We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Wexford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Great...”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here midweek with my partner & booked a good deal online. When we arrived they didnt have our reservation so the manager put us in the system while on the phone giving out about the lack of staff on!We got an upgrade as way of an apology for not having our reservation but thought the room was only standard, as well as having stains on the carpet & the furniture was chipped & scratched!
For an upgrade i wud have at least expected robes/slippers or at least a tv that wasnt so small i had to sit right in front of it.
We ate in the bar as the restaurant was closed & thought the food was very tasty but the poor bar-girl seemed to be by herself waiting tables/serving drinks and hence the bar was grubby, with plates left on tables, & dirty floor & tables, slow service.

All in all i just didnt think the hotel was up to 4 star standard but i think thats down to the lack of staff. I realise hotels are struggling in this recession & trying to function on minimum numbers of staff, but if they cant provide the service, it will do their business more harm than good in the long run.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday_queenWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    206
    91
    48
    30
See reviews for
197
230
16
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just retuned from a 3 night break in the Killeshin hotel. We travelled as a group of 28 people. The staff could not have done more for us, from the cleaners to the managers. particularly Yvonne. The meals were exquisite, rooms were spacious, spotless and all facilities we required were at our fingertips. From the group of 28 we would all have no hesitation in returning and we would recomend to any friends or family.
Thanks !
Noel McConnell

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelMcConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My other half and I were here for 5 days. Although the hotel is on the outskirts of the town, it's easy enough to get into town, either on foot or my car. Also, near to the hotel there is a petrol station with a good sized shop for bits and pieces you might need. There is also a variety of take away outlets should that float your boat.

The hotel itself was spotless, great sixed room, clean, decor good and a professional feel. I couldn't fault it. I felt quite at home by day 5! Breakfast was good and plentyful and the buffet approach meant we could take as much or as little of different items as we wanted which was excellent.

The selection of different biscuits with the tea/coffee facilities and the addition of hot chocolate was a nice touch.

Pool was a good size, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi where also good quality and well maintained.

Overall, a great hotel and a solid base for our day trips around the country.

We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeaks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just back from a family wknd in this hotel, and the hotel and staff were top class. Beautiful hotel, large family room, bar food excellent and all staff extremely friendly. No entertainment in the bar and unfortunately the bar food finished on a Sat night at 6.45pm which we found most unusual but as it was so good the evening before, we ate early in order to enjoy it. The children loved the food too, which was everything, as most places only offer nuggets and chips. Top class food and service. Lovely pool also. It was most unfortunate, and not through any fault of the hotel that at 2.30am on the Sat night, a crowd of drunken louts arrived on our floor and woke the whole floor thrashing furniture around etc. The staff apologised profusely and had the matter dealt with by the Gardai but unfortunately, this did take from our nights sleep as a family on a chill out trip away.
Having said that, I would return to this hotel as this was a on-off occurance and the hotel is worthy of going again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazd039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed for two nights. It seemed as though standards had slipped slightly since our last visit. In terms of our room it was large with a comfy bed as before but covers were stained including throw and dress cushions. Room generally felt a little grubby. Bathroom was nice but bath didn't drain very well. Also room service called at approx 8.30 am we expected they would return later that day but they didn't, it seemed policy to leave towels outside rooms for guests to take in. Slightly lazy. We also requested a broadband cable and were told it would be dropped to room. It wasn't and when we later enquired we were told that now there weren't any available. When we spoke to front desk it was a different lady each time, very inconsistent. We ate in both the restaraunt and bar. Bar was inconsistent in it's service, one night they served food 'til 10pm. Another they finished before 8pm. The restaraunt served high quality food but menu was very limited (only set menu) and prices slightly higher. I don't think we will be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I haved stayed at the Killeshin a few times over the past couple of years, so I thought it was about time I wrote a review. The hotel is a good 10-15 minute walk to the town centre. The hotel itself is very nice inside and rooms are of a goog proportion, and spotlessly clean, with a nice modern bathroom. There is no WIFI in the room but the hotel provides an ethernet cable for broadband access (there is free wifi in public areas).

The food in the bar is nice, and I note previous reviews about the manner of the bar staff, which I noticed has changed recently they are stil friendly and efficent ( especially the young lady with dark hair sorry no name), but it definetly does not run as smoothly as say a year ago. There is a resteraunt but I've actually never seen it opened apart from breakfast(which is buffet and very nice) it may only be open at weekends, but as i say the bar food is more than satifactory.

There is a gym and pool which is free for hotel guests (sauna steam room ect) which is lovely, but the hotel has one of my favourite pet hates, compulsory swim hats and foot wear, some of the best hotels in the world don't have these rules so why do others? . Funnily enough you can buy them there.(good revenue stream)

I got b+b for 67 Euro which was excellent value especially in summer season.
Would reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Very helpful lady on desk. Gave us a list of places to see around the area. A great room very spacious and clean. Comfortable bed. Great value. Breakfast was superb and plentiful. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenHobartTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing