We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very realaxing- excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
“very realaxing- excellent stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I stayed in the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise last weekend. Got a really good deal on the internet.
Firstly when we arrived we were greeted immediately when we went through front doors, by a young pleasant receptionsit called Marie. Marie checked us in very quickly, gave us loada info about hotel maybe too much to take in at one time but no harm.
Room was on 3rd floor. it was spotless, loads a space with 2 beds.
We had dinner and a bottle of wine included. so we decided to have this on the first night and go into the town on the second night. Dinner was really good, service was friendly and quick, Im not sure of the name of our waiter, but he was a laugh.
Breakfast on both mornings was great, huge selection all self service which has its advantages. Unfortuntely no room service but sure we were up earlish both days so didnt matter to us.,
the hotel is out of town but not far couple of minutes at most to be honest we found this okay because it was a little bit quiet and relaxing just what we wanted. they have a pool and gym which Im sure is a bonus for many but we didnt use.
Over all I would really recommend, really clean and good friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Gar91,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated. Your complimentary comments regarding the service provided to you by Marie and the team here at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise are fantastic to read. We strive to deliver high standards of service anc cleanliness to our guests, and it made me proud to read that we succeeded in delivering this to you during your stay.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    195
    86
    51
    31
See reviews for
227
153
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during a motoring event. Its very difficult to fault the Maldron although its proximity to a motorway junction means a little traffic noise permeates the bedroom. We had room 319; even number rooms on the other side of the corridor are probably less effected. Our room was spotless, generous in size and furnished to sleep four. The associated pool and fitness centre is great and well beyond what I'd expect from your average 3 star. Good quality toweling was changed daily and the soap/shampoo dispenser filled with acceptable branded product. Good tea and coffee provisions and an excellent breakfast buffet all add to a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Dear Rogeradl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind comments were greatly appreciated by all of the team. I am delighted to read that you made use of Club vitae Health & Fitness Club and enjoyed your breakfast.

I do hope that we will welcome you back in 2011 for the Gorden Bennett Rally, fingers crossed we will have a repeat of this year's weather!!

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Stayed here for a Friday and Saturday with the wife and 2 small kids and had a nice weekend...Pool was lovely, room was clean and the food in the restaurant was quite nice, would go back again, one small gripe was that there didnt seem to be a bar food menu

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear BSLC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the feedback.


I was delighted to read that your recent stay with us was enjoyable.


Regarding your small gripe of not having a bar food menu; we do offer an ala carte menu which has a wide range of bar food options to chose from as well as a set 3 course menu. Our daily specials are also a popular choice. All of which can be enjoyed in the Bar or Restaurant areas.


Thank you again for your reveiw and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.


Sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This Hotel is perfect for anyone who is on a weekned here or short stay, the hotel was spotless, the rooms are good size and very clean. We had to put our two bikes in the room (our own choice) and they didnt get in the way. Got great deal for two nights with dinner and free bottle wine. Steak dinner was nice and staff we on the ball. The leisure centre is perfect, has a 20metre pool and jacuzzi and suana. Staff were very nice and professional.

Breakfast was only ok!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear Colm42,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your kind comments were welcomed by the entire team. I was delighted to read that you made us of our facilities during your stay.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Very nice hotel with great facilities, though the food in the bar was nice but there was not a lot of it, there is foodcourt beside the hotel offering a great selection, there was a great breakfast in the morning. Not within walking distance of the town itself it does have great parking etc

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 25 March 2010
Dear PazBan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and the friendly staff.

You are right that we are a 20 minute walk outside the town but we do have a very reliable 24 hour taxi service on offer.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the bar food and breakfast to our Head Chef.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

stayed here over the weekend the rooms were a good size and fairly clean the service was poor with staff having to do various jobs, the restaurant was poor food terible and undercooked, more training needed here, will not be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nater_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Dear Natar_25,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you experienced during your recent stay.

A hotel is defined by the quality of service it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate action has been taken.

We take pride in our hotel and do our best to prevent problems from recurring.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel with my partner it is very easy to find, located just off the motorway on exit 17. The receptionist was a friendly girl who gave us loads of info on the area and discount vouchers for Kildare outlet stores. Dinner in the restaurant was very tasty and the service was quick and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet and had everything you could want. Ther is also a huge leisur centre with a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and beauty treatment rooms all of which we tried out and were impressed with. Our bedroom was larger thaan expected with a double and a single bed, duvets, decent matress, and pillows. Good sized mirror and light in the bathroom. ful length bath tub and power shower as well. Booked on the hotel website and got the room for €59 only!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing