We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool sauna jacuzzi and sauna facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great pool sauna jacuzzi and sauna facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Went to the maldron for A weekend to relax and couldn't have chosen a better place. My only fault is the girl workin in the breakfast buffet, she looked like she'd rather be anywhere but there and wasn't too happy that we disturbed her for our breakfast!! That aside the facilities were great really helpful staff in the pool area and excellent changing room facilities with unlimited fresh towels available. Rooms were excellent and constantly cleaned. Would recommened this hotel for a quiet chill out weekend

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Grahug,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is invaluable for us and enables us to continually improve our services. Your kind comments about our leisure centre and room cleanliness are greatly appreciated. I have also noted your comments regarding breakfast and suffice it to say the issues raised have been addressed.


I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    192
    82
    47
    29
See reviews for
220
150
16
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed for 1 night with my daughter. Colin on reception was a pleasure to deal with. He was extremely pleasant and happy to deal with any questions put to him. We went swimming on two occasions and the guys in reception on swimming pool also dealt with us very well. It makes such a difference to be greeted by someone pleasant and with a smile. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Fry was bit overcooked and croissants looked bit burnt, covered in icing or something to disguse it. overall though a lovely hotel and def recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelife29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Really enjoyed my two night stay at the Maldron. The staff were very accommodating and the rooms were great value for money. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niallp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Niallp,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated. Your complimentary comments regarding the service and value provided to you by the team here at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise are fantastic to read.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I stayed in the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise last weekend. Got a really good deal on the internet.
Firstly when we arrived we were greeted immediately when we went through front doors, by a young pleasant receptionsit called Marie. Marie checked us in very quickly, gave us loada info about hotel maybe too much to take in at one time but no harm.
Room was on 3rd floor. it was spotless, loads a space with 2 beds.
We had dinner and a bottle of wine included. so we decided to have this on the first night and go into the town on the second night. Dinner was really good, service was friendly and quick, Im not sure of the name of our waiter, but he was a laugh.
Breakfast on both mornings was great, huge selection all self service which has its advantages. Unfortuntely no room service but sure we were up earlish both days so didnt matter to us.,
the hotel is out of town but not far couple of minutes at most to be honest we found this okay because it was a little bit quiet and relaxing just what we wanted. they have a pool and gym which Im sure is a bonus for many but we didnt use.
Over all I would really recommend, really clean and good friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Dear Gar91,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated. Your complimentary comments regarding the service provided to you by Marie and the team here at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise are fantastic to read. We strive to deliver high standards of service anc cleanliness to our guests, and it made me proud to read that we succeeded in delivering this to you during your stay.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during a motoring event. Its very difficult to fault the Maldron although its proximity to a motorway junction means a little traffic noise permeates the bedroom. We had room 319; even number rooms on the other side of the corridor are probably less effected. Our room was spotless, generous in size and furnished to sleep four. The associated pool and fitness centre is great and well beyond what I'd expect from your average 3 star. Good quality toweling was changed daily and the soap/shampoo dispenser filled with acceptable branded product. Good tea and coffee provisions and an excellent breakfast buffet all add to a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
Dear Rogeradl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind comments were greatly appreciated by all of the team. I am delighted to read that you made use of Club vitae Health & Fitness Club and enjoyed your breakfast.

I do hope that we will welcome you back in 2011 for the Gorden Bennett Rally, fingers crossed we will have a repeat of this year's weather!!

Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Stayed here for a Friday and Saturday with the wife and 2 small kids and had a nice weekend...Pool was lovely, room was clean and the food in the restaurant was quite nice, would go back again, one small gripe was that there didnt seem to be a bar food menu

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear BSLC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the feedback.


I was delighted to read that your recent stay with us was enjoyable.


Regarding your small gripe of not having a bar food menu; we do offer an ala carte menu which has a wide range of bar food options to chose from as well as a set 3 course menu. Our daily specials are also a popular choice. All of which can be enjoyed in the Bar or Restaurant areas.


Thank you again for your reveiw and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.


Sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

This Hotel is perfect for anyone who is on a weekned here or short stay, the hotel was spotless, the rooms are good size and very clean. We had to put our two bikes in the room (our own choice) and they didnt get in the way. Got great deal for two nights with dinner and free bottle wine. Steak dinner was nice and staff we on the ball. The leisure centre is perfect, has a 20metre pool and jacuzzi and suana. Staff were very nice and professional.

Breakfast was only ok!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear Colm42,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Your kind comments were welcomed by the entire team. I was delighted to read that you made us of our facilities during your stay.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Lally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing