We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So welcoming and helpful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Naas, Ireland
1 review
“So welcoming and helpful!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Maldron recently as part of a group, and I must say I was extremely impressed with the standard of service. The staff were so accommodating and the food was excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean and the leisure centre was just what I needed after a long days work! I would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TomCan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Tom,

Thank you very much for your review, I passed your kind words to our staff. Everybody was so happy with feedback.
They ask me to let you know that everybody really enjoyed to have your group with us.

Kind regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    194
    85
    50
    29
See reviews for
224
152
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here for a conference a few weeks ago and there is not ome thing I could fault about this hotel. Extremely helpful, friendly staff that went out of their way to feed me when the kitchen was closed. The pool and sauna were well maintained and really added to the experience

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red8393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Red,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We really appreciated your feedback. It was a pleasure to have your conference in the hotel.

Kind regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

we had a one night stay here, husband had a meeting in Portlaoise and me and kiddies came along for the night. The receptionists at both check in and check out could not have been more friendly, helpful or efficient, I am just sorry I didn` t get their names to acknowledge it here. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package, dinner for an extra tenner each was super, breakfast was perfect and the swimming pool was lovely.Our family room was spacious, clean and very comfortable and we didn't hear a peep out in the corridor all night
visited a few historical sights in the local area, the Timohea round tower dating from the 12th century is just minutes away and is a wonderful thing to see

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. We mentioned your review on our last staff meeting and everybody was delighted with your feedback.

Kind regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We received great service, the staff were kind and understanding, and the leisure facilities I found particularly enjoyable. The restaurant was also of a very high. A great stay all round! I would recommend the maldron for anyone planning on visiting the area!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Rita,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We at the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise are looking forward to see you again soon.

Regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was here with a group and everybody working at the hotel was so helpful and accommodated all of our needs. The food was delicious and it was lovely to have the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room to relax in. The rooms were lovely and spacious as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie7285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Sophie,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we really appreciated your feedback.

Regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Really friendly staff, great rooms, good food and a very convenient location in a complex of shops and restaurants just outside of Portlaoise town. Also a very good leisure centre with a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and pool

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjM1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here in a family room for three nights. The place was spotlessly clean and the gym and pool were both excellent despite the need to wear a swimming hat. Seems a bit daft when I have much more hair on my body than my baldy head! We ate one meal in the linked Restaurant and to be fair it was much better than you may expect in a conference type hotel. The breakfast choice is varied and was good quality. The Maldron is situated on the edge of Portlaoise and requires a short drive into the old town. We have family nearby and will use this place again. We got a deal which included an hours bowling in a nearby bowling ally which was also great value.
In summary: really good

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing