We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
“food nightmare”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

stayed here over the weekend the rooms were a good size and fairly clean the service was poor with staff having to do various jobs, the restaurant was poor food terible and undercooked, more training needed here, will not be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nater_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Dear Natar_25,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you experienced during your recent stay.

A hotel is defined by the quality of service it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate action has been taken.

We take pride in our hotel and do our best to prevent problems from recurring.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    198
    87
    52
    31
See reviews for
229
155
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel with my partner it is very easy to find, located just off the motorway on exit 17. The receptionist was a friendly girl who gave us loads of info on the area and discount vouchers for Kildare outlet stores. Dinner in the restaurant was very tasty and the service was quick and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet and had everything you could want. Ther is also a huge leisur centre with a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and beauty treatment rooms all of which we tried out and were impressed with. Our bedroom was larger thaan expected with a double and a single bed, duvets, decent matress, and pillows. Good sized mirror and light in the bathroom. ful length bath tub and power shower as well. Booked on the hotel website and got the room for €59 only!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaghy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Don't know what hotel some of these people stayed in but they are not describing the one I stayed in. Used it to break a journey from the North down to Cork (young child on board) found it to be very clean, very pleasant receptionist, parking no issue as the car park is right outside the door. We had an adjoining family room and both rooms were huge and beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we were not charged for out 3 yo which was great we even managed to get some proper milk free from the bar to make tea in our room after arriving. There is an adjoining eatery which has lots of outlets (Subway etc) and we stopped over on the return journey to eat there. Brilliantly located in terms of the road network and I would most definitely use it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed here for a midweek family break in early August and really enjoyed our stay. We were travelling with two young children (7 and 4). Found the hotel to be lovely, with a great position just off the M7 motorway (exit 17) about a mile from Portlaoise town centre.

On check-in we were advised of our choice of a day at a pet farm or we could go bowling as it was included in the package. As we were staying for 2 nights we did both and the kids loved seeing all of the animals which you can get right up close to. They also have an indoor play area and a café. For €89 per night which included breakfast and admission to the pet farm I found this to be exceptional value for the four of us!

The room was great, incredibly spacious for a hotel room. We had a double bed, and 2 singles, with ample room to maneuver around them and loads of wardrobe space. The beds were excellent with lovely crisp duvets. Complimentary toiletries were provided in the bathroom along with a decent sized bath and a good power shower as well.

The Hotel also has a leisure centre which our two children loved with a full length pool and kiddie’s pool, Sauna, Steam room, Jacuzzi and Gym.

Breakfast was a help yourself buffet with all of the trimmings. Cereal, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, and the usual fry up and was of a high standard. Marie the breakfast waitress was lovely and great with the kids. We ate both nights in the Hotel’s restaurant “Stir” and it was exceptional! One of the nicest steaks myself or my husband ever had. They also provide a healthy kids menu which was a nice change from the usual chicken nuggets or sausages and chips!! Along with a nightly specials menu, although I am still dreaming about that steak! Mary who served us both nights was excellent and made a real fuss for our youngest. Overall there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant.

We had a really good trip to the Maldron and we will defiantly be back to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblesGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel over the August Bank Holiday wekend. We had booked well in advance for a doule and single room. Upon entering the room there was a space for a double and single but the single had been removed and there was just the head board.

When I went into the shower the shampoo shower gel bottle was empty. We took a lap top with us and the connection was missing. These may seem minor things but when there are 3 things in a row it gets a little irratating.

I contacted reception and 2 things were resolved but there was never any single bed provided. I felt this was bad form. Just felt the hotel let itself down by annoying things which could easily be resolved.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We travelled to Port Laoise to visit a friend who lives there. This hotel is of quite a good standard of accomodation (think holiday inn). It has a swimming pool with jacuzzi etc but it is in a separate building so as a hotel guest you have to walk across the car park to get to it. Not a big deal on the way in,not so nice with wet hair etc on the way back out. Hotel is large business hotel and quite impersonal. No atmosphere in the bar, in fact we were the only ones there. We left to meet our local friend in the town centre. This involved a taxi ride as the hotel is too far to walk to town ( we wanted to have wine with dinner). We did however know all of this on booking and the hotel is offering very good deals at present. Breakfast is not bad (self service). My review may be slightly coloured as I fell badly getting into the bad. I thought I would be sensible and use the rubber mat provided with the bath/shower. The mat however slipped causing me to get a huge bruise on my leg, the pain of which caused me a lot of bother on the night and a week later still hurts when I run. Just take care using the mats!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whe2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irelad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I have just recently returned from the Maldron Hotel, Portlaoise. We stayed for 2 wonderful nights in this superb hotel which is great value. The location was ideal, the hotel truly fantastic and the staff could not do enough to help us. The restaurant was so relaxing and the food amazing. We could have stayed for a few more days! This hotel really is one of the best we have stayed in… From arrival to departure we were met with nothing but friendly, professional service. The rooms themselves are lovely, spacious and really well done with very comfortable beds. The level of professionalism from every single staff member is to be applauded. And we used quite a few services including the leisure centre which is extremely nice, in our short stay. We will be looking forward to a return visit soon to the Maldron.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
669 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing