We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little things wrong but the big things right!”
Review of O'Loughlin's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Loughlin's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 16 September 2013

ROOM: spacious double but in Bathroom: shaving light broken; bathroom door handle very loose; had to ask twice for spare loo roll and proper bath mat; toilet seat slightly loose. Room phone not heard down in reception.
STAFF: conscientious and attentive. Quick response.
BREAKFASTS: filling and sufficiently variable - but choice of only two cereals (Cornflakes and Weetabix) is inadequate. MUST add third option (muesli would be the obvious one).
WHAT IS MISSING? An overall Hotel Manager to: check rooms properly and regularly; assist staff when rushed off their feet in bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivoroloughlin, Owner at O'Loughlin's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Ken,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is through thoughtful and honest reviews such as yours that we can constantly improve our facilities and service. I have taken on board all the points you highlighted in relation to the rooms and also the third choice of breakfast cereal.

We really enjoyed having you stay with us and would hope that should you be in the area again you would call in to stay with us.

I trust you got home to London safely and hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland.

Kindest regards,

Ivor O'Loughlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at O'Loughlins overnight. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had food in the bar on the evening of arrival, greasy and poor standard. Room was basic but clean. No hot water though for shower. Breakfast very poor, cold toast. Bar could do with decoration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing onto the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmcvClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently had the pleasure of having our son's christening celebrations in O'Loughlin's Hotel Portlaoise. I must say the whole experience from planning, booking and the day itself was made an entirely wonderful experience by the team at O'Loughlin's Hotel. The function was booked for 60 people for a 4 course meal. The food was fantastic and commented on by all our quests who had travelled from all over the country to be with us on such a special occasion. A large portion of the guests also had the pleasure of staying on the premises. There were no complaints in this department either. To Ivor, Declan, J.J and the rest of the staff a huge thank you for your hospitability on the lead up to and on the day of the christening. To anyone in the Portlaoise area. I would highly recommended O'Loughlin's Hotel as a venue for any occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We are a group of Mum's & Toddlers from all over Ireland that meet up at least once a year. This year Portlaoise was picked and we set about finding a place that would be able to accommodate us for a few hours so we could chat & to have lunch!
We were delighted with the room that we got in O'Loughlins, The room was at the back of the hotel and was perfect for our needs. We had 11 adults & 14 kids.
We ordered off the Lunch Menu (great choice) and got if served to the room. The fact the we had a room to our selves was great as many people look down their nose at people who are out with their kids!
Thanks to Declan for not charging us a room hire, as we did enquire else where in Portlaoise & we were quoted €100+ room hire just because we were looking for a room on our own!!! Madness!!!!

Overall: Perfect room for our needs, Lovely food, Staff friendly - Sarah dealt with us on the day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gremar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I regularly visit O'Loughlins for food and occasionally a few pints. They provide an excellent service with very friendly staff and a clean well appointed family run hotel. The food is consistently good and their new pizza oven is better than you would get in any pizza chain.

I would have no hesitation in recommending O'Loughlins.

And they serve a cracking pint if Guinness too ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Their food is excellent and the service was second to none. Have called regularly with family and work colleagues and have never had to complain. Its clean friendly and family ran, you can tell the difference by that little bit of extra warmth with the service. Have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MochuaPrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After about 30hours without sleep flying from Canada and driving from Dublin through rush hour we pulled into Portlaoise. My now wife and I had made the trip over to get married in Ireland.
I had never driven in Ireland before so I was quite stressed and basically at my wits end we pulled into town and happened into O'Loughlins for the night, and thats where and when my day changed. Immediately we were greeted by the gentleman at the front desk, I believe it was Ivor, he was extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. After getting settled into to our room we received a call from Ivor letting us know that the kitchen was closing soon and that we should come down for some dinner. Extremely thoughtful and kind thing to do, and in my opinion above and beyond. We went down for a excellent dinner followed by a few pints of Guinness. Ivor sat and talked with us as he ran the bar and gave us all sorts of tips of things to see and what to do during our stay as well as some history on the town of Portlaoise. Once again above and beyond service in my opinion. As I had previously stated we hadn't slept in a while and decided to turn in fairly early, before we could leave for our room our new friend Ivor had poured us two pints of Guinness for us to take to our room free of charge. basically with a few kind words and a couple kind gestures I went from having a terrible stressful day to one of the best nights of our trip all due to the excellent staff at this great little hotel/pub.

The pub and restaurant were very well run and served excellent food for us both for dinner and breakfast in the morning.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and met our every need.
The staff, as I mentioned above were amazing.

So if you are planning to stay in Portloise or even driving the M7 in the area pull into town and stop in to O'Loughlins it is worth your time. We traveled all of southern ireland and stayed at many many hotels, I can say this with great confidence.

Room Tip: tell them Lyndon sent ya! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCPITULEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Central Hotel Tullamore
Central Hotel Tullamore
#3 of 3 in Tullamore
194 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
196 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Loughlin's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Loughlin's Hotel

Address: 30 Main Street, Portlaoise R32 XA43, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Loughlin's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Loughlins Hotel is a small, friendly family run hotel in the centre of Portlaoise. We serve excellent homecooked traditional meals from 7.30 am - 8 pm daily. With lively bars, open fires, delicious food and welcoming staff, we will make your stay in Portlaoise a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your O'Loughlin's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing