We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay in the Maldron with our 3 children.The room was good and spacious and immaculate.The staff where fantastic and so helpful and friendly. The kids loved the massive pool.Breakfast was lovely and the food of high quality. An evening meal in the restaurant is highly recommended. The kids didn't want to leave . We'll definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ciara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel seemed understaffed, but the 2 staff on reception were attentive and doing their best. Room was very very disappointing regarding noise from outside and from adjoining room. No telephone in room that I could find, therefore unable to access room service. On the plus side, the room WAS sparkling clean. No dust evident anywhere. Bed linen spotless but not enough pillows'. A telephone for room service would be an excellent improvement, some biscuits' on the tea/coffee facility provided would also help, and definitely an extra pair of pillows' is a must. Perhaps hotel could have some policy regarding loud guests and tv's after 2 am ? Attention to a few of the above points would greatly enhance ones stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask if rooms to the rear of the hotel might be quieter ? Also check if ut is possible to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A very comfortable/clean hotel with great facilities. Staff were very helpful and efficient across all areas of the hotel. The bar and restaurant was really good value with really good food/service. Overall my wife and I had a thoroughly relaxing weekend and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drjaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice hotel with helpful and pleasant staff,would highly recommend this hotel and we will be staying again.Thanks to all.Very easy to access from the motorway all services that you need at your fingertips.Only a couple of minutes out of Portlaoise town centre

Room Tip: Easy access from motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We Arrived Friday evening and was greeted by Patrick who swiftly directed us to our rooms. Which was super and comfortable . Patrick worked hard to accommodate all the guests. We ate in a super restaurant with staff that couldn't do enough for us . Both male and female chefs were brilliant with six of us four kids included, They were able to look after every need we had. They never but had a smile on their faces. The reception staff told us of many things that were happening in the area . The steam rally. The Bowl and Roll which was brilliant. The swimming pool was another big hit. Along with the games room. Free wifi was most welcome as well.. We ended our visit by going to the Zoo . We are all looking forward to another return journey like we did this year to the Maldron hotel in Portlaoise . Thank you from Patricia .Moynihan and a;; the family.

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PatriciaM123457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Will never stay here again.does not feel like a hotel whatsoever. Most sterile hotel I have ever stayed in. Guy on reception is like a robot and staff in restaurant/ bar look like they just don't want to be there. Pool is nice and room was good. Seats in reception and bar feel like your waiting for a job interview. Not comfortable at all!!
Breakfast was a disaster. It finishes at 10. We got down at 9.30 and had a 10min queue for hot food which was dealt out by a grumpy girl who just didn't want to be there. Kept running out of food so she would disappear into kitchen leaving everyone standing there. There was only one other member of staff who walked around trying to hide until we all went away. Very understaffed. Felt like a staff canteen not a hotel. Even had to make your own tea!! 4 star hotel. Don't think so. This place is only for one night stopovers for business purposes.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank barm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. Our guest feedback is really important to us as it constantly allows us to review our standards and procedures and make changes where necessary.
I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us, we generally get really positive feedback on the friendliness of our team, I am surprised to hear this was not your experience.
I would like also to clarify that although our facilities and service standards can be compare to a 4* standard, we are officially a 3* star hotel.
Thank you also for let us know that you enjoyed the pool and rated our rooms as good.

I would also like to suggest that perhaps if you could contact me directly, and indeed allowing me the opportunity to show to you that the standard of service you encountered during your last visit is not the standard at which our hotel normally operates.
My personal mobile phone is 00353 868541101 and my email is bgorisch@maldronhotels.com

Again thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I just used this hotel because I was passing between working on sites in Dublin and West Cork. It is next to the motorway connecting the two and allowed me to break the drive. The hotel was a great find and I'd still here again out of choice rather than necessity. The staff were very professional, the comfort level of the room was excellent, and the breakfast was great. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone, but particularly if you are flying into Dublin arriving in the afternoon and looking to drive down to the southwest, Cork, Kerry etc.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
706 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,867 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing