We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of O'Loughlins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Loughlins Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the O'Loughlins for 2 nights whilst visiting family in Ireland, we didn't spend much time in the hotel but our stay was pleasant. On arrival we were stood at reception a while before been greeted as it seemed the bar staff ran the reception also. We asked for breakfast to be served half an hour early as we had to be at church for 8 one morning and they gave us a wake up call but then when we arrived down for breakfast service was a little slow so we ended up not having breakfast but breakfast is included in the price. Bar staff were friendly, rooms were clean. Only disappointment was having no bath but who needs one if there's a shower.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traceystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry k, Manager at O'Loughlins Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear traceystar,

Many thanks for your recent review of O'Loughlins Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly and that you had a pleasent stay.
Regarding your breakfast experience, I apologise for the slow service you recieved. I have looked into this and have ironed out any issues which may cause this to re occur. I appreciate you pointing this out.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to O'Loughlins Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    24
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
54
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is nicely located in the town from where every place is close, when i arrived the bartender was the only person looking after everything but he did a nice job and was very pleasant, i was given keys for room 16 which was bit tricky to look out for as well as there was no light in the lobby.
the room was spacious and clean and had a bit of old world feel to it.
i had requested a wake up call which was made at the time requested , so overall the people were nice but hotel was not much different than a B&B as i didn't see any other facilities . it could do better for the price paid but its a good place to crash nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTrip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry k, General Manager at O'Loughlins Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear DrTrip100,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I was pleased to read that you found our location and staff to be good, and that your bedroom had a nice old world feel to it.

We do offer a range of facilties here in O'Loughlins such as complimenary car parking, WIFI, a busy Bar and Bistro and we can also cater for meeting and events from 2 delegates up to 250. I hope in the future you will have the opportunity to return and sample some of the above.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to O'Loughlins Hotel.

Knd Regads,

Barry Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Passing through & we were looking for someplace to eat & ventured across this hotel. The hotel itself is tired and dated & could use sum serious upgrading.

We ate at the bar, huge selection on the menu, service was fast & efficient. The food was fine nothing overly special but would return again for a bite to eat.

Would like to give a mention to the 2 guys working at the bar extremely friendly & helpful you could tell they enjoyed their jobs which is nice to see. I don't think I would like to stay over night though because I feel the rooms would be as dated as the ground floor of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry k, General Manager at O'Loughlins Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sunshine978,

Many thanks for taking the time to review O'Loughlins Hotel. I was delighted to read that you recieved fast and efficient service, and thank you also for mentioning the 2 guys working in the bar. I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to the team.

Whilst our Hotel may be a bit dated at present, I am pleased to tell you that we are currently in the proces of redecorating the property and I am sure you will see significant changes when you next visit.

We look foward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to O'Loughlins Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Barry Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great location in the heart of the town.
The highlight of our stay was the really friendly and helpful staff.
Bar menu was good simple food and plenty of it. The home made chips are worth the trip alone!
Herself commented that the Chardonnay was gorgeous.

Room was small but spotlessly clean. Bed was great.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EricIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, warm, friendly, comfortable. But oh dear don't stay in Room 21,unless of course you're out on the town until after closing time. The room is directly above the smoking area so you might as well be down in the bar as up in your room.
The decor is a bit 1970's but you'd get over that if it was quiet.
And to add insult to injury I specifically asked for a quiet room :-(

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel has comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff and real Irish portions of food. I was welcomed as soon as I arrived. Once I had succeeded in the challenge of finding the car park (easy once you know - and there are signs), I had no worries at all. The community use the hotel as a restaurant and bar - with sports TV too, so you feel part of the town.

Room Tip: I stayed in an single room in the loft - number 20, and it had a good shower and ensuite. Two flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Went into this hotel to find exceptional hospitality! The bar staff were efficient and our meal was of the highest order; just what was required at the time. If you are looking for a place to stay in portlaoise bypass all others, stay here!! You won't be disappointed

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
0.2 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
170 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Loughlins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Loughlins Hotel

Property: O'Loughlins Hotel
Address: 30 Main Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Loughlins Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Loughlins Hotel is a small, friendly family run hotel in the centre of Portlaoise. We serve excellent homecooked traditional meals from 7.30 am - 8 pm daily. With lively bars, open fires, delicious food and welcoming staff, we will make your stay in Portlaoise a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your O'Loughlins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing