We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fine hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Stayed for one night at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. Check in was fast and efficient. Room was very spacious with a double and single bed. Both bedroom and bathroom were spotless. We had booked dinner for that evening and it was rather disappointing. Starters were fine but as we were eating them I could see our main course being kept warm under the lights with the result that both our meals were very dried out. But as we were starving we just ate and said nothing. Breakfast on the other hand was great. One of the most organised I have seen. Lots of cereals, juices, fruit, yogourts, tea, coffee, toast, rolls and of course the full irish! Great. All in all a fine hotel

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mary022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    191
    82
    45
    29
See reviews for
218
149
16
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We were looking for a clean, reasonably priced place for our family, and that's exactly what we got. As a nice bonus for our kids, this place had an indoor pool. The only place with a pool we were able to stay in our whole week in Ireland.

The staff was polite and helpful - we had no problems.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank somersCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

I stayed there last weekend with my girlfriend, and cannot speak more highly of the place.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us especially as we are new to travelling around Ireland.

The hotel is under a new manager and it shows. Great food although the bar is a bit grim.

Good value, and nice room, clean and comfortable, just like the name says, it does what it says on the tin.

  • Liked — room, clean comfortable
  • Disliked — location, don't much like the area, but we had to be there for a wedding.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

I never in my life have experienced anything as bad as my stay in this hotel. We arrived the place was locked up, we asked about parking and were told to take 3 right turns and we would find it, after 6 laps of the town we stiil couldnt find the car park so we asked a member of staff who told us to park in the heritage hotel car park it would be handier. Eventually got checked in and got to attend our function. On arriving back to the hotel that night we had to wait for between 5-10 mins to gain entry. Having rang the bell at least 5 times an ignorant, rude and stuck up bar man told us to be patient that he was too busy to answer the door to let us in. When we eventually got inside we realised that the bar was empty and that he was having his own drink and smoke out the back of the hotel. The rooms were not great either very small and not much room to walk aroung. However the morning staff were very pleasant but my recommendation is if anyone is going to portlaoise avoid this hotel and pay the extra few euro to stay in quality and friendliness of the heritage hotel. The parking is free here and the car park does exist.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

Spent two nights in this fantastic and modern hotel. The staff were super friendly, the hotel room was clean and comfortable and the location is perfect. Just off the M50, about an hour from Dublin we had no problems finding the place. It's situated in a complex along with some food outlets and the leisure center. Nearby is the excellent portlaoise golf course and the town center with plenty to do.

The restaurant attached was quite simply the finest food I've had in a long time (have the salmon!) The value for money in this hotel is quite exceptional and I can't recommend staying here enough.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — slow internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ConorMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

Fantastic hotel. Really nice receptionist. The rooms are class and have a dvd player in the room. Great leisure facilities lots of parking located just off the motorway. 1 Hour from dublin. Has O'briens sandwich bar as well as it's own restaurant. Lots of choice and fantastic showers in the wc. Excellent rates.

  • Liked — The pool and the rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCorduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

Stayed here last weekend hotel is lovely modern and clean but it lacks any feeling or atmosphere!!Spa facilites where lovely and clean cant complain about them.
Also we booked with an axa voucher which included 2nights b&b and one dinner we wer given a different menu to others because it was included in our stay which is nonsense as we only received €24 off our stay becuase of the voucher.The food in the restauraunt was lovely but the restaurant is a bit all over the place as its a bar and restaurant in one not very intimate or relaxing!!
Also the breakfast was nice but limited cereal,natural yogurt,orange juice and a cooked breakfast no different juices yogurts pasteries or croissonts.
I wouldnt rush back.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gracilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
9.4 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing