We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Myself and Caroline had our wedding reception in the Killeshin Hotel in Portlaoise. From day 1 the management and the staff were excellant. They met us on a number of occassion and went through all the steps in a professional and very friendly manner. On the wedding day I would say that the Killeshin went above and beyond the call of duty on making our special day even more special. If you are getting married then the Killeshin Hotel in Portlaoise is the only venue you have to look at.

Shane & Caroline Conroy

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here for business and it was only alright. The heat in the rooms made the sleep uncomfortable with no air conditioning, others in my conference said the same. Rooms are big but carpets etc were well stained. No wifi in bedrooms, only wired access.
Breakfast is usual fair, buffet and it did the job.
Leisure centre was only fair, pool is small and full of kids, even fast lane had 2 kids splashing around and no one directing them.
If price is good, then fine but don't expect a posh few days staying here.

For conference or function, there was awful noise from the kitchen all the time. All the public area toilets looked uncared for, lots of paper towels left around etc.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishtourerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly lady at the reception who made us feel very welcome,we the checked in to our room which was very spacious well laid out and impeccably clean.we were on a trip to the Kildare area and found the location of the Killeshin to be ideal just a short distance off the motorway with no traffic problems encountered .The food was excellent served to us by the bar manager Salv , and the duty manager Antonio visited our table to enquire if everything was to our satisfaction and again we were made feel welcome by him as were every other table in our vicinity.In conclusion we found our stay enjoyable assisted by friendly staff and an excellent leisure centre and excellent indoor car parking facilities ,we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a hotel in the Portlaoise area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here midweek with my partner & booked a good deal online. When we arrived they didnt have our reservation so the manager put us in the system while on the phone giving out about the lack of staff on!We got an upgrade as way of an apology for not having our reservation but thought the room was only standard, as well as having stains on the carpet & the furniture was chipped & scratched!
For an upgrade i wud have at least expected robes/slippers or at least a tv that wasnt so small i had to sit right in front of it.
We ate in the bar as the restaurant was closed & thought the food was very tasty but the poor bar-girl seemed to be by herself waiting tables/serving drinks and hence the bar was grubby, with plates left on tables, & dirty floor & tables, slow service.

All in all i just didnt think the hotel was up to 4 star standard but i think thats down to the lack of staff. I realise hotels are struggling in this recession & trying to function on minimum numbers of staff, but if they cant provide the service, it will do their business more harm than good in the long run.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday_queenWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just retuned from a 3 night break in the Killeshin hotel. We travelled as a group of 28 people. The staff could not have done more for us, from the cleaners to the managers. particularly Yvonne. The meals were exquisite, rooms were spacious, spotless and all facilities we required were at our fingertips. From the group of 28 we would all have no hesitation in returning and we would recomend to any friends or family.
Thanks !
Noel McConnell

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelMcConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My other half and I were here for 5 days. Although the hotel is on the outskirts of the town, it's easy enough to get into town, either on foot or my car. Also, near to the hotel there is a petrol station with a good sized shop for bits and pieces you might need. There is also a variety of take away outlets should that float your boat.

The hotel itself was spotless, great sixed room, clean, decor good and a professional feel. I couldn't fault it. I felt quite at home by day 5! Breakfast was good and plentyful and the buffet approach meant we could take as much or as little of different items as we wanted which was excellent.

The selection of different biscuits with the tea/coffee facilities and the addition of hot chocolate was a nice touch.

Pool was a good size, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi where also good quality and well maintained.

Overall, a great hotel and a solid base for our day trips around the country.

We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squeaks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just back from a family wknd in this hotel, and the hotel and staff were top class. Beautiful hotel, large family room, bar food excellent and all staff extremely friendly. No entertainment in the bar and unfortunately the bar food finished on a Sat night at 6.45pm which we found most unusual but as it was so good the evening before, we ate early in order to enjoy it. The children loved the food too, which was everything, as most places only offer nuggets and chips. Top class food and service. Lovely pool also. It was most unfortunate, and not through any fault of the hotel that at 2.30am on the Sat night, a crowd of drunken louts arrived on our floor and woke the whole floor thrashing furniture around etc. The staff apologised profusely and had the matter dealt with by the Gardai but unfortunately, this did take from our nights sleep as a family on a chill out trip away.
Having said that, I would return to this hotel as this was a on-off occurance and the hotel is worthy of going again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazd039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
708 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
182 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £56 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing