We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A big let down!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My family and I (all 34 of us) were very disappointed with our stay here for our get together. First we missed the entrance for the hotel as the sign was in among many others and not very clear. Over all the staff were very helpful to the best of their abilities (some were obviously inexperienced),

Rooms clean and comfortable but the wifi didn't work anywhere in the hotel even though our devices were picking it up.

The wrong info was given at the time of booking of a spa treatment deal with our booking.

The overall building just lacked warmth and comfort, The layout of the reception area seemed an after thought, small, cold and directly in front of the entrance door and the bar/ restaurant/ breakfast area was all the same room.

We sat down to our meal on 2 long wooden tables isolated from half the group with no linens or table cloths. This I would have put up with as the food was nice but as we moved to the bar section of the room (feet away and which we filled up) we were disappointed to discover there was no entertainment provided. It was a Saturday night! Then to discover there was no selection of special drinks i.e. cocktails or shots available either. This all topped of by the bar man informing us that the bar is now closing and if we would like to continue our drinks we would have to sit in reception area, order off the night porter who would then bring us our drinks. This happened at no later than 12!

It was safe to say we all had an early night and left the next day feeling sadly very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Mel

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you had hoped. Please be assured I will bring your feedback to the attention of our team here aiming to review our operations. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future, this would allow us the opportunity to show you the warm, professional hotel we strive to be.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    198
    86
    52
    31
See reviews for
229
154
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here in November for 3 nights while on business in Portlaoise.Lovely big clean room with spotless bathroom .Pool area was nice but there was a lot of other activities going on in pool , so made it awkward to enjoy relaxing swim.
overall a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Mick,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Laoise, Laois, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have seen this hotel from a local point of view having a small family birthday and also a girlie weekend away, the facilities are great, the beds comfortable and the food good and all at a very good rate. The staff are lovely and really helpful - I can definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and that all the team here were lovely and very helpful. It is wonderful that you and your guest enjoyed our offering in Stir restaurant. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a great Hotel! The staff are warm and friendly, from Miaread at the desk to Tom and Anna in the restaurant and Bruno the manager... Made the stay an excellent one. Clean fresh rooms, great location and excellent value for money... will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that all the team here were very helpful. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise on your next trip to the Midlands.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a group of other families mid October. Atmosphere is lively yet pleasant with bar and restaurant combined hense the lively atmosphere. The food is lovely , staff very pleasant yet effecient. Rooms are clean and very comfortable . Breakfast in morning is lovely with freshly cooked food always available . Outside appearance is a little bland and hides a lovely hotel inside

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NBOYLE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise
Warm regards,

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Antrim
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed here many times when travelling north to south and vice versa and never had a bad experience. However on my last stay there were a couple of glitches. The important thing was they were sorted out by the very helpful staff with the minimum of fuss. Things can go wrong in the best of places but the sign of great service is how the problem is dealt with.
The hotel is very well located for travellers and has spacious, well-appointed and quiet rooms with free WiFi throughout Breakfast is very good with a free newspaper thrown in. What more could you ask for? No doubt I will be back again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little road noise, ask for a room facing the motorway. The other side is tec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Dash

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Ireland

Warm regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

stayed here on Saturday night and could not rate it highly enough. From the time you walk into reception till you leave all staff are friendly, helpful and make you feel very welcome. Rooms are very spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catrionaglennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Caitriona

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Ireland
Warm regards,

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
668 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
265 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing