We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant and welcoming hotel”
Review of O'Loughlins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Loughlins Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A brilliant and welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I just spent New Year's Eve here with my girlfriend.
The hotel is perfect for a little night/weekend away.
Top staff top bed and most of all top food and drinks.
It's a family owned hotel and the owners could not be more accommodating in any wish you may have.
Exceedingly friendly and professional
Great late check out if you ask nicely as well

Room Tip: Be nice to Ivor he will sort you out!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlins Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Ray R,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I was thrilled to read that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us. We all had a great New Years Eve this year, glad you enjoyed it!! We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Kindest regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
54
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountmellick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Went for dinner here recently with my boyfriend. Place was cosy, food was gorgeous and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Stayed on after dinner for a couple of drinks. Nice warm friendly spot!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTerie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlins Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear MissTerie_12,

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and would hope to see you here again soon. Every positive review helps to sustain up to 50 jobs. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the heath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Having stayed here on a couple of occasions and frequented it more often for food I can say without doubt O'Loughlins is one of Portlaoise's gems.
From the moment you walk in the door you are greeted with the warmth that only a family ran hotel can offer.The food on offer is excellent, and all locally sourced.
We take our kids with us, and each time they are looked after with drawings and colours, and even their picky eating is looked after!! I honestly can't speak highly enough of O'Loughlins.
JJ Tynan.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Thank you for making all the arrangements for the Portlaoise Credit Union seminar on Saturday last 13th Oct in O’Loughlin’s Hotel.
The venue could not have been better, the room was well laid out, the lunch was excellent.
Everyone appreciated the delicious freshly baked scones in the morning!!!!.
All the staff were very welcoming and J.J. and Orla, in particular, were most helpful.
With best wishes,
Tony

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at O'Loughlins during a recent holiday in Ireland. We were very pleased with everything about this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was huge by Irish standards with the bathroom larger than many rooms we stayed in during our trip! There was even a beautiful claw foot tub! The food in the restaurant was very nice and breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Ireland. -D. Delaney

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowgirl_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlins Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Cowgirl Gypsy,

I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a small family run hotel and take pride in everything we provide to our customers. Also I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, every positive response we receive really helps sustain over 50 jobs in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Ireland.

Kindest regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Right in the heart of the town. Barkeep/front desk clerk was nice. Best thing to say is that is was clean and reasonabllly priced. The food in the bar was pretty good and free parking out back. Not a bad place for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here during the Electric Picnic music festival in September and while other hotels in the area bump up their prices and enforce extra rules on guests for the weekend, we had no problems like this, in fact, the staff here could not have been nicer and more welcoming. The rooms are a little on the basic side but ours had plenty of room, we found the beds extremely comfortable and the shower in our room was very good. The full Irish breakfast is served in a very nice bar downstairs and was one of the nicest we have had any hotel.. warm toast is not something you get everywhere! This hotel is well run, staff are efficient and seem genuinely happy but the nicest thing of all was the warm hospitality we received here. Thank you! We will be back.

Room Tip: No lifts due to it being an old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmofountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
0.2 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
170 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Loughlins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Loughlins Hotel

Property: O'Loughlins Hotel
Address: 30 Main Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Loughlins Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Loughlins Hotel is a small, friendly family run hotel in the centre of Portlaoise. We serve excellent homecooked traditional meals from 7.30 am - 8 pm daily. With lively bars, open fires, delicious food and welcoming staff, we will make your stay in Portlaoise a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your O'Loughlins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing