We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and gluten free options available .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very accommodating and gluten free options available .”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here for June bank holiday weekend as part of the rosé of Tralee regionals . I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful . The food was perfect and majority off their food was gluten free

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Amanda,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It was a pleasure to have the Roses of Tralee in our hotel.

All the Maldron Hotel Portloaise team were so happy to have you girls around.

Regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    200
    89
    53
    31
See reviews for
231
162
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here last Friday night for one night and was very impressed by all the staff and attentive service. Receptionist was very friendly and informative and our room was very clean and comfortable. Had dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent, very tasty and portions very big, hadn't room for dessert. It was a busy restaurant and dispite this the service was friendly, efficient and warm. Had a great nights sleep and great freshly cooked breakfast before we set off the next morning. Love the massage chair in the lobby, just the trick after a long days drive. would definalty recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sligo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

An absolute joy to stay here, beautiful rooms, welcoming staff and superb service. The food was lovely and meals were more than satisfying. Great central location and plenty to do in the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenkm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardara, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family and I had the pleasure of staying in the Maldron Hotel for the Rose of Tralee Regional Finals. The rooms were clean , warm, spacious and very comfortable. As my Mum who is elderly was staying with us we were given rooms close together and close to the lifts. The food was excellent.. The Manager and staff were wonderful so kind friendly and helpful. This is a wonderful hotel to stay in and I would highly recommend it to anyone. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet and peaceful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfriel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had the pleasure of experiencing the Maldron Hotel as part of the Rose of Tralee Regional Finals. The rooms were lovely and spacious and clean. They were extremely accommodating, excellent staff, delicious food. this was my second stay with them and i will say again. Well worth the stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was so accommodating and very friendly. The food that was served in the restaurant was so good and the manager would do anything to please the guests. I really enjoyed my time there and would choose to stay at this hotel the next time I go to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbydancer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for one night in the Maldon Hotel Portlaoise recently. This hotel is in an excellent location just off the motorway. The friendly receptionist was excellent, explaining all the facilities on offer and what the local area had to offer. Her directions and suggestions were spot on! Our room was spacious, spotless and quiet as we had requested. Food was excellent and overall the hotel was great value. The pool and leisure centre were well maintained and again staff were friendly and obliging.We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request one that ends in an even number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 507_Hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
689 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
179 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
181 reviews
14.2 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing