the time you walk into reception till you leave all staff are friendly, helpful and make you feel very welcome. Rooms are very spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catrionaglennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Caitriona

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Ireland
Warm regards,

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed in the Maldron on Friday the 11th of October on route to a wedding in Caven. I was impressed by the standard of the room which was very comfortable Nd more than adequate for our one night stay. The staff were very friendly in both the reception and the bar/restaurent. The food was very good value and the service was excellent. All in all very good value at a reasonable price, I would have no problem returning to the hotel in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Kieran,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise

Warm regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancée and I have been visiting Ireland since September 19. After staying in many hotels around the country, we found ourselves at the Maldron in Portlaiose, where we both got tattoo work done. We had an excellent stay two nights in a row. Clean rooms, excellent dinner/bar experience, helpful front desk staff and just an all around good nights sleep. We continued on our travels, but while in Galway/Sligo my fiancée became ill with a cold, and wanted to have a nice stay in a hotel...having such a nice stay those first two nights we chose to travel 1 1/2 hours back to the Maldron here. Checking in late we passed out right away. When we awoke we noticed a few issues regarding cleanliness. Unfortunately the cleaning staff were no help HOWEVER as soon as the issue was brought up to front desk, management went ABOVE AND BEYOND to make us happy. Therefore I had no choice but to leave them a shining review.

Some reviewers here are saying the location is not good. This may be true if your on foot and uncomfortable with the public transportation, but if you have a car you can reach the town center without directions (its that easy and well posted) in less than 2 min. And keep in mind a town center hotel would be at least double the price. I'd rather stay 2 min away and pay less!

Others say the 'view' out the windows are lacking. Well I suppose that's true but you cannot hear noise from outside, and the sun shines every morning. The windows open a bit for fresh air. And on that note in my home town of Sudbury, I can't think of one hotel with a 'view'. Sometimes there just isn't one!

THE BAR DOES SERVE COCKTAILS contrary to what a past review said. I was staying here the same time as this review. Drinks are priced well, pints as cheap as €3.

No entertainment but this isn't a party spot it's a quiet moterway hotel. As I said night life is just a quick drive or a cheap taxi ride away.

All in all we would seriously consider staying here again next time were in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthickeysudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Ireland
Warm regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
699 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing