We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely surprised with our hotel break, in a very good way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay in our 2 family rooms, our package was through the "Go Ireland" website €149 per family room incl b&b for 2 adults & kids stay free, eat for €5 if they are old enough. the girls aged 1-2 thoroughly enjoyed the pool. Lovely staff in leisure centre and reception. The boys aged 1 and 11 also enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keaveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

Im not one to complain and relish in any kind of break away but this is one hotel that i will not be returning to.
My parents got myself and my 3 sisters a night in this hotel as a Christmas present.... We were delighted until we got there. It smelt horrible! The tv wouldn't work, we got interconnecting rooms and the door wouldn't open. We were told on arrival to be down before 8.45 for dinner (which was pre-paid) getting ready to leave the room at 8.30 and get a call from the MANAGER saying 'If your not down in 30 seconds you will not be getting fed' - His exact words!!! Got down there at 8.35 to be told we were too late, to say we were gobsmacked at our treatment is an understatement!! After a few minutes he said we could have a main course and thats it, well we were not happy about this as a 3 course meal had been paid for so we ordered 4 ceaser salads for starters(he eventually agreed that we could have them) It was absolutely revolting - smelt like fish and was thrown together with a slice of chicken on top from a packet you'd buy in a shop! Main course was ok. Empty drinks left on the table for half hour, it wasn't even busy. Asked for a jug of water and after waiting 20 minutes it tasted like the smell of a first aid box! Manager actually came over while we were eating our main course and asked 'Was it worth the argument?' Very patronizing! There was no argument we just simply and politely asked for our meal which was paid for and he waffled on telling us how hard the chef had worked over Christmas bla bla bla.... Eh not our problem sorry but we all have a lot of small kids and just wanted a nice relaxing break away with a nice meal... Not too much to ask for from a 'supposedly' 4 star hotel!!! Dirty plates left on the table for another half hour, nobody came over and asked did we want a drink... Finally asked very rude bar man for some drinks and a dessert menu to be told (with his back to us) 'Yez arn't gettin dessert, the chef is gone home' We were completely shocked and disgusted!! Complained to manager who did nothing, carried on sitting in the hotel lobby with what looked like his friends! We went up to our room to get our coats to go into the town as we did not want to satay in the bar, we got to the top of the stairs and it was pitch black - no lights on in the corridor, tried to get to our room in the dark,rang reception about the lights and she said she'l 'turn them back on now'! When we were leaving to go out 10 minutes later still no lights on!
The only good thing about our break away was that we had a fantasic night in the town, after our terrible treatment we all agreed to make the most of it and fortunatly we all had a great night! Went to complain to the day manager the next day and were told that we was 'unavailable'. They will be receiving a strongly worded letter of complaint from myself and my sisters also our parents were so disappointed and are not happy about this one bit, will be taking this further!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 3under3Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to receiving letter directly where your issues can be reviewed and dealt with in detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

On arrival, staff very friendly.
Room very musty, bedspread stained, went to open window to clear the must, net curtains torn.
Went to iron top, water flowed out staining, tried to dry it by window.
Traffic almost constant till 4am, hotel on main route, windows not glazed sufficiiently to dull the noise.
Kettle leaked when water put in, asked for A Cup of coffee, front desk said kettle would be replaced, rang again, after 20 minutes, nobody contacted me.
Wrote to Failte ireland, said they would pass on and i would have reply from the relevant dept and hotel - neither did. Wrote to minister of Tourism, had to write again.
And guess what, they said Killeshin Hotel lived up to a 4 Star Hotel - good luck with your stay people

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for your comments once again. We have replied to your previous 2 communications and have addressed all relevant issues.

Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed here for one night and found the staff all very nice and friendly. The rooms were lovely and spacious and the breakfast was great too. The bar staff were excellent and residents bar was great craic.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our staff lived up to their award winning service.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I was brought here as a surprise for my birthday. The reservation staff went all out and gave us an amazing large room that was away from the front of the hotel and in a quiet part of it. We unfortunately arrived during the awful snow we had in January and that meant we couldn't really go outside much and as the snow was so bad, the television reception wasn't that great either!
We did spend alot of time in the leisure centre which was lovely. The food was gorgeous as we ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar for the rest and I loved the layout of the bar. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damhsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Stayed here last Friday night. Lovely double room, nice and big, and nice bathroom, very modern. My problem with this hotel was the bar service. We wer attending a wedding ther and after the meal we all went to the bar. Firstly they had only 1 brandy glass, the rest was served in tumblers, then they ran out of brandy, then ran out of ginger ale. We asked out young bar man if he could get some more, surely he could run out and buy
some, said he would have to ask the manager which we suggested he do. As far as we know he didnt do either and one of our party that can only drink brandy, cannot drink any other alcholic drink had to just have soft drinks for the remainder of the evening. Later in the evening we noticed a brandy bootle appeared behind the downstairs bar, we just happend to see it, no one had the courtesy to tell us. When we asked for a brandy then, they still they did not have any brandy glasses (the one had disappeared). I would have not problem staying here again but would not eat or drink in the hotel, the staff have a 'couldn't care less' attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAnnie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

my husband and i went away on a romantic weekend. i asked the receptionist for a quiet part of the hotel she was very accomadating to us and gave us the back of the hotel. everything about the hotel has a very high stanard. staff accomadation food wonderful. the only thing that lets this hotel down is the leisure centre. it is a shame because its such a great hotel. we tryed out the leisure centre and the water was so cold no body was getting in. we just used the sauna and steam room even the jacuzzi was cold. the dressing rooms were grubby the legs on the benches in the dressing room had rust all over them. there was only one staff member at the desk. if the leisure centre was upgraded id say you could class this hotel as five star. i did inform the girl behind the desk when we departed she said she would get the staff to check the temp. of the pool. i would def. reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinJdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for takin the time to write a reiew on your stay with us at the Killeshin. We will take all of your comments on board and take the appropriate action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
708 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
182 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £55 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing