We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“International standard, very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
hobart tasmania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“International standard, very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Very helpful lady on desk. Gave us a list of places to see around the area. A great room very spacious and clean. Comfortable bed. Great value. Breakfast was superb and plentiful. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenHobartTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    202
    87
    46
    30
See reviews for
191
225
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We got a very good deal for 3 nights over St. Patricks weekend and the stay was very relaxing. A little disappointed not to be able to get a sandwich on arrival (8pm) but the staff were extremely helpful and directed us to a nearby restaurant. Had dinner in the hotel the following day and staff were a little slow with service. Overall I feel we got great value for money and would not have any hesitation returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnm_cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed overnight in the Killeshin with spouse for a short break. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean and spacious and very quiet considering it was facing out on to the main road. The food was of a very high standard in the hotel restaurant, certainly as good as any restaurant I have eaten in. The service in particular was excellent where we lingered for three hours. We had breakfast in our room the next morning. It was definitely the best breakfast I have had in a hotel. Very large portions. I would return to this hotel again for another meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delma41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork, ire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed over 3 nts over d easter wknd...there was a mix up with d rooms on arrival but d staff were great n ensured it was resolved to d best of their ability..Antonio and Diamante were gr8, Antonio sent up complementary drinks n hot chocolate 4 d kids. Family rooms r extremely spacious as well. Yvonne and Ella were also fantastic. The only negative issue was d swimming pool, it was freezing cold every time we went swimming n we never got to really swim cos everyone was shivering!Overall, a gr8 hotel...we will definately be back soon.Thanks to Antonio, Diamante, Yvonne and Ela.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akabod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay in our 2 family rooms, our package was through the "Go Ireland" website €149 per family room incl b&b for 2 adults & kids stay free, eat for €5 if they are old enough. the girls aged 1-2 thoroughly enjoyed the pool. Lovely staff in leisure centre and reception. The boys aged 1 and 11 also enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keaveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Im not one to complain and relish in any kind of break away but this is one hotel that i will not be returning to.
My parents got myself and my 3 sisters a night in this hotel as a Christmas present.... We were delighted until we got there. It smelt horrible! The tv wouldn't work, we got interconnecting rooms and the door wouldn't open. We were told on arrival to be down before 8.45 for dinner (which was pre-paid) getting ready to leave the room at 8.30 and get a call from the MANAGER saying 'If your not down in 30 seconds you will not be getting fed' - His exact words!!! Got down there at 8.35 to be told we were too late, to say we were gobsmacked at our treatment is an understatement!! After a few minutes he said we could have a main course and thats it, well we were not happy about this as a 3 course meal had been paid for so we ordered 4 ceaser salads for starters(he eventually agreed that we could have them) It was absolutely revolting - smelt like fish and was thrown together with a slice of chicken on top from a packet you'd buy in a shop! Main course was ok. Empty drinks left on the table for half hour, it wasn't even busy. Asked for a jug of water and after waiting 20 minutes it tasted like the smell of a first aid box! Manager actually came over while we were eating our main course and asked 'Was it worth the argument?' Very patronizing! There was no argument we just simply and politely asked for our meal which was paid for and he waffled on telling us how hard the chef had worked over Christmas bla bla bla.... Eh not our problem sorry but we all have a lot of small kids and just wanted a nice relaxing break away with a nice meal... Not too much to ask for from a 'supposedly' 4 star hotel!!! Dirty plates left on the table for another half hour, nobody came over and asked did we want a drink... Finally asked very rude bar man for some drinks and a dessert menu to be told (with his back to us) 'Yez arn't gettin dessert, the chef is gone home' We were completely shocked and disgusted!! Complained to manager who did nothing, carried on sitting in the hotel lobby with what looked like his friends! We went up to our room to get our coats to go into the town as we did not want to satay in the bar, we got to the top of the stairs and it was pitch black - no lights on in the corridor, tried to get to our room in the dark,rang reception about the lights and she said she'l 'turn them back on now'! When we were leaving to go out 10 minutes later still no lights on!
The only good thing about our break away was that we had a fantasic night in the town, after our terrible treatment we all agreed to make the most of it and fortunatly we all had a great night! Went to complain to the day manager the next day and were told that we was 'unavailable'. They will be receiving a strongly worded letter of complaint from myself and my sisters also our parents were so disappointed and are not happy about this one bit, will be taking this further!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3under3Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to receiving letter directly where your issues can be reviewed and dealt with in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

On arrival, staff very friendly.
Room very musty, bedspread stained, went to open window to clear the must, net curtains torn.
Went to iron top, water flowed out staining, tried to dry it by window.
Traffic almost constant till 4am, hotel on main route, windows not glazed sufficiiently to dull the noise.
Kettle leaked when water put in, asked for A Cup of coffee, front desk said kettle would be replaced, rang again, after 20 minutes, nobody contacted me.
Wrote to Failte ireland, said they would pass on and i would have reply from the relevant dept and hotel - neither did. Wrote to minister of Tourism, had to write again.
And guess what, they said Killeshin Hotel lived up to a 4 Star Hotel - good luck with your stay people

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you for your comments once again. We have replied to your previous 2 communications and have addressed all relevant issues.

Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing