We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site in so so city”
Review of O'Loughlin's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Loughlin's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good site in so so city”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights here to cover an area of Ireland I had missed before. It's an older hotel, but clean with good pub and food. The town is a working city with little to offer outside of a few chain hotels. This one is more cozy. It's in heart of city, but I don't know what else is there.

Room Tip: Every one here does double duty. Find the car park & buzz in, front is too difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlin's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Sue O,

Thank you for you recent review. I'm delighted you chose our little hotel instead of one of the out of town chain hotels. I'm glad you had a good experience with us during your stay. Hopefully the next time you are passing by you might call in for a bite to eat!!
Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. In these current recessionary times every bit of positive feedback really helps.

Kindest regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    57
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
29
55
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I have been visiting the hotel for a number of months now.

As a business man I get to see many hotels across Ireland and I can honestly say that O'Loughlins know how to serve and look their clients.

Their food is excellent and facilities 1st class.

I would highly recommend the hotel for meetings, accommodation eating out and for events of all kinds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULLAMORE
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I attend a weekly networking meeting with 24 other businesses at this hotel every Tuesday morning from 6.30 to 8.30 followed by breakfast in the restuarant.

The meeting room is always setup to our requirments, projector and screen in place and water on all tables. The room has a lovely feel to it which helps when you are sitting through meetings, not too warm and never cold.

A nice touch is there is always fresh lemon in the water provided on all tables.

The staff are always on hand even this early in the morning to offer any assistance required.

We follow the meeting with breakfast which is always very well presented with all ingredients locally sourced. The brown bread is amazing you have to try it.

As a business women I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a business or social meeting, you are always greeted by a friendly smile and your facilities are always to a high standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NETZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I regularly use this hotel for meetings. It is centrally located in the centre of Portlaoise. It has a large car park at the rear of the building. The food is always fab, especially the breakfast for my early morning meetings. On a cold winter day the fire at the front of the hotel is always a special treat. The staff are always very friendly and are always on hand to help me out. WIFI is decent as well which is essential for me meetings.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eConcepts-Kieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlin's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear eConcepts-Kieran,

Thank you kindly for your recent review. I'm delighted that you find our hotel a good place to hold meetings. We have invested a lot in out Wifi system as we are fully aware of its importance nowadays. Our open fire is a long time favourite of our customers especially on cold mornings as you pointed out. I hope you will continue to use us as a venue for you meeting s and I look forward to meeting you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

O' Loughlins Hotel highly is in a fantastic central location in Portlaoise town. It has great accommodation and the food and service are second to none. We couldn’t recommend Ivor and his staff highly enough for the warm welcome you get to the hotel, how well you are looked after and the fantastic locally sourced food that they provide.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlin's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear adamandjake,

Thank you for recent kind words. It is always nice to hear positive feedback. As mentioned in previous responses the sourcing of our food is very important to us and we go to great lengths to support local producers. As we are a small family run hotel in direct competition with larger bank owned hotels, our quality and service is what we rely on.
Hopefully we will have to pleasure of company again soon. Until then, thank you for taking the time to review our business.

Kind regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

O'Loughlins Hotel is a little gem situated in the heart of Portlaoise town.
Family run and with a friendly and welcoming staff you would be hard pressed to find such a warm atmosphere elsewhere.
Their food is fantastic,presented beautifully and also keenly priced.
There is a great selection on their menus and their nightly Early Bird offers are great value.
If you are planning a night out for 2 or a feast for several I would highly recommend O'Loughlins .... you can even boogie the night away afterwards if you head there at the weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Moore_CTec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlin's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear L_Moore_CTec,

I would like to thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read it. Our food is a very important part of our business and we strive to provide high quality locally sourced food at reasonable prices. Our early bird menu has been very popular with our customers for that reason.
I was also thrilled to hear that you were impressed with our staff and the service they provide. As we are a family run hotel, it is very important to us that our customer service is excellent.
Again, I would like to thank you for your kind words and hope to see you in with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed for one night on Saturday 6th April.

I highly recommend O'Loughlins. Check-in was quick and easy with all staff from the receptionist to the barman and even the security guys on the night club (free admission for residents) being very helpful.

It's in a good location too - pretty much dead center of town, with good parking out the back. I managed to get a parking ticket for pulling up briefly in a handicap spot outside the hotel though! :-( No fault of the hotel, but I thought the garda might have been a bit more understanding at 10:30 on a Sunday morning - especially as there are two of these spaces and no sign of anyone needing them for the few minutes I occupied one.

Next time I am in Portlaoise I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlin's Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Graham Nolan,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are a family run hotel and take pride in the service we provide to all our customers. I was thrilled to see that you had and enjoyable experience with us and do hope to see you with us again the next time you are in Portlaoise.

Kind regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
0.2 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
180 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,835 reviews
18.5 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Loughlin's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Loughlin's Hotel

Property: O'Loughlin's Hotel
Address: 30 Main Street, Portlaoise R32 XA43, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Loughlin's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Loughlins Hotel is a small, friendly family run hotel in the centre of Portlaoise. We serve excellent homecooked traditional meals from 7.30 am - 8 pm daily. With lively bars, open fires, delicious food and welcoming staff, we will make your stay in Portlaoise a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your O'Loughlin's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing