We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I recently stayed here with my husband as part of a lidl break and found it very good value. Our room was very spacious and clean. We also had a meal as part of our package which we ate in the restaurant one word Fabulous :-) from the starter to dessert we could find no fault and service was excellent.
The only problem with the trip was that as there was a wedding on there was a lot of noise during the night which kept waking me. It was more that we were on the first floor near the elevator.
Overall i would recommend this hotel just don't stay in room near elevator when weddings are on the :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Drove in off the street and enquired about a room it was €89 for room only. We took this and the receptionist said there was a wedding on the the only rooms left were to the back of the hotel and there might be some noise so she included breakfast in the price. The staff were lovely, kind and friendly. Our room was clean and spacious, there was a few little things, like only one tea cup, a stain on the carpet and no extractor fan working in the bathroom. These were easly overlooked because of the rest of what the hotel offers. The tv didnt work and the internet lead was missing but a quick phonecall to reception and these were recified immediately. We ate in the bar and the food was excellent, the waitress gave us her honest opinion and recommendations when asked. That night there was only a very low hum of the wedding noise and it didnt disturb our sleep at all. The breakfast was hearty and self service with a good selection of food. All in all I would defintitly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkRedser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

went to this hotel to meet friends and just stay 1 night from my short time at this hotel it was charming,clean plenty of buzz about and the staff were very pleasent. we booked a table for dinner and the meal was superb.the cost was bed & Breakfast was 90 euro for both of us. i would have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here on an overnight on our way to Limerick. On arrival at the hotel we were very warmly welcomed by Yvonne the reception manager, who was extremely friendly and helpful with all our minor queries. Check-in was quick and efficient, which is exactly what you want after a long day travelling.

The bedrooms in the Killeshin were fabulous. They are quite the largest I have stayed in in some time, very spacious, spotlessly clean and with modern, well appointed decor and fittings, as were the bathrooms. There was also a well stocked hospitality tray and TV with a wide range of channels to choose from, both of which are important when you travel with children!

Breakfast in the Cedar restaurant was self-serve and excellent. There were a wide variety of juices, cereals and fruit as well as a full selection of hot foods to choose from. Tea, coffee and toast were brought promptly to our table and because it was Easter Sunday, our children also received chocolate Easter Eggs, which was a lovely touch.

We ate in the Cedar restaurant the night before as well, and although the menu was maybe a little restricted, (one chicken dish, one fish dish, one vegetarian dish and three steak dishes) what it lacked in variety it, more than made up for in quality.

The health club has a good sized pool, a jacuzzi, a steam room and a sauna. Towels were provided and swimcaps are required but can be bought for 2 euro 50 cent. The staff were very helpful and friendly, we arrived just before 6pm but were assured the pool stayed open until 7pm and the changing rooms were open until 7:30pm to allow for showering etc. I appreciate it was the end of the day, however, the changing rooms were not clean; the floor was dirty from people's shoes and hair and needed a good mop, and there were used towels literally littering the place. Unfortunately I also had to try three showers before I found one with soap, so all in all not a great experience. Add to this the fact that at 6:40pm we were asked to vacate the pool, and you might understand why I gave this otherwise excellent hotel a 4 rating as opposed to a 5.

But lets not finish on a (slightly) low note. The hotel is excellent, the facilities are top class and the food was wonderful. From the moment we checked in at reception until the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome; good old Irish hospitality, at it's best. Would I go back? Certainly. Would I recommend this hotel to others? I already have!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItchyFeetSyndrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just back from a lidl break at the Killeshin hotel. Just 1 hour from Dublin 18 of us headed for a family night away. Wasn't expecting too much as it only cost 49 a head for BB& dinner but we were all really impressed.

Very modern and spacious hotel with a lovely bar. Pool, steam room jacquizzi and sauna. Had dinner and breakfast and although the lidl menu is limited as they always are the quality was excellent. I cannot say enough about the staff, the friendliest i have ever come across. Normally groups aren't treated the best but they were so nice to us the whole time even though we were pretty noisy!

There are some nice touches with this hotel too, really nice pillows, free newspaper at check out, free cordial at the bar after breakfast(great for hangovers) and they also presented me with a box of chocolates as it was my birthday. I've done a few lidl breaks now and this was the best so far. So close to Dublin but still feels like you're heading away. Great for a family break too with the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here for one weekend in February.

Rooms are spacious, specially family room is enormous. Reception staff very pleasant and check in and out could not be any faster.
We really enjoyed the dinner and bar afterward, again staff in bar and restaurant very nice.

But most of all we have enjoyed pool, jacuzzi, sauna steam room and gym.

So if you are looking for relax and not far away from Dublin this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panch017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our 5th stay in the Killeshin in Portlaoise, 4 on Lidl Breaks and once directly with the hotel, my husband and I were looking for a hotel that was not a huge trip from Dublin as we were only staying 1 night. We discovered the Killeshin... Roughly a 50 min drive from Blanchardstown. We have not been disappointed on any of our stays...
The Staff on reception are very welcoming, it is like it used to be pre the tiger.... Rooms are spacious and modern. We were on the Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal... Our dinner was lovely beautifully cooked. Service in the restaurant was attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast was self service there was a good selection of food and no trouble to make our scrambled eggs or with extra pots of tea and coffee... If you arrive early as we did on the Saturday and have not had lunch the Bar serves a lovely menu - Goats cheese bruchetta is beautiful...
Leisure facilities are perfect pool, gym, Jacuzzi steam room and sauna everything you need.
Over all I would rate the Killeshin with 5 Stars and yes we will be back again. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyireland32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
723 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
188 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
195 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: £58 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing